BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rich Dad Poor Dad: What The Rich Teach Their Kids About Money - That The Poor And Middle Class Do Not!

Average Rating 4
( 498 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(278)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Monetary success is within your reach

Rich Dad, Poor Dad explains the differences and distinctions between how the rich class, and the poor and middle classes manage their money. The author differentiate throughout the entire book explaining how his best friends dad, the "Rich Dad" was so successful. One of...
Rich Dad, Poor Dad explains the differences and distinctions between how the rich class, and the poor and middle classes manage their money. The author differentiate throughout the entire book explaining how his best friends dad, the "Rich Dad" was so successful. One of the main significances that were emphasized was "working hard" was different from "working and spending smart". For example, you can be the hardest worker in the building, but, if you are not smart on managing your money, you can have nothing to show for it. The Poor Dad is considered to be more government based, relying on other people to make monetary decisions, especially when it concerns taxes. The Rich Dad in more corporation based, being more proactive and finding ways to keep more of the money earned. This book explained economics in a way that was realistic and encouraging. The fact the author explained it in a way that anyone can follow his methods and be successful. It was able to keep my interest from the beginning to the end. It gave real world examples of how to manage my money and make smart investments to build my asset column. Before reading this book I had no knowledge or interest in starting to build an assets column at my age. This book gave me an understanding on what exactly determined an asset and how to start building a portfolio that could benefit me now and in the future. It is never too early to start. The most helpful thing that I gained from this book was to look at things as; a want versus a need. I realize that I have more wants than needs. Reading this book as a teenager has pointed me in the right direction of knowing what determines an asset and what determines a liability.

posted by 1143302 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

It depends on who you are...

Robert Kiyosaki has lived with two dads. The poor dad, who was his biological father, went to the ivy league schools and received a doctorate degree, however, always ended up financially poor. The rich dad, was his friend's father, who only received education up to 8th ...
Robert Kiyosaki has lived with two dads. The poor dad, who was his biological father, went to the ivy league schools and received a doctorate degree, however, always ended up financially poor. The rich dad, was his friend's father, who only received education up to 8th grade, understood how to invest in money. He explains that it's all in the mental process. For instance, if job wages are low the common thought is--"I can't afford it" or "how can I afford it?" The poor dad would say he can't afford it, automatically shutting down his brain and accepting the state that he's in to save money. On the other hand, the rich dad tries to figure out a way to make more money and not dwell on the fact that the wages are small. This theme of differences in principals and financial methods is what continues on throughout the book. The common problem is that people in school are not taught about money. The average dad, also the poor dad, tells their children to work hard in school and get a steady job in a good company. In other words, he believes in the traditional ideas of working hard, preserving money, and not wasting it on material things, especially things he can't afford. The situation is that the poor dad was always more focused on education, rather than money, and commonly thinks "money doesn't matter". The poor dad also dwells on company insurance, security, and salary raises, instead of actually focusing on the job itself. This is what the rich dad calls the "Rat Race" in which one can never leave this cycle of being poor with this mindset. The rich dad did not spend time for education, but instead invested it on investing. The rich dad is seen as someone who learned to take risks, instead of not taking them, and by doing so, was able to have money work for him, instead of him work for money. I was shocked as to how much I was able to see these common thoughts portray in my life, and that my father fits perfectly under the category of a poor dad-- a common teacher, who loves to learn more but doesn't really like to focus on money, and constantly exclaims around the house, "we can't afford that". He also always focuses on insurance of our house, or our social security, or saving money. However, I may not live the glamorous life of having a rich father, I appreciate the rich life I live with his knowledge and determination to work hard, even if it still means to financially struggle with money. I am skeptical about not having an education, in the means to be able to become a rich dad, because I feel that without a root of knowledge then money takes over a family and have no real value. However, constantly dwelling on low wages, or in other words, to not be a pessimist, can always be a goal that families try to achieve. In the end, I found this to be book to be informative and maybe even life changing, but at the same time very unethical.

posted by Poordadrichlife on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 278 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Rich Dad, Poor Dad explains that hard work is different from smart work

    Purchased my third copy as a gift for a friend who didn't think about getting his money working for him when he purchased his condo and is now under water with the loan. He couldn't understand how a hard working ethical person could get in so much debt. He is pretty discouraged!

    When I first read RD-PD I had many ahha moments that explained how to think about money. I already had the basics of attention to interest rates, paying off debt in an order and saving. I still felt frustrated. The book guided me in a complete turnaround to co-owning and assets. I changed my employment, increased my deferred comp and increased my base pay to increase retirement.

    I was raised in a cash household by depression era kids who recycled and bought used. I had frugal down -but not asset awareness. My folks were land oriented. Property value increases saved them from low income. Still I didn't know how to get on top until I started studying money. RD-PD is the best as a mental gear shifter.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Good read, misunderstood by many.

    The purpose of this book (besides to make the author money) is not to give the reader a cookie-cutter MLM plan to make money; rather it sets out to change the mindset of the reader, to help open his/her eyes to opportunities. If you are looking for stock tips or ways to refi your house, pick another book. If you are frustrated with working for somebody else but need a motivational spark, then this is your book. Parts of it do read like a commercial for his other products, but what author doesn't do this? One lesson I took from the book that I won't forget is changing my attitude from "I can't afford this" to "what can I do to afford this?".

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    A GOOD READ!!!

    "If you work for money, you give the power to your employer. If your money works for you, you keep and control the power." This quote sums up practically everything that Kiyosaki has to say about being financially literate. Many of us are slaves to our paychecks when in fact we can easily find ways for our money to work for us (stocks, property, etc) College is not necessary in a financially literate man's life. I found this book to be very informative in the sense that it got me thinking about my own financial future. Kiyosaki gave me hope for a financially prosperous future through each of his six lessons. This book can be helpful to anyone even if they end up finding Kiyosaki to be a quack. This book has the potential to make people think about their own financial situation and whether or not they are satisfied with it. It is the very fact that this book can help answer one question, what they are doing wrong, financially, if anything. I really enjoyed the fact that Kiyosaki conveyed his information through a story rather than through an essay. I was able to relate to Rich Dad, Poor Dad more through Kiyosaki's characters. Seeing that Kiyosaki's characters were kids, they asked a lot of questions. Kiyosaki cleverly 'answered' many of the readers' possible questions through the answers that the characters got. Overall, I felt the book had a lot of helpful information about becoming financially literate. I always saw before reading this book that the only successful people out in this world are the rich, but Kiyosaki has taught me that someone can make any amount of money and be 'well off' as long as they know how to work their money. This got me thinking of why we are not taught how to balance a checkbook or learn what 'assets' and 'liabilities' are even though the majority of our lives are going to be spent earning, saving, and spending money. The information in the book is important to everyone. There is not specific age group that should only read this book. If you are able to count money then you are able to comprehend Kiyosaki's teachings.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    One of the best financial books of the 20th. century

    A truly remarkable and life changing book that helps me pave my road to financial independence each and every day.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Ggjk

    I highly recomend this book to anyone who has financial problems. It explains a whole lot about investing, making a lot of money, and getting out of the rat race. Anyone at any age should read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    greattttt book

    The book Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert T. Kiyosaki is a wonderful novel and guide to the little tips and tricks it takes to become financially literate.
    This book shoes one how to look at life's bigger picture and explains about how to work to learn and then to earn; and how to find loop holes in the financial game called life. It talks about the author's life experiences and his advice. One might say the theme of this novel is the power of education but not school, the whole novel is centered on the idea of out of class room education. Page by page the author provides all his knowledge about money. I found this quite amazing how he could go from nothing to everything just form his power and understanding of money. The only part of the book one might disagree with is how you really he talks about being rich in just money, because you could also be rich in family and friends etc. Anyone interested in money and seeking a better understanding of hoe to become financially literate should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    I think everyone has to read this book. It really explains how t

    I think everyone has to read this book. It really explains how the mental thought process of making your money work hard for you instead of working hard for your money. Highly engaging and educational at the same time. I'm a finance geek so this book is a wonderful addition to my financial collection. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Great

    This book helped me on starting a business

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    Great Book!! This book gives you a completely different way of l

    Great Book!!
    This book gives you a completely different way of looking at your finances.  So many of us money as in how much debt we can afford.  What a different perspective and eye opening view this book gives.  I received it as a gift and will likely buy another copy to pass along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Great book!

    I actually have the paperback version of this book. Makes a lot of sense sand I've already started applying the principals herein. Love it!

    Jag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Rich Dad Poor Dad For years my dad has talked about the princip

    Rich Dad Poor Dad

    For years my dad has talked about the principles discussed in Robert Kiyosaki’s book, Rich Dad Poor Dad.  I’ve always been intrigued by financial conversations and have often thought about how to increase my financial competence.  Once I started reading Kiyosaki’s book, I could not stop.   It was engaging and I found myself having aha moments ever few pages.

    In Rich Dad Poor Dad, Kiyosaki teaches about the concept of not working for money, but having your money work for you.  He compares the money principles taught to him by his two dads, his rich dad and his poor dad.  This helps to illustrate the importance of thought patterns when it comes to finances.  

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in finances, or just wants to become more competent and work towards ridding their minds of financial ignorance.  My eyes have been opened while reading Rich Dad Poor Dad.  Since I started Kiyosaki’s book, my mind has been coming up with and processing ideas and ways to put myself in a successful financial position, where my money will work for me.
     
    This book is and easy to understand, easy to read book—and well worth your time.  I would recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Educational

    This is a great book and very helpful on how to start getting out of debt and stay out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Makes perfect sense!  This seems like great advice.  I recommend

    Makes perfect sense!  This seems like great advice.  I recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    This book will have a lot of critics because it introduces a lit

    This book will have a lot of critics because it introduces a little known and hardly used train of thought. When it comes to financial books there are the inspirational, strategic and tactical books. This one is inspirational and strategic. Not the tactical that tells you the step-by-step. If you are looking for the step-by-step on how to become rich you are not thinking yet. Its about wealth which gives you the time to get rich. Once you understand this book you will be able to put the step-by-step plan together by yourself. If you find this book to be anything other than a five stars you should read it again and again until you really understand it. - M. Cyrid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Kiyosaki's style is very easy to read. It's not the most well wr

    Kiyosaki's style is very easy to read. It's not the most well written book in the world (as he mentions a few times), and it uses a lot of repetition to get the point across, but the simplistic style means it's accessible to most people.

    The core of the book deals with the principles: what thought processes are important (working for money vs. money working for you; the importance of decision making; the acquisition of assets, and the difference between assets and liabilities; etc.), what skills should be developed (accounting, marketing, risk management, etc.), and what are the pitfalls people tend to encounter along the way. If you've worked a job upon which your livelihood depended on for more than a few years, and if you have recurring bills like cars, a home, or credit cards, you'll recognize a lot of these pitfalls and will appreciate the solutions being presented, whether you're new to this general topic or a seasoned veteran looking to get back on track.

    All in all, if you haven't read this book before, you should, especially if you haven't read a lot about that topic before, and even more so if you're in your late 20s and early 30s, since by now you're likely to have some life experience. It's an easy read, and straight to the point. The lessons are basic, and while they might feel too simplistic (especially when repeated over and over), they're based on sound principles. If you take what you read seriously, it should help you set and plan your financial goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is must read for any who wants to make money. The only it could be more help full is if it gave you the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Of the self help books on finance I've read so far, this one wil

    Of the self help books on finance I've read so far, this one will be in my permanent finance library. I like that the book doesn't get as repetitive as some others. I was pretty surprised by this book. I thought it would rehash some stuff I've read before, maybe mention a couple of new things here and there for me to mentally file away, but instead I would say this book is quite radical. I see it more philosophical and attempt to open our minds up to a different perspective on money. I think he's dead on on the way our cultural and social upbringing can influence the way we see money, handle, and use it. The author paints a bigger picture and even though it doesn't go through detailed steps on how to obtain/earn money, I think to understand and refocus your concept of money is most important before drawing out the milestones. He gives you the big picture, challenges what you believe with a different perspective, and motivates you to want to change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Great Read

    Fantastic book that I have enjoyed reading with my children. Don't just keep it to yourself, share with all those around you. Great lessons in finance that aren't taught in today's public school systems. Minimizing taxes forces our government to minimize their spending habits...hence the lack of teaching in government run schools.

    Robert, keep up the great work in inspiring others to do better in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    One of the best business books I've read!!

    Rich Dad Poor Dad is an inspirational book. In this book Robert Kiyosaki explains his life lessons on money. He explains how to keep your income high and your liabilities low. He claims that assets are not something of value but instead something that generates cash flow. Although his book has inspired many people it has a vast amount criticisms. What about me, what do I think and how do I feel about it.
    I read the book and was greatly amazed about how much I didn’t know about money. Being a sophomore in high school and reading a business book really left me opened minded. It gave me great knowledge over assets, liabilities, and the history of taxes. But as many anxious people think you just don’t read the book and start up a business hoping to be successful gaining money in seconds. This book just guides you letting you in to some great tips on how to manage your money.
    Rich Dad Poor Dad is an understandable well-written book. Robert Kiyosaki makes himself clear and has a great way of keeping you interested in reading with his short parables between chapters. The way he writes makes the idea of reading a business book more relatable and fun to read. He delivers advice with great explanation. He goes step by step giving you not only advice but the history or background information on the matter as well.
    The book personally inspired me as I read it. I loved the fact that he explains that rich people make money work for them, as to the middle and low class work for their money. He makes very good points when he says that many students never learn the power over money in school. Schools usually teach students to get a good job not to own the company of the job. The book changes your mentality on money and how you should really think about it. The beginning of the book is where the magic is at and I absolutely love it.
    It all comes down to yes I would recommend the book. Now I wouldn’t recommend it to just anyone. This book is meant for those who are into business or teenagers who are interested in learning about money. Readers who are into action or fiction or dramatic plots this definitely won’t interest you unless you enjoy the subject of financial management. Out of five stars I would rate it around a four point five. This book is one of the few well-written business books I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Recommend to everyone

    This was an amazing book for me. it got me so excited about my life, my money, my career, and my family. This book give many great ideas on how to get out of the "rat race" and into financial freedom. This book is all about taking action; therefore, action must be present not just thinking about taking action.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 278 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14