BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ride the Wind

Average Rating 5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Fantastic read!

    I have read this book at least 10x. Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Amazing book!

    This is the second time i have read the book. At first i didnt know if i wanted to or not but i decided to try it and i LOVE it! So if you are debating wether or not to buy this you definatly should!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Realistic early America novel

    If you enjoy a novel that tells it like it is, about Indians in the wilderness,you'll enjoy this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Best Book Ever

    This is an amazing historical romance. I have had a Hardback or paperback copy of this book for better than 20 years and I read every year or two. I never get tired of this excellently written book. When I first started reading eBooks, this book was not available. I have purchased this book for my Nook Color, now I will always have a copy with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    AMAZZZZZZZING

    The r not words to discribe how much i love this book, it never got boring, and u fell as if u are there right along side them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    You won't be able to put it down!

    This is without a doubt the very best book I have ever read. You are there, in the middle of the action and the heartache. If you have the opportunity to read it====grab it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite Book of All Time

    Like another reviewer, I read this for the first time as a junior in highschool -- and have read it many times since. I've literally gone through 3 copies that have fallen apart from re-reading, and lending. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    What a read!!!

    I have read this book countless times and always fall back on it when I have run out of other material. It is definitely one of a kind, and just thrilling enough to fully entertain. The characters come alive with every turn of the page. It is a timeless classic that is sure to endure unlike its proud but tragic people. I can't wait to read it again and again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Hands-down, the BEST book of all time!

    I first read this book 22 yrs ago when I was a junior in high school, and I've read it countless times over the years. Because of my love for this book, I have purchased many, many copies and have given them as gifts to my favorite people. It truly has become a part of my soul. I experienced every human emotion while reading this book. Ms. Robson has a gift, and her books about Native American tribes are without equal, but this one tops them all! Just buy it! You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    the best book you will ever read!!

    this is the best book i have ever read!!!!! if you dont read this book you are missing out on so much!! if you want a book to make you feel all emotions imaginable then this is definately the book for you. When the book ended i was so sad because i wanted more. Ride the Wind is a MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    HOLD YOUR BREATH!!!

    The book was wonderful. It grabs you and holds you tight till the very last page. If you want indian historical fiction ,here it is!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Love, love, love this book!

    I don't care if I'm repeating all of the other reviews, but this book is by far the best book I have ever read. Unlike everyone else, I have refused to lend it out for fear of it never being returned. It is a treasure I am not willing to give up. I have yet to find a book about American Indians as detailed, poignant, and moving as Ride the Wind. I first read it when I was 14. I am now 25 and read it at least once a year, plus some. As result my copy is on the verge of falling apart! I thought it was time to buy a new copy in order to preserve my original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    it's been about 15 years

    I just wanted to add my opinion on this book although it has been about 15 years since I read it. ( I did go to the extent of buying another copy recently because I passed my original on to someone else ) It is absolutley fantastic. If you are even remotely interested in Native American subject matter I promise you, you will not be disappointed in this book. It is excellent.....as is obvious by the many previous reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    You will not be the same

    I have a copy of this abused-through-much-use book, no cover, bound with a rubber band, in my bookshelf. This book is so profoundly moving that I can only read it every once in a great, great while. When I do, I mourn for weeks and weeks and am no good to my family. An aspiring novelist myself, I can only pray that I could ever move my audience so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    Unforgettable

    This story is unforgettable. I remember reading this story when I was a young woman, and I have never forgotten it. I can't belive I finally remembered the name of it. I am sending a copy to my sister, who loves to read native-american stories. I know she will love it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    True to the Comanche culture

    Not only am I Comanche, I also was named (by my grandfather) for Cynthia - Nadua is my first name - and I can attest to the accuracy of Lucia's novel. Her story will grab you from the first sentence and hold you so strongly that you will ache from its impact. Between my daughter and me, we have gone through at least 12 copies since the 80s, and given away at least that many to others. I've become friends with Lucia over this last year, and now truly understand why her books - and I've read them ALL - are so wonderful. She puts her blood and soul into the research and writing, and she genuinely cares about her characters. Read this book for an honest glimpse into the history of my people. You will smile, cry, applaud, and you WILL have to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Great Novel

    I read this book for the first time when I was in high school in the 80s. Once I started I couldn't put it down. I read through the night and the next morning begged my mother to stay home from school so I could finish it. It is one of the best novels I have ever read. I highly recommend it. I read almost continuously and 20 years later I still remember this book. I'm not sure if I would say it is the best book that I've ever read, but I would say it made a lasting impression on me. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    Simply Amazing

    I read this book for the first time in my twenties....long ago...and have read it yearly since. It touched me, moved me, inspired me and even enraged me like nothing I have ever read and I am an obsessed bibliophile. I bet I have given out over a dozen copies to friends who have loved it as well. NOTE--The author comes to Parker's Fort (Texas) for the Christmas celebration sometimes and that in itself is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Epic, heartbreaking, and a monument to a remarkable woman

    As a distant cousin of the Parkers, I'm pleased to endorse this splendid historical novel. The author's care to a truthful portrayal of both sides of the Comanche-White conflict in Texas is evident, and a tribute to a proud and gifted race. The romance between Cynthia Ann/Naduah and Wanderer is of course highly entertaining, but this novel is carefully researched and also gives a fascinating look into Comanche culture and Texas pioneer life. The book was written before the Comanche published their official grammar, so Numu (Comanche) words are written phonetically, but Robson's careful research is evident. Well worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Amazing

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. My heart ached with the Comanche people as I read about their struggles and trials and their dealings with the white people. My heart ached with Naduah and Wanderer and I witnessed along with them the extinction of the Comanche people. The end of the book is heartrending and no doubt you will shed tears for Naduah, Wanderer, and the Comanche people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4