Customer Reviews for

The Riddle (Pellinor Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    Words cannot express the wonder of this series! The characters come alive. I never want it to end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mesmerizing!

    Book two continues Maerad's story but takes her down a darker road. Her powers are growing but her knowledge and experience are lacking. Her mentor and companion, Cadvan, can only guide her so far. Her journey is sad and sometimes terrifying and Maerad must travel almost to the brink of despair.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    The Best

    This Book was one of the best books i have ever read i think other people can have their own opinions but to any one who likes harry potter Eragon and other fantasy books like those with magic and adventure i would recommend you to read this and the naming and the crow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing Book

    In all honesty, I find this book to be better than the first book of the series. This is the first time that I have ever been able to say that about a book-- and there are good reasons behind my statement. "The Riddle" contains just about anything you want. Adventure, a number of fights, a good story, and some hilarious moments if you pay enough attention. But by far, the best part of this book was the author's descriptions of the characters' surroundings. Your breath will be taken away by the beauty of Thorold, the sinister ravines, and the vast mountains. This author is by far the most talented I have ever read when it comes to describing the landscape and towns... The only cons of this book were Maerad's almost unhealthy fixation on her brother, her overwhelming self-pity, the fact that the book started out kind of slow, and the cliche element of 'love' that sneaks in. However, you will enjoy this book nonetheless. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Frankie

    Im not your friend but good riddle dude

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    The answer to my last riddle

    Tomorrow. There will always be a tomorrow, but it never was tomorrow. I will post another riddle TOMORROW.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Miles

    Bye I love you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Brightkit

    I sorry i thought that... it was to late her eyes were filled with tears she ran off crying to die bright res one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Jonathan

    Oh yeah!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Nikk

    Exactly. Gtgtb...ill b on after church

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Riddle

    He walked into the bar, saw a shipwreck on the tv, went home, turned on the lighthouse light, and killed himself. He forgot to turn on the light. He worked in a lighthouse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    ......

    Oh...tell another

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Awesome. Very surprising twists and turns and it catches you unexpected.

    Wow. This book was like Poof! Read it, began it, enjoyed it, ended it. Awesome ride! The really really unexpected thing was that Maerad likes the Winterking and Cadvan nearly dies. Whoo! Was scary, that part... Anyway the plot was really well and intricately weaved together, the conflict was way strong and the resolution made sense. The story was just plain terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    To comment four

    A fossil?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    An excellent sequel

    If you enjoyed "The Naming" then you will certainly enjoy this sequel. A little much exposition for my taste, but I suppose that is something you notice when re-reading them back to back. This book is a story of a young woman finding who she is, overcoming her fears, and discovering self-acceptance. I thought it was well-written and enjoyable. We are finally seeing Maerad growing into herself. The bit with Cadvan killed me, but I will restrain from any more spoilers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    To riddlemaster

    Second round please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Kiyanleap

    Bring on the second roubd dude!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    2nd round

    I bury it in sticks I bury it in stones now i wil dig up the bones. What am i?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Try paint

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Ranger

    Amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6