Customer Reviews for

The Richest Man in Babylon: The Success Secrets of the Ancients

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites

    This book is very simple yet has a lot of insight to offer. It is a very quick read that I didn't want to put down. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to get ahead in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Study Finance through Fascinating Stories

    Finance books can get into a bunch of nonsense jargon very quickly. I consider myself to be a fairly well educated person, but I don't have the patience or the time to learn a bunch of unnecessary jargon when the same idea can be expressed in plain English. That's one of the great points of this book. It makes its points about finance in regular language.

    Besides its clear language, it also uses everyday examples to demonstrate the financial lesson in practice. It's much easier to remember an example than an abstract theory. It's easy to remember every time someone has taken advantage of you in the past, but it's harder to recall a disconnected theory in a textbook. Personal experience seems to be the best way to learn, but it's not a great idea to make a bunch of poor business choices just to learn from them. The next best thing is to learn from the experiences of others. This book is full of these priceless examples that the reader can experience without losing any of their own time or money. These stories do tend to stick in my head as good as personal experience.

    The advice is just as useful today as it was when it was first written. Finding safe investments was just as complicated back then as it is know. The same principals come into play when selecting and researching investment possibilities. The same skills are used to weigh whether the financial benefit is worth the time needed in any endeavor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    No matter what . . get this book !

    . . . If you haven't read this book . . then you don't have a complete financial education ! Richest Man in Babylon is every mans' (and womens) foundation for how to 'get it right' when it comes to money. Put it on your Christmas list, birthday list, etc., . . just get it to every male you know !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Fantastic

    A must Read for Everyone interested in makeing something of themselves. Inspirational!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    It's very helpful..i enjoyed it!

    This book was fantastic! Through simple and basic examples, the author really gets his point across. The book was easy to read and understand the concepts. I personally enjoyed it because he writes as if we were in a finance class learning how to save, invest, and increase wealth. Incredibly helpful for people who wish to learn how to manage their money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    The book I wish my parents would have given me when I left the nest ...

    Clear, Classic, EASY suggestions on Personal Finance. Should be starting Point A#1 for EVERYBODY regarding issues with Personal Finance. I only wish I had read this 20 years ago...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Financial & Life Principles

    This classic tome presents an inspiring plan towards personal wealth and civic responsibility. Presented as a series of Babylonian parables, the timeless truths such as the chapters "The Seven Cures for a Lean Purse" and "The Five Laws of Gold" help to prioritize one's financial views. Passed on to me by a successful and loving father, it is part of that special collection I am preparing for my sons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for anyone serious about changing, in particular, their financial situation or circumstances.

    This book is a book I recommend to anyone who can either listen to it on tape or read it in print. I have read the book twice already and will continue reading it because the principles it presents are invaluable, simplistic and relevant. These timeless priniciples, presented in story form, help to teach us much of what we could learn in high school or college. It is essential to having a healthy relationship with your finances and being a productive, contributing member of society. As my mentor Jim Rohn says, "It's easy to find, it's easy to buy, and it's easy to read. It's just a tad bit easier not to." If you are not a reader, you've got to change that. Anyone I recommend this book to who actually reads it has definitely benefited and felt it has been of value. This is one book you do not want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    my best January 2009 Read

    I have just completed reading George Glason¿s, ¿The Richest Man in Babylon¿ It is a small book and only 144 pages but has lots of wisdom. It is amazing that a book first written in 1928 s still highly relevant today. In his book, Mr. Glason pointed out that:<BR/>1.It is important to pay yourself at least 10% of your earnings.<BR/>2.You should spend no more than 70% of your earnings on household expenses. In other words, spend less than you earn. You can then spend the remaining 20% as you please.<BR/>3.He was adamant about asking for advice from incompetent people. If for instance you wanted to know more about astronomy, you do not want to ask a banker.<BR/>4.George Glason thought that procrastination is our enemy. A great book for young and old. Jared Nyaberi, Dailyconsumertips.org

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    Every Teenager & Young Adult Must Read!!

    Every 18 year old should have these concepts about money ingrained in their mind! This title is an amazing set of parables describing how great leaders of Ancient Babylon went from rags to riches... by following simple rules of money. 'Start thy purse to fattening' is the first rule we learn. Through a fascinating and believable story of Arkad, we learn that 'a part of all you earn is yours to keep'. I immediately connected with Arkad, because he and I both thought all of my earnings are mine to keep. Algamish, the money lender, said to Arkad 'Do you not pay the garment-maker? Do you not pay the sandal-maker? Do you not pay for the things you eat? Can you live in Babylon without spending? You pay to everyone but yourself... If you did keep for yourself one-tenth of all you earn, how much would you have in 10 years?' This is the first of many valuable lessons I learned from these priceless parables. I can say if I read this book 7 years ago when I was 18, My assets would be at least $50,000 more today. I am very grateful I have across this material today, for my financial future will be significantly changed for the better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    loved it

    This is a book everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Conservative Financial Advice

    In the 1920s, George Clason, who founded the Clason Map Company which was the first to publish a road atlas of the USA and Canada, wrote a series of pamphlets dispensing financial advice in parable form. The popular pamphlets, given away by banks, insurance companies, and the like, were eventually compiled into The Richest Man in Babylon. Clason sets all of his tales in the ancient city of Babylon, with characters and situations derived from those times, yet meant to show the universality of financial problems and solutions. Some of the flowery language is distracting, and there are a few unsettling racial references and sexual stereotypes, but otherwise the parable method proves effective. The financial advice is solid, albeit extremely conservative. No get rich quick schemes here! Clason's plan can be summed up thusly: Don't live outside your means, save a little bit of money from each paycheck and invest it wisely. Gee, thanks dad, your advice sure is swell! Obviously, there's nothing here that requires a higher level of financial education, or rewards it either. As a basic tome on financial planning, well, it's better than nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    this book reaches the core of your being

    I got so very much from this book. I was so excited, I got my family together and we listened to the CDs and had a discussion on the book. It reached me BODY, MIND and SOUL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    Common sense guide to building wealth

    Common sense guide to building wealth. The Richest Man in Babylon is a quick and entertaining read. Through several simple story lines, it shows the steps that any person should follow to gradually accumulate wealth over a lifetime. While the rules presented are all common sense and somewhat 'obvious', it is clear that 90%+ of the people in the world do not follow them and instead choose to live beyond their means. Definitely a must read for anyone who wants to someday be rich.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Greatest money book ever

    This is one of the top 5 books I've ever read. Recommended to anyone who wants to know about money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Excellent read

    I would recomend this book to anyone who wants to get some good ideas on how to structure their finances

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    A CLASSIC

    I would say this is one of the best classical books on financial advice. It sticks to conservative values such as going with fundamentals versus speculation. This is a sure buy for anyone wanting to increase their networth. I recommend this and other titles below.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Kudos to The Richest Man in Babylon

    Just finished reading this book yesterday. It had been sitting on my shelf collecting dust until I picked it up last week and decided to read it. Wow!! I have been blown away by the great financial advice. This is such a great book and I loved it. I am buying a copy for my daughter, son, brother and friends. Glad to see so many others who loved it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    greatest money management book i've ever read!

    The story that clason writes using the old babylonian parables has helped many people and it has also given me inspiration. It has taught me that it isn't that hard to make money and have that money to spend on what ever you want and be wealthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    Possibly the Best Lesson in Money to date

    This book is definatly one of the most influential stories to date. The 10% rule can be applied today to help anyone who applies it to good use. An easy read at 144 pages, this book will inspire anyone who has the desire to be sucessful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6