Customer Reviews for

Richard Scarry's Best Word Book Ever

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Richard Scarry's Best Word Book Ever

    This is the best book. I had my granddaughter's attention for almost an hour going page by page and naming all the activities, people and animals ..... and she is 2 1/2!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Best kids' book ever - I give to every child I know

    This book is wonderful for ages only a few months all the way up to about 7 or 8. And as my kids got older I would find them in bed rereading their tattered copy of this for years - even over the age of 10. If you can only afford one book, get this. Each page is packed full of tiny little details that little ones will love to find and point out, and each page is an everyday situation - a grocery store, a dinner table, a construction site, getting up in the morning and getting dressed, etc. The drawings are clear and very cute, with tiny little bunnies, worms, bugs, and bears and other animals, all dressed and ready for their day. This has fantastic appeal for boys and girls. I am a huge fan of Scarry's work and this is the best book. The book is big and easy to hold on a lap. Each page will engage a child for a pretty long time. I adore this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    RICHARD SCARRY

    I bought this book for my grandson, when my son, (his dad) was a baby/toddler he used to sit on grandma's lap and they read this book together. So I wanted my grandson to have something that was a huge part of his dad's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I'd buy this over and over...

    I bought this book 30 years ago when my son was small; now I bought it for my grandson! I found it very useful to teach recognition of colors, numbers, shapes, and objects. We'd look at it for hours at a time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    This book is awesome

    This is our second copy of this book The first copy was a hand-me-down that was falling apart. Our 2 year old loved the book so much we decided to buy her a new copy. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    I purchased this for my children about 30 years ago. They loved

    I purchased this for my children about 30 years ago. They loved it and we would read together for hours looking at the pictures and studying all of the details. We would read it for hours on end. I had searched for it recently for a friend's young son but to no avail. I am so excited about locating the book and am now purchasing it for my first grandchild. It illustrates so many preschool concepts and helps young children become aware of the world around them. I anticipate spending many hours with my grandchild and hope that he will come to love it as did his dad many years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I used this book as a public school speech-language specialist b

    I used this book as a public school speech-language specialist before I retired.  Some children just did
    not have the vocabulary skills to succeed in school.  You can play games with your children in many ways using 
    this book.  Say, "Show me a ______." or "Where is a (color) + (category)" as in "Where is a red toy?" and the 
    child can point.  Ask, "What is this?" and the child can name a picture.  Use the book to give you ideas about 
    expanding the vocabulary skills in your own environment.  Just as the title suggests, "The Best Word Book."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    Just used the book for the first time with my 2-1/2 yr old grandson. The first two pages, which cover the alphabet, proved highly interactive as I asked him to identify the various letters and pictures. Was fun watching his eyes scan the pages as he searched for the correct image or letter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Toddlers and Preschoolers love this one.

    Perfect book for learning the names of things. Fun pictures and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Really "The Best"

    Great book - first saw it when my second grandchild was born - now buying for my great-grandkids - I send this book every time I need a "new baby" gift..... children learn from the first colors or picture recognition before the age of 1, right through pre-school years and early reading skills, number counting and exploring the world of every-day life. This book covers it all and grows with the child. It's a book that can be used every day for years.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Best word book ever.

    Great book for under five years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Association

    This book is excellent for teaching children to associate one thing to another and then split them of into groups according to their similarities and differences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    The Best Memories

    My grandma read this book to me when i was little. I really felt attached to the book and i thought i could really relate to it somehow. Now after cleaning out my closet i find it at the very bottom. Its not in the best condition but it still brings out the kid in me..even though im still a kid. Ill probably give it or buy one for my children when i grow up. I spent a lot of time taping it ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Not just for English speakers

    I bought this book 20 years ago while studying in Germany. My version had everything in three languages, British English, French and German. I learned more from this book than all my german language classes and textbooks. The French was an added bonus...I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    Great book!

    I got the Lithuanian version of this book when I was 8 years old. It helped me out a lot when I was younger and it still helps me. I highly recommend the Lithuanian version of this book to anyone who is interested or currently is studying Lithuanian!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2001

    Kids Favorite

    I gave this book to my 5-year-old nieces. At the time my sister-in-law provided day care for several other children. This book was everyone's favorite. In fact, they would get into fights over it! It's the only gift my brother ever thanked me for giving his daughter! (He liked it too!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    Yay! I found it!

    I loved this book when I was a kid! I recently got it back from my sister's children, and found that pages had been torn out and the book had been poorly taken care of. I didn't think anybody would have it, but here it is, among a bazillion other Scarry titles. (: I'm going to save it for my children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2