Customer Reviews for

Rich Dad's Guide to Investing: What the Rich Invest in, That the Poor and the Middle Class Do Not!

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Thought Process of Becoming Rich

Kiyosaki is reviled by some for his Rich Dad series. Critics point out that he offers no specific plans for someone to become rich (ie. invest in this stock, or buy that property). Kiyosaki correctly notes that it would be impractical to give that sort of advice, and ...
Kiyosaki is reviled by some for his Rich Dad series. Critics point out that he offers no specific plans for someone to become rich (ie. invest in this stock, or buy that property). Kiyosaki correctly notes that it would be impractical to give that sort of advice, and instead focuses on the mindset of the rich, and the skills that should be learned to get there. This volume, the third of the Rich Dad series, is by far the most detailed, and while it does build on the principles learned in the first two volumes (Rich Dad Poor Dad and Cashflow Quadrant) someone new to the series could read this without being completely lost. As usual, Kiyosaki is easy to read and he explains everything in great detail, although he sometimes repeats himself too much. Although I enjoyed this book and learned a lot, I will need a break before I read any more Rich Dad books. As a side note, Kiyosaki includes a suggested reading list in each volume that is very helpful, and he offers free online pre-recorded seminars for those who are interested (the website is in the book, and no I don't work for Kiyosaki).

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This is a great book for people who want to change mindsets from being poor to being rich. Robert always tells it how it is and also tells you how the future of money will be. Its a book that you read and look at how are are...the rich think so different from the poor a...
This is a great book for people who want to change mindsets from being poor to being rich. Robert always tells it how it is and also tells you how the future of money will be. Its a book that you read and look at how are are...the rich think so different from the poor and middle class

posted by joeearlharris on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you plan on become a successful Business owner or Investor, this is the book to read

    This book tells you in great simple details almost everything important that you need to know about starting a business. There is no one better than Robert Kiyosaki when it comes to simplifying his explanations. This is a must for all Business Owners, Investors, and students alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Excellent book for someone who knows nothing about investment

    Good read to understand some basic concepts of investment and get excellent inspiration to think differently than you are traditionally taught to or believed in. This is the 3rd book of Rich Dad series that I am reading and I know that I will never look at the world the same again. This book is better understood if one has read Rich Dad Poor Dad and Cash Flow Quadrant. I will recommend it anytime to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    About time

    If people take the lessons to heart of this book to become more aggressive in their investment strategies then they will have the opportunity to join the wealthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    This book is one of the very few that has had influence on my li

    This book is one of the very few that has had influence on my life. I partially credit some of my own personal success to this book. - M. Cyrid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2001

    Excellent

    This book shows you the different types of investors, and tells you why the rich are allowed to invest in the more riskier investments then the poor and middle class. The information in this book is very valuable for people who do not know much about investing, this book is greatly recommended for first time investors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    Create Your Investment Plan to Overcome Stalled Thinking

    As in Rich Dad, Poor Dad, this book has the delightful story line of advice from the father of a friend who became a very wealthy man before his death -- leaving his family well set financially for 100 years! I think it's that base in reality that makes these books so interesting. One of the best ways to learn is to have a successful mentor who will guide us through the key challenges of getting started. This book is designed to duplicate the experiences that the author had his his rich Dad. For example, the key questions that rich Dad asked him are at the end of each section for you to answer for yourself. I found my answers to be revealing, even though I have been through a lot of similar sets of questions. Well done! The story line picks up after the author is coming out of the Marines in his twenties to find his boyhood friend already wealthy from his own efforts. The financial advice parts of the book are tied into helping you pick up a meaningful financial plan. You begin by deciding what you want money to do for you. That's an excellent thing to do. Some want security. Some want more income. Others want substantial wealth that keeps growing. You should decide. Some books make the mistake of pushing you to choose a goal that really isn't what you want. Rather than push you in a particular direction, the book emphasizes key principles (compound cash tax-free, create assets with your mind as well as with your money). The author notes that each of us has preferences that will take us in different directions for implementing whatever our goals are. I liked that approach a lot. You will recognize a lot of the diagrams from Rich Dad, Poor Dad. But it is good advice, so it doesn't hurt to have the repetition. This part is fairly compact, so you can skim through it if you feel confident about the material. This bo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    Now I know who the real investors are!

    This books explains clearly investing from all different sides. It didn't delve into one particular vehicle nor did it waste it's time on evaluating stock picking methods. This book really shows who true investors are and who there not. (traders, real estate agents, etc.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2000

    Pick up this book and study it!!!

    This is THE book. The Nuts & Bolts of Investing. It provides you with a Blueprint that will help you achieve lasting wealth. If you are truly serious about building true wealth for yourself, and your children and their children, then buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1