Customer Reviews for

The Richest Man In Babylon

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it : )

    It's a very quick read, and worth it. My husband and I are trying to get a good grip on our finances before we buy a house and this provided some motivation to do so. It's a little hard to get use to the old language of the book, but after a while, I didn't even notice it anymore.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    This book is a Godsend. I never really had any training on how

    This book is a Godsend. I never really had any training on how to manage my money and that's ok. However, books like this have been written and it is good for anyone regardless of where they are at financially. The format is told as a story which makes it easy to understand. The main principle of the book is to save 10% of your income, 20% on debts and the other 70% on family. This book is not very expensive and it really old but still very very relevant. In my lifetime, I will be reading this book every year until the principles become part of my subconscious. There are many other good financial books out there but this one is among the best of the best. When my son hits age 14 (god willing) I will give him this book to read and sit down and have a really good talk about money to supplement his knowledge. I can't say enough good things about this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Must read!!!

    Highly recomended, for all ages (especially for young adults)!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    i Loved it!

    One of the best books i've read so far! It helped me see that spending my check on clothes wasnt gonna take me anywhere. It gives very wise advice. It was very easy to read and recommend it.


    Mr J!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The most important and influential book I've every read!

    I stumbled across this book as a young man many years ago, and found it life-altering. Since then, I make it a point to re-read it every year. The fundamental, insightful concepts discussed in this book provide the foundation for a successful life. The entertaining parables describing the trials, tribulations and eventual successes of the many characters outline clear, concise and consistent methods to achieve financial independence. Couple this book with Thomas J. Stanley's "The Millionaire Next Door," and you have the tools necessary to attain financial independence.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Read this book

    If you are looking for a lesson on personal finances, this is the book you have to read. It is an easy read, easily comprehendable, and an effective tool you need in your arsenal for managing your finances.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    To be honest i dont really read for personal interest. I only re

    To be honest i dont really read for personal interest. I only read this book fopr my econ class, but it actually turned out to be better than expected. It gives knowledge on handling money wisely with different stories. it deserves to be recognized as a book with values.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    One of the best financially sound books

    This is perfect for that older teenager or college student in your life. I wish I would have read this 15 years ago when leaving college, it is financially sound and gives basic training (using short stories) about how to save and take care of yourself in the long run. It is a great basis before moving into other financial planning books. I plan on re-reading this book later just to refresh myself on it's good fiscal principles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Awesome, yet simplistic!

    The practical ways to use this information was very helpful to me. A lot of the material I already knew in my head, but was not practicing. This book brings everything into perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2014

    This book is really amazing and gives great tips to everyone who

    This book is really amazing and gives great tips to everyone who wants to know how to manage their finances and expenses.
    Although this book was written many years ago, it is still really practical and beneficial especially for teens and young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Amazing!

    The values and lessons taught in this book will really change your way of thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    This book should be required reading In every high school!

    Must read for young adults as they start their careers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    As i began to read the book I was not asĀ interestedĀ in reading.

    As i began to read the book I was not as interested in reading. But as young student getting ready to graduate high school and have to worry about paying for college i found this very helpful. Prior to reading the book i had very little knowledge in how i should spread my earning and now after reading i now know every little sent we spend can go a long way and in order to becoming a wealthy man i must be smart with my earning.
    GVSUAVE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    SELF DETERMINATION IS RICH

    THIS BOOK WAS RECOMMENED TO ME BY SOMEONE TO WHOM I HAD JUST MET AFTER TALKING FOR A WHILE.
    EVEN BEFORE READING THE BOOK I RECOMMENDED IT TO SOMEONE ELSE TO READ IT ALONG WITH ME

    UPON READING THIS BOOK IT GAVE ME GREAT KNOWLEDGE. BUT WHAT IT HAS TAUGHT ME WAS WISDOM .... SELF DETERMINATION ALONG WITH DISCIPLINE ...AQUIRES RICHES.... RICHES IN ALL THINGS HOW RICH DO YOU WANT TO BE ? ... THE CHOICE IS .... YOURS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    i thought that this book was not very good. i didnt like how it

    i thought that this book was not very good. i didnt like how it was hard to understand in most cases. i would not reccomend this book to any one who is new at investing. this book wasent so bad but i would have liked to see it be more present then babylon

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    It's my gift to all graduates

    It's an entertaining story that teaches one of the most basic economic truths--pay yourself first, and motivates you to do that. Nothing is more important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Updated book

    Seems like the book The Richest man in Babylon was written today.
    Realy enjoy the Book.
    JAIME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    A must-read novel

    This Book structures related theme-like stories that tell amazing storylines of a poor citizen that rise to wealth through self confidence and control. Clason teaches you the most important lessons of maintaing a healthy and wealthy life through changing stories that encourage to challenge your self. A must-read book indeed, and who ever reads it will be gifted with economical powers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Interesting Find

    I was worried that I wouldn't be able to understand this book since my teacher thought it would be difficult to read. But, when I read the first page I immediately knew that it was going to be a good book. I found myself surprised that I had already been applying one of the rules to becomeing rich. Hopefully I can apply the rules to my own life so that I may too can become rich.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites

    This book is very simple yet has a lot of insight to offer. It is a very quick read that I didn't want to put down. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to get ahead in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6