Customer Reviews for

Ride the Lightning

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am 12 and my mother listens to Metallica... it is the BEST BAN

    I am 12 and my mother listens to Metallica... it is the BEST BAND IN THE WHOLE FLIPPING WORLD! If you think they suck you have no taste in music ....you probly even listen to Dubstep.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Metallica sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Metallica sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this album rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this album rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Album

    Not 1 of my favorites but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very talented band

    metallica proves they are the best of the best with this cd its one of their best albums cliff burton is one very talented bass guitar player now and days metallica is huge thanks to dave mustaine this band is just awesome completely awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a great album that i can listen to over and over again

    this cd is just awesome beyond words this album is one of metallicas finest this is metalica when they were in their prime and the moment this album came out metallica had their finest hour

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    another great metal album to come out of the 80s

    metallica proves when they made this album that instrumentals can be scary and spooky and off the hook first let me thank dave mustaine james and lars and cliff burton who is not with us today but we all know cliff burton is watching over metallica in heaven thanks every metalica fan and thanks to all the haters who hate on metallica let me just say metallica and megadeth and slayer are the best bands to come out of the 80s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    okay i have had this album for 5 to 7 years now everytime i hear the bass it reminds me of another guitarist in the band you might get fooled by cliff burtons bass playing he plays the bass and when he plays it it sounds like another guitarist if you like metallica check out whats on my recommadations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Great Album. One of my top four Metallica Albums between the black Album, Master of Puppets, ...And Justice for All. Metallica's albums after The Black album were horrible. St. Anger was very very bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece

    Coming in as one of the most innovative albums of Metallica’s eighties’ albums, Ride the Lightning clearly showed more growth while still keeping the metal alive. It begins slow with the beginning rift of “Fight Fire With Fire,” but soon explodes into a fast-roaring machine. With mature lyrics, but fast-paced guitars and drums, this is the best of the Metallica of the eighties. It would probably go right along beside Black Sabbath and Judas Priest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    excellent...album

    this is probably Metallica's best album but who am I to say which is the best since I love all their albums. My favorite song is prolly For whom the bell tolls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    metallica is the best ever!!!

    metallica is the best band ever it was the frist cd i bought i think that people that do not like metallica will not under stand me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    metallica rocks!!!!!

    this cd is awesome!!!!!!! I espically like fight fire with fire, ride the lightning, trapped under ice, and fade to black.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolute best of Metallicas efforts

    This album shows the versatility and range of the band, it is dynamic and executed perfectly. This album showcases the true talent of the origional four. The lyrics are smart, unlike most metal drival these songs you can actually relate to. Best Metallica album and possibly the best metal album period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ride the Lightning

    Metallica's second effort was just a little better than their first, at least more diverse. In some form, "Fade To Black" is a power ballad, yet its content has nothing to do with love, or anything positive for that matter. Great thrash metal album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ride the Lightning

    This is a fantastic album. With "Kill Em All," the band established itself as very heavy and super-fast. In this album, they still have their speed themes, but also intact are slower tunes like my favorite song on the album, "Fade To Black." This is a very good c.d. for Metallica beginners to listen to. This, of course, and the Black Album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Metallica rides with 4 horses through 5 stars.

    Excellent work! The riffs are faboulous, lyrics are well done! This is not so angry but certainly this has some kind of effection to society. "Ride the Lightning" describes very good the U.S. death penalties. The last track, instrumental one "The Call of Ktulu" has to be one of the best instrumental tracks ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Memories...

    This is one of their two best albums (the other one is "Master Of Puppets"). This is when Metallica were "Metallica" and NOT "Alternica"... A must-have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    METALLICA RULZ

    metallica rulz and i think its about time for them to make another come back and show all the rookies out there today how to make a killer song that actually can carry a good riff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Have a nice ride

    This album has slower songs than Master Of Puppets, but it rocks. The first 3 tracks that open the album are awesome, especially For Whom The Bell Tolls with its ultra-cool guitar riff. The 4th best song is the soul-shaking The Call Of Ktulu, with an apt ending. This album is great, but I can't wait to hear the black album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3