Customer Reviews for

Rhythms of Grace

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

AAMBC Book Reviews

RHYTHMS of GRACE By Marilynn Griffith

*****

I Give this novel two thumbs up, only because two is all I have. This book is like poetry, every line is Stimulating to your mind and soul. Miss Griffith takes the simplest of conversations and turns them int...
RHYTHMS of GRACE By Marilynn Griffith

*****

I Give this novel two thumbs up, only because two is all I have. This book is like poetry, every line is Stimulating to your mind and soul. Miss Griffith takes the simplest of conversations and turns them into works of art. This Story takes you from the early 80s where five teens, Diana, Zeely, Brian, Ron and Jerry, were working up a strange friendship to their lives as adults and how they reconnect on many different levels. With this story in hand, you will suffer through every heartache and Rejoice in every tender moment, as if you witnessed it first hand. Marilynn Griffith is a master at her craft and it shows.

Shy Richardz AAMBC Reviewer

posted by aambcreviews on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bad

NOT GOOD FOR CHILDREN!!!!!! NO STARS IT WOULD NOT LET ME POST WITH OUT IT

posted by Anonymous on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    AAMBC Book Reviews

    RHYTHMS of GRACE By Marilynn Griffith<BR/><BR/>*****<BR/><BR/>I Give this novel two thumbs up, only because two is all I have. This book is like poetry, every line is Stimulating to your mind and soul. Miss Griffith takes the simplest of conversations and turns them into works of art. This Story takes you from the early 80s where five teens, Diana, Zeely, Brian, Ron and Jerry, were working up a strange friendship to their lives as adults and how they reconnect on many different levels. With this story in hand, you will suffer through every heartache and Rejoice in every tender moment, as if you witnessed it first hand. Marilynn Griffith is a master at her craft and it shows.<BR/><BR/>Shy Richardz AAMBC Reviewer

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    This story really touched my heart, even as the characters sometimes frustrated me!

    This is the first book I've read by Marilynn Griffith, and it surely won't be the last! I revelled in her descriptions of beautiful black women 'and men' - the scents, the 'flava' of African American culture based within the truth of the often rough times of growing up in the ghetto. It demonstrated the power of faith in God and the importance of mentorship to transform lives 'most of the main characters - Diana/Grace, Brian, & Ron went throught the ringer in their youth' but in the end, they all triumphed in becoming successful adults wanting to impart to others what they received. A great message. The theme of young love revisited 20 years later is very touching and encouraging to us sisters that maybe weren't as fortuanate the first time around, but here is my frustration - simple, direct honesty would've solved a lot of drama 'but I guess the book wouldn't have been exciting if they did!' Malcolm was the biggest surprize at the end 'I won't spoil it!' One disappointment was that Brian's quest for discovering his parentage was never satisfied. Clues were dropped... and forgotten. Seeds for a sequel? I sure hope so. And Puh-LEEZ - where is Testimony? I see too many interracial couples all OVER the place to think that was a reason to prevent Zeely from allowing Ron to claim her after so many years. You'd think 20 years would be enough time to grow up enough to say who you want - and don't want! One last thing - what's up with the all the mothers as manipulative, controling women? YIKES! What was up with the fathers who seemed to just fade away? Talk about stereotypes! So overall it was a VERY good read and I hope she does write a sequel to pick up those loose ends...and follow up on Zeely and Ron, and Grace & Brian! Well done!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    So Glad I Stumbled Upon It

    This book was an excellent choice and left me wanting more. Written in the spirit of some of my favorite authors (J.D. Mason, Pearl Cleage, etc.) this book was both thought-provoking and exciting. I can't wait to read more by the author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Worth your time

    I really enjoyed this book and recommend it. It is an easy read but pulls at your heart. Be prepared for the emotional rollercoaster ride this read will be. But, don't be afraid. There is healing here. The book deals with the realities of life. It's the good, bad, and ugly (not necessarily in that order). Start here but be sure to continue and read the follow-up Songs of Deliverance. These are really great books. Remember hope...."we rejoice in our suffering which produces endurance, character and hope," It's the balm! ;-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Loved

    I would enjoy reading more books by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Bad

    NOT GOOD FOR CHILDREN!!!!!!
    NO STARS IT WOULD NOT LET ME POST WITH OUT IT

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Very Good

    This book is really good. I would definitley recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    wonderful

    loved this book. had to read the sequel. you won't be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Truly enjoyed

    Truly enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Wow, wow, wow

    I cannot say enough good things about this book. It is Christian fiction at its very best. I have read a lot of Christian fiction, so I was sceptical of all the positive reviews. This book was way better than I thought it would it be. Poetic, lyrical, gut wrenching, soul saving, praise worthy and so much more.

    I hope this author has more books available, I am hooked!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Good read

    This book follows the lives of a group of individuals (as told by each) who interacted with each other throughout their childhood and in to adulthood. The style in the beginning is very poetic and seems to drag, but it picks up momentum as you become accustomed to the author's style. It leaves you hanging for a reason--there's another book in the series: "Songs of Deliverance."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Mind Opening

    Started slow for me but well worth the wait

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Book Was Average

    The book was average. Decent read but it was a book I could put down and get back to whenever. I usually finish books in 3 to 5 days. It took me 3 to 4 weeks. Nice storyline but felt like I was left hanging at the end. Noticed at the end of the book that it listed a sequel but was unable to locate said book on the author's website.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Marcus

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    did not like this

    too many points of view. leaves you hanging

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    It was a quick and easy read. I would most definitely recommend

    It was a quick and easy read. I would most definitely recommend this woderful novel (e~book) to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Tough Read

    This book seems interesting, definitely dealing with a different demographic than I usually read about, which is very good for me. Unfortunately, a potentially good read is sabotaged by the author. Ms. Griffith tries to used 4 different voices to tell her story, having each of 4 major charaters tell his or her story in the first person. Each chapter is the narrative of a different character. The problem is that the transitions between chapters are very weak. The jumps are not only made between characters, but also in time, and the reader is not often giving enough information to keep up with the story line. A lot of depth, but a very confusing read.

    It's too, bad. This could be an excellent book, if the plot points were just more clear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    GREAT!

    This was a great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great read

    Could not put down once started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Definitely Recommend this book!

    I wasn't sure what to expect at the beginning of the book, but I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Marilynn did a great job of building up the characters, who were very diverse and interesting. She makes you want to keep reading to unfold the stories behind each character's life. The story of Grace is one that so often happens in Black communities and are "swept under the rug." I was happy to read that Marilynn found a way to bring light into darkness as she tells of the difficulties and challenges a community faces from the devastating blows of racism, physical abuse, rape, violence, gangs, adoption, and lost dreams. Marilynn brings light to these otherwise difficult situations by building each character's hope on the love of Christ, the foundation of family and friendship, the strength of communities, and the determination of one woman bent on making a difference in the lives of children she touches. I think it was such a great read that I immediately read the sequel, "Songs of Deliverance." Another recommended read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3