Customer Reviews for

The Richest Man in Babylon

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it : )

    It's a very quick read, and worth it. My husband and I are trying to get a good grip on our finances before we buy a house and this provided some motivation to do so. It's a little hard to get use to the old language of the book, but after a while, I didn't even notice it anymore.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    To be honest i dont really read for personal interest. I only re

    To be honest i dont really read for personal interest. I only read this book fopr my econ class, but it actually turned out to be better than expected. It gives knowledge on handling money wisely with different stories. it deserves to be recognized as a book with values.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Awesome, yet simplistic!

    The practical ways to use this information was very helpful to me. A lot of the material I already knew in my head, but was not practicing. This book brings everything into perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Interesting Find

    I was worried that I wouldn't be able to understand this book since my teacher thought it would be difficult to read. But, when I read the first page I immediately knew that it was going to be a good book. I found myself surprised that I had already been applying one of the rules to becomeing rich. Hopefully I can apply the rules to my own life so that I may too can become rich.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    It's very helpful..i enjoyed it!

    This book was fantastic! Through simple and basic examples, the author really gets his point across. The book was easy to read and understand the concepts. I personally enjoyed it because he writes as if we were in a finance class learning how to save, invest, and increase wealth. Incredibly helpful for people who wish to learn how to manage their money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Conservative Financial Advice

    In the 1920s, George Clason, who founded the Clason Map Company which was the first to publish a road atlas of the USA and Canada, wrote a series of pamphlets dispensing financial advice in parable form. The popular pamphlets, given away by banks, insurance companies, and the like, were eventually compiled into The Richest Man in Babylon. Clason sets all of his tales in the ancient city of Babylon, with characters and situations derived from those times, yet meant to show the universality of financial problems and solutions. Some of the flowery language is distracting, and there are a few unsettling racial references and sexual stereotypes, but otherwise the parable method proves effective. The financial advice is solid, albeit extremely conservative. No get rich quick schemes here! Clason's plan can be summed up thusly: Don't live outside your means, save a little bit of money from each paycheck and invest it wisely. Gee, thanks dad, your advice sure is swell! Obviously, there's nothing here that requires a higher level of financial education, or rewards it either. As a basic tome on financial planning, well, it's better than nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    AN OLDIE BUT GOODIE

    Though the language is kind of antiquated, I enjoyed this book and learned many valued lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1