BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Richest Season

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I highly recommend this book to everyone, especially book clubs since there are so many highlights for discussion. I was totally captured by each character and Ms McFadden's knack of telling their story. Can't wait for her next book.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slow Start, Great Finish

This book was a bit difficult at first - the main characters start out as very shallow and unlikeable and continue that route for much of the story. You find yourself thinking "Why are these people so mean and why should I care about them?" Eventually the characters d...
This book was a bit difficult at first - the main characters start out as very shallow and unlikeable and continue that route for much of the story. You find yourself thinking "Why are these people so mean and why should I care about them?" Eventually the characters discover themselves and it all comes together in the end. If you can get throught the first part the conclusion makes up for it.

posted by ssjax on August 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    highly recommend

    Really enjoyed this book as I left my own life as did this character of Joanna, so I could relate. Her characters are very believable. I love the setting as I live in a beach area near Pawley's island.
    Maryann McFadden was at our local library promoting her newest book, "The Book Lover". I bought a copy and am anxious to get started on this latest one. She is also a very good speaker sharing some of her own life, and how hard it is to get a book published. This is her first book. Her 4th book which she is now working on sounds very interesting. I will eagerly await it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    For those who have been married to corporate America

    I LOVED this book! What a great read. The characters were real, if they did not remind you of your own life, certainly they remind you of someone you know. I found it refreshing and realistic. Makes you believe in the power of love and the human spirit. Reminds us that sometimes you need to loose something in order ot know how much it means to you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Great Read

    I highly recommend this book to everyone, especially book clubs since there are so many highlights for discussion. I was totally captured by each character and Ms McFadden's knack of telling their story. Can't wait for her next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Slow Start, Great Finish

    This book was a bit difficult at first - the main characters start out as very shallow and unlikeable and continue that route for much of the story. You find yourself thinking "Why are these people so mean and why should I care about them?" Eventually the characters discover themselves and it all comes together in the end. If you can get throught the first part the conclusion makes up for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Wonderfully developed great read

    What a fabulous find! A friend of mine emailed me that I had to pick up this book. Her book club is raving about it. What a friend! This was an outstanding read. The characters are wonderfully developed, and the intertwined story of the three characters is carefully crafted. This is a great read for anyone -- male or female-- who has lived life trying to balance careers and relationships. I would recommend this, as my friend did, to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    An Unforgettable Reading Experience

    This is the best book I have read in a long time. If you love a character driven book, or if you love a great story, you can find both in this beautifully written novel. There are only a few authors who can lay out a character's destiny but blow you away when that destiny is fulfilled. The characters are so well balanced that this book will be loved by both men and women. This is a 'must read' during any season!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    A must have book to add to your collection!

    This book was a page turner for me. It kept me not only wanting to know what will happen next, but it made me start to develop feelings for the characters as if they were real people. You feel everything each character feels. This is definitely a book I would highly recommend to everyone. Expect to go through an emotional journey with each character. I can't wait for the next book! Bravo, Maryann!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    A great read!

    This story caught me completely off guard. I thought it was going to be a light summer read, but I was drawn into the character's feelings and emotions as if I knew them forever. Ms. McFadden captures the atmoshphere of Pawley's Island and beautifully tells the tale of 3 people struggling with their changing lives. I was surprised to feel compassionate about each and every character. I am already looking forward to her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Top Notch

    This is not a book to be missed. I highly recommend this book to everyone. It took me on a journey of highs and lows. Maryann McFadden pulled me into the story, I felt as if I were right there with each of the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Think I've Read This Before...

    The Richest Season is a book with a pretty typical plot: Woman falls out of love, woman runs away, woman falls for someone new. Shocking, I know. The book does however tell the story from different perspectives. For the most part this is the only original factor to the book; however sometimes it slows down the already sluggish plot. Characters like Buffy and Rhetta are key as they continually lighten the mood and shine a sense of humor into the book. However just when it seems to be going positively, we are railed back to read the story of Grace. Her depressing story and even more depressing attitude only makes the reader want to shut the book. She has absolutely no relatable personality traits and frankly, I spent much of my time wishing she would go away. In the end, however, things end better then most typical stories. If only it didn't have to take 200 pages to get original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Dissapointed with this predicatable story.

    The story begins with corporate wife, Joanna, faced with yet another move to a new city. In her 25 years as Paul¿s wife she¿s moved and started over more than a dozen times. Never able to have close friends or meaningful jobs Joanna finally says no more and leaves her home and heads to a small island she fell in love with years before. I found a lot of the story was disjointed and unbelievable. In the opening pages, her escape is made to seem spur of the moment. One minute she¿s out for a walk and the next minute she¿s made her escape and on her way to Pawley¿s Island. As the story progresses you learn there was more planning involved (she packed a box of mementos, she paid all the current bills, took $5,000 with her) but we find out these facts too late which make them seem like they were added in when the story didn¿t seem to flow correctly with what we knew so far. Then you have Paul. At first he doesn¿t really believe Joanna is gone but when he finally faces the fact she¿s left he seems unable to track her whereabouts until he gets his boss to trace a late night hang up. It would have been as simple as looking into Joanna¿s credit card charges to find out where she¿s at. The remainder of the book has similar incidents that just made the whole story frustrating and hard to believe. The ending was predictable and I didn¿t enjoy this read as much as I hoped to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1