BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rhymes with Witches

Average Rating 3
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    I absoulutlely loved it!

    This book was filled with everyday highschool drama. When janie starts to hang out with the 'bitches', she starts living a new life as a popular. Her friend alicia and phil start noticing the difference. I love the way this book ends. its filled with a little romance, but also how important friendship is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    wierd, very wierd

    it was pretty good sorta, in the beginning when jane got excepted into the clique and it was even interesting when she was told what she had to do every week along with the other girls but than it got really creepy and scary and the ending suucked alot! it was dissapointing. The author should have elaborated more on the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I first picked up the book, I almost put it back, but something made me want to read it. It was nothing I expected, which was okay at first, even though it was a little bit creepy. But then with the whole stealing thing and the 'for one to rise, another must fall' was just disturbing. I mean I know the author was just trying to use a metaphor that popular people aren't what they seem but I didn't realize when reading the summary on the back that there would really be all that stupid witchcraft in it, I thought it would be just a girl who becomes popular then realizes how nasty some of the people are. I didn't really think that the title related to the book, only to show that sometimes girls can be really mean. I have to admit though that the beginning really had me going but then it got kind of annoying at the point of the 'Friendies' blog. I have to say that it was just terrible after that. Jane deserved what she got, sure, but seriously, no one likes the main character to be a loser in the end. I usually read a book over again if I like it and have nothing else to read. I don't think I've ever disliked a book so much as to not read the whole thing again. This one I didn't reread all of and I would never reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Well it started really good but then it just got mean and nasty. I thought this book was going to be good because my friend's face was glued to it so I read and it sucked!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    the end sucked

    Every thing was really good i was really in to the book but then write at the end it suck and it sucked bad i would never recomed this book to any one unless the were only to read the begining and middle but the end suck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Disappointing!

    Very good towards the end, but AWFUL ENDING. I would recommend it but be prepared for the terible ending. Also a awful book if you dislike cats!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    CREEPY AND DISSAPOINTING!!!!!

    The beginning and middle of this book were really good because it twisted the outlook on cliques, but when it got to the end the book just STUNK!!! It was really dissapionting because the author gets you all hooked and then just ends the story right after the climax! There was no resolution to this book, so you just felt like o-k-a-a-a-y-y-y, where's the ending. It felt like someone ripped the ending out of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    Kind Of Confusing

    How the book started out was very odd. I thought it started out pretty funny. I also caught myself saying, 'what the?!' and 'huh?' throughout most of the book. It also creeped me out a little. As much as I enjoy making myself feel on the edge and feel the excitement and thrill of being frightened, feeling the chill run up my spine...ah, you get it. I found myself reading this and having to go downstairs, lock the doors and be afraid to be in a room by myself for the next 20 minutes. But that might be because I'm a scaredy cat. The book was also very long. I like long books, don't get me wrong, but this was extremely long, especially for a book that's not that good! And like I said before, it's confusing! I've had to read a line over and over to catch onto it. Maybe I'm stupid and overreacting. But it's not that good in my opinion. Kind of regret buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    this book... was bad...

    I thought the ending sucked. i mean what the heck. camilla becomes popular and Jane ends up being a 'toad'?!? i mean how is that a way to end a book? No one ends up liking her except that guy, and shes a loner. Also it was creepy. With like the cats and the shrine. The teacher freaked me out. I thought the book was disapointing. The begining was good. The middle was good. Like one reviewer had said, it was like at the end, she got tired of writing it. I thought the book would be better. I thought the book was going to be great. The author is not my favorite and her writing style is okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Simply Perfect till the end

    If you like witch craft spells and many other weird things this is awesome. A girl goes from geek to chic over night. She starts to hang out with the most popular girls in the school and then every thing changes. She starts going to parties and every body starts know who she is. The 4 most popular girls pick a girl from each grade level to be a part of their ¿click¿ and the chose Jane a freshman to be their finial one. The only big thing is each week she must steal something from a girl and take their popularity away! Then each girl has to do it and each girl has their secrets that know one know but the 4 of them. And many of them are worth knowing and are hurtful to the other girls in school. Now the weirdest part is the dead cats that start coming up near the end! Now if only the ending was better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    alittle weird, but I liked it

    I really do like this book, but it is very strange. It made sense to me. I do really like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Wierd , and a bad ending

    it was kinda creepy with the dead cats and all.and i was really dissapointed with the ending because it just kinda ended and it wasent worht reading for a couple days to just end it like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    TERRIBLE ENDING!!!

    first of all the beginning and middle was interesting but the ending UGHH I HATE IT DON'T READ THIS BOOK UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE SCARED FOR LIFE!!! i'm not even overeacting or anything I HATE THIS BOOK!! at the end it was just getting good then i flipped the page and i was like OMG it ended? and i was SOOOO MAD cause they twisted it and they NEVER FIXED IT!! TOTAL DISSAPOINTMENT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    It was okay.

    This book was good at the beginning and all. it go me hooked and i couldnt put it down. But when it started getting towards the end it just kind of sucked. It seemed like everything else was really planned out and great but the ending seemed as if they just got tired of writing the book and just made something up and stopped. The end needed more than just stopping. Other than the ending it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    just sorta ended

    I really liked this book in the beginning but the further you got along it just seemed like the author was getting bored and decided just to end it. I like the general idea of the book, but I wouldn't read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    WEIRD

    This book was such a waste a time and is nothing like the back of the book says its going to be like! Its one of the worst books I have read, don't waste your money! Plus its really strange at the end, and if you like happy endings this isn't the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Not So Fabulous.

    This book was really good to start off with, it had a definite hook, and the action rose as the book went on. However, the end was a complete letdown- it left me hanging, and i felt just like the author didn't care how it was ended. Way to many loose ends not finished- especially if there was no sequel. Overall, the book was good to start, bad to end. I don't reccomend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read!! I read this book in a day and couldn't put it down. Ryhmes With Witches is about an average high school girl, Jane, who gets chosen to be part of the popular group in school. Once she gets chosen, she realizes that there is more to being popular than she thought there was. She realizes that in order to be considered a part of the group, she has to betray friends and herself. In realizing this, she wants to get out, but can't. The group made her promise that she would always be part of them. Jane struggles to find a way out of the group and along the way, help out some people that have been effected by the popular's 'games'. This book really shows how the popular groups really are-backstabbing and totally fake. It also makes you think about how stereotypical people really are. If you're not in the 'popular' crowd, you're not considered 'cool'. I would recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed other Lauren Myracle novels or are just looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    this book was

    not very good. it was sorta confusing to. its mostly about what its like to be popular but kind of leaves things out when it cums 2 the parts about lural the pearl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    disappointment!!!!

    like this was really bad....i mean it was good in the beginning but as they start to like uncover things the author didn't really get what she was saying... it's a bad book with an even worse ending!!!!!~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4