Customer Reviews for

Rick and Bubba's Big Honkin' Book of Grub

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Not a cookbook, just a humorous take on food and "all you can eat" eating

    If you are looking for a real cookbook, then don't stop here and keep on looking! When I found out I would be receiving this book from the Thomas Nelson book program, BookSneeze for bloggers, I was very excited. I collect cookbooks and any book with Pizzas, Onion Rings, and Fried Chicken on the front are right up my alley I thought. Well, out of 214 pages, there are only about 23 recipes all together. This book is more of a humorous way to look at eating and why Americans LOVE to eat. You will learn such things as "Diet starts with D-I-E for a reason", you will learn weight loss tips such as "Jog, instead of walk, to your refrigerator". The "Two Sexiest Fat Men Alive" will also provide you with a listing of all their all-time favorite places to eat, which even includes the best place on this side of the pearly gates to eat - the ultimate "Church Potluck"!

    Perhaps if you are looking for a humorous book for a foodie in your life, or perhaps someone that has always dieted and just really wants to "Live" their life around the food they love, then this might be a good gift book for those individuals. On the other hand, if you are simply looking for a cookbook, you can just skip right over this one and move on to Betty Crocker or Martha Stewart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Rick and Bubba's Big Honkin' Book of Grub Review

    I received a copy of this book for free from the booksneeze program. Before I received this book, I was expecting it to be a cookbook. It does include some recipes but it's more of a humorous book about food. The men who wrote this book boldly share their opinions about food and eating while turning a blind eye to the current focus on health food and calorie reduction.

    This book is a funny, easy to read tribute to the foods and traditions we grew up on. I would suggest not reading this book if you are currently trying to lose weight or stick to any sort of diet. Reading the chapters and recipes brought on cravings for high-fat comfort food. When you combine those cravings with the all-you-can-eat attitude of the authors, it is almost impossible to resist that ice cream you know is lingering in the back of the freezer. Just looking at the cover of this book makes me hungry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Rick & Bubba's Big Honkin Book of Grub

    I really enjoyed the humor in this cookbook and some of the recipes. However, this really isn't a cookbook it seems. It didn't have as many recipes as I expected a cookbook to have but I guess that is to be expected because it's not your usual cookbook. This cookbook has more of their opinions, ideas and stories rather than just all of their favorite recipes. The recipes are arranged in a different order and spread throughout the cookbook.

    The recipes that are shared sound really good and I think I am going to try some of them this summer. However, I was a little disappointed that there aren't very many healthy types of recipes included for those of us who want to try to eat a little better or healthier. Overall I'm not sure I would really recommend this book, I would only recommend it to certain people who I think might like it.

    I would like to thank Booksneeze.com which gave me this book for free to review. I am not required to post a positive review; my reviews are my genuine opinion. If you would like to review books for Booksneeze go to booksneeze.com to register to become a book review blogger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    Best Recipe book EVER!!!!!!! You two are hilarious!!!!!

    So I read this book "Rick and Bubba's Big Honkin' book of GRUB" written by Rick Burgess and Bill "Bubba" Bussey. Yea... Well I can say that there was never a more true book out there. They are not into dieting. As they say in the book "there's a reason the first three letters of the word diet are d-i-e." Isn't that the truth?! I LOVE this book there is nothing more down home than "Spam 'n' Taters". I love the "Top Tens", especially the "Top Ten Reasons Why There Will Be Potluck In Heaven"! These finger lickin' recipes will make your mouth water. This book is country eating for dummies guide. The commentary is hilarious and dead on. The recipes are some that you wouldn't even be able to pry out of your Granny. This book is the best recipe book I have EVER read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    Rick & Bubba's Big Honkin' Book of Grub by Rick Burgess and Bill "Bubba" Bussey

    At first glance, I thought this book to be a recipe book. Its not. This book is all about how the authors, hosts of a radio show, feel about dieting. They also talk about their favorite foods, and how or how not to eat said foods. I really found absolutely no point to this book, except to poke fun at 'diets' and/or healthy eating habits. The book was anything but helpful to people in today's society, and it is the perfect book for you if you want a book that has a 'quitting' attitude on eating right.
    As you can probably guess, this book did not get too high of a rating for me. There were two things that I kind of took offense to: The way that it almost seemed to mock healthy eating, and the way it took the Bible SO FAR out of context. The book addressed Scripture many times, but seemed to take it out of context, even changing words from passages at times. The twisted the Word to make it fit their way of thinking about food. I also feel like this book was almost worshipping food. The authors tended to give food a personality, like had feeling and emotion. As someone who has struggled with eating healthy and keeping my body a 'temple' for Christ, this book was not a good one. I really would not recommend this book to ANYBODY that wants encouragement on losing weight, maintaining your weight, or trying to eat healthy. If I could give this book no stars, I really would consider it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    Rick & Bubba's Big Honkin' Book of Grub

    By Rick Burgess & Bill "Bubba" Bussey
    with
    Martha Bolton

    This isn't a recipe book for food, but it is a recipe for Laughter.
    There are recipes included, and I'm headed to the kitchen to try their bbq sauce.

    The first chapter is the
    Rick & Bubba "Hey, you got to live" Diet,
    Which pretty much tells it all. If you are on a diet, get off it, and eat. And eat the Southern Way!
    The food they describe is just good food, and don't forget the butter or Mayo, or any other condiment that you would want.
    One of my favorite quotes from the book
    "If you're going on a diet, then just eat less food, don't start messing around with diet versions of regular food that were never meant to be fat free."
    "Fat-free Cheesecake? Ice cream? Butter? Haven't we carried ths practical joke on long enough?"


    Also included in this book are their 10 favorite places to eat, and their Food Fairs and Festivals of interest.
    Rick and Bubba have something to say about casseroles, too. In fact, if it has anything to do with food, these two have something to say about it, and I have to say I agree with most of their statements.
    There are some recipes in the book, listed under
    Rick & Bubba's Secret Recipe File.
    I had to laugh at their advice about eating fried chicken, with a fork and knife.
    Somehow it just isn't the same.
    I'm sure part of it was meant to be tongue in cheek but, if you enjoy hearing it told the way it really is, read this book.


    Thomas Nelson Publishing


    I received a free book from Booksneeze to read and review,
    the opinions written here are my own,
    no money was paid for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Not Really A Cookbook

    When I first saw this book, I thought it was just another cookbook. It's not, really, although there are recipes at the end of the book and peppered throughout. What it actually is, is a hilarious smorgasbord of just about everything. It even includes The Top 10 Reason to Attend The Annual Spam Festival, and Rick And Bubba's Weight Loss Tips.

    All of the recipes that are included are simple to make and don't use 5 million ingredients you need Google to look up and figure out what exactly they are, and if your family will even eat it.

    So if you are on the hunt for a fun gift book for the foodie in your life, or just in search of a laugh, Rick & Bubba's Big Honkin' Book of Grub delivers. I'd pick this book up on my own dime - because I'm on the Rick and Bubba's "Hey You Gotta Live!" Diet. ;) If you're just looking for recipes, you will probably want to stay away from this book though, as it really is more humor than an addition to your cookbook library. (Though it will be lovingly included on mine - I plan to make their Hushpuppy recipe!)

    As a heads up, this book features large type making it an easy read, as well as fast.

    I received a copy of this book to write a review. All opinions are my own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    Rick & Bubba's Big Honkin' Book of Grub

    Alright, I must admit that when I requested this book from the Booksneeze book review program, I had never heard of Rick & Bubba and I was fully expecting a cookbook. And with pictures of onion rings, pizza, burgers and fried chicken on the cover, it had to be good food!

    When I got the book I was disappointed that it is not a cookbook at all! Sure, it has some recipes in it, and a few of them look really good, but if you are expecting a book full of down-home good cooking, this is not the book for you. If you've never heard of Rick & Bubba before, they are a pair of comedians (I think?) who have a radio show and have written a few comedic books. This is a book talking about how Rick & Bubba look at and experience food ("Hey, you gotta live") and it is good, clean humour...even including some biblical references! This is more like the type of book I would give as a gag gift or have sitting in my bathroom than one I would have on a bookshelf. But that said, it was entertaining to read, and I can only imagine what Rick & Bubba would be like live!

    I received these books free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Must Have A Sense Of Humor To Enjoy This Book

    The title just about says it all. If there is anything you want to know about food, you will more than likely find it in this book.

    This book, written by Rick Burgess and Bill "Bubba" Bussey, the self-proclaimed "sexiest fat men in America", is hilarious! I could not put it down once I started reading it. To be honest, I was expecting it to be more of a cookbook, and while it does have a few recipes scattered throughout, it is more about their take on food. Which, by the way, is pretty funny. I mean, when they quoted Big Bird from Sesame Street to prove a point about giblets, I was literally laughing out loud. They also have a few "top ten" lists which were great, especially the "Never-To-Be-Broken Rules Of The Church Potluck".

    But, if you only read one section in this entire book, it should definitely be "The Rick And Bubba Restaurant Rating System". As funny as it is, it is also so true!

    I would not recommend buying this book if you are looking for a traditional cookbook, because that is not what this book is about. This book is written to make you laugh, with a few recipes thrown in. I can not wait to try their Peanut Butter Bars Of Joy. I love chocolate and peanut butter, and these bars have both. Yum.

    I would recommend this book to anyone with a sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not a cookbook...really. It is just about food.

    This book is written by two radio personalities. On their radio, they are probably really funny but honestly I just didn't get most of the humor.

    I love cookbooks. I could just sit down and read a good cookbook in an afternoon. This book is not that way.

    It is written a large font and that just got on my nerves. It was hard for me to read.

    The recipes that are included in the book look fairly simple to make. The places that were listed where to eat looked really good and made me hungry.

    As for making me grow in my faith, well, it didn't challenge me. However, it was not a book that was written to make in grow in faith.

    If you are a fan of the radio show, you might like the book and get the humor. If not, well, you might just want to pass on.

    Blessings to you!!! You are loved!!!

    I was given this book by Thomas Nelson for review only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Book Sneeze Review: Rick & Bubba's Big Honkin' Book of Grub

    I had the chance to review Rick & Bubba's Big Honkin' Book of Grub by Rick Burgess and Bill "Bubba" Bussey. This book is a comical view of the world of dieting with joking asides and recipes you would never find in any diet book that include things like butter, spam, etc. This book is easy to read and gives a serious grouping of literature some humor.

    Now onto my own review...this book has very large text, which makes it easy to read. It also does have some recipes, but none that would prompt me to purchase this book. I must say that I never really got the point of the book. It seems to be taking wise cracks at the diet industry but the "punch lines" do not make much sense and are not that funny. I must admit, I have no clue who these people are or even that they are famous in any way since I have never heard of them in my entire life. I would not waste the money to print this book, let alone purchase it. If you are wise, you will not waste the time to even look at this book. I would not recommend this book to anyone. Perhaps I am biased since I am female, maybe a male would have a better view of this book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    rick & bubba's big honkin' book of grub is not a cookbook.

    it's more a collection of personal preferences and "rules".

    the print is large and easy to read. and the chapters are relevant to the book's own style. the substance, however, is lacking. there's a lot of talk. the authors are radio personalities. and actually, if they read their book on air, it'd do much better. because on print, it's a fail.

    there are only 23 recipes in this 206 page book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    It's funny and fun to read!!

    Rick and Bubba are my type of people, they love food and they love eating it, they enjoy almost anything and know just how to spice things up. Rick and Bubba enjoy going to church supper, eating at cracker barrel and they throw a few recipes into some very very hilarious commentary as well. This is a book that keeps you on the edge of your seat and should truly be read from cover to cover. I hope that you to will read this book and enjoy it as much as I did. The funniest food book I've read EVER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1