Customer Reviews for

Riders of the Purple Sage

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

To "Do Your research first"

To "Do Your Reserach First" I say that YOU should do your research first into Mormon history before commenting on a novel that even Mormon historians and artists hail as a great work of American literature. I am a Mormon, a BYU graduate and a Mormon historians myself. E...
To "Do Your Reserach First" I say that YOU should do your research first into Mormon history before commenting on a novel that even Mormon historians and artists hail as a great work of American literature. I am a Mormon, a BYU graduate and a Mormon historians myself. Every point you made about 19th century Utah Mormon culture, church governments and history in your review below is incorrect. Obviously you are either an LDS convert or you've done little if any reserach into your own history. The so-called "Avenging Angels" (Danites) of Pioneer Utah WERE a reality. Bill Hickman and Porter Rockwell were among the most famous of them--and among the most famous (and violent) Gun fighters of the old West. You also seem to overlook that the portrayal of the Mormons in "Riders of the Purple Sage" is mostly positive. The heroin IS a Mormon and REMAINS a Mormon. Since the novel is set in 1870's Utah where 99% of the population was Mormon, it makes complete sense that both the "Good guys" and the "bad guys" in the novel should BOTH be Mormons. When I attended Brigham Young University in the 1980s and took a class in Mormon Literature, "Riders of the Purple Sage" was required reading.
Zane Grey spent a great deal of his life living in "Mormon Country" (the Rocky Mountain states where Mormons then made up the majority of the population.) He knew what he was writing about.

Now for everyone else reading this: If you want to know the origin of the Western novel read "Riders of the Pruple Sage." It is THE book that created the genre. (And other Mormons should be proud that the FIRST American Western is a Mormon story. Mormons were--after all--the first white Americans to settle in the western states.)

posted by dec0558 on January 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wrong!

The type on this version is too small. When I bumped the font size up one notch it was then too big. I don't recommend this version. Buy the $0.99 version instead.

posted by wroberthelms on April 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    To "Do Your research first"

    To "Do Your Reserach First" I say that YOU should do your research first into Mormon history before commenting on a novel that even Mormon historians and artists hail as a great work of American literature. I am a Mormon, a BYU graduate and a Mormon historians myself. Every point you made about 19th century Utah Mormon culture, church governments and history in your review below is incorrect. Obviously you are either an LDS convert or you've done little if any reserach into your own history. The so-called "Avenging Angels" (Danites) of Pioneer Utah WERE a reality. Bill Hickman and Porter Rockwell were among the most famous of them--and among the most famous (and violent) Gun fighters of the old West. You also seem to overlook that the portrayal of the Mormons in "Riders of the Purple Sage" is mostly positive. The heroin IS a Mormon and REMAINS a Mormon. Since the novel is set in 1870's Utah where 99% of the population was Mormon, it makes complete sense that both the "Good guys" and the "bad guys" in the novel should BOTH be Mormons. When I attended Brigham Young University in the 1980s and took a class in Mormon Literature, "Riders of the Purple Sage" was required reading. <BR/>Zane Grey spent a great deal of his life living in "Mormon Country" (the Rocky Mountain states where Mormons then made up the majority of the population.) He knew what he was writing about.<BR/><BR/>Now for everyone else reading this: If you want to know the origin of the Western novel read "Riders of the Pruple Sage." It is THE book that created the genre. (And other Mormons should be proud that the FIRST American Western is a Mormon story. Mormons were--after all--the first white Americans to settle in the western states.)

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A glimpse into a past almost forgotten

    The rugged West was once a great hunger for the United States. The Western was gobbled up by young and old and the spirit of adventure was very much alive. As time has progressed and technology has sped up all processes to hyper speed - the West and its adventure have become dusty and old.

    As I get older, I yearn for the 'old days' and crave to know what it was like to live in the time of the pioneers. Reading Riders of the Purple Sage allowed me to take a glimpse into a rough and tumble past and explore a region and time I will never get to experience.

    Its hard to imagine a time when the law of the land was the one with the biggest gun and the best shooting. Or a time when women had few, if any options to them and were essentially at the mercy of the men around them.

    As fascinating as the characters in the book - what I got from Riders of the Sage was the raw majesty of the land surrounding them. The Sage, the cliffs, the towns became characters for me within the book. Even if I were to travel to the far flung areas that were once the border of the Western frontier; it would not be the same. Time and technology will have invariably changed it as it has all of the world.

    Zane Grey brought to life the stark nature of the West and its people. I think it is time for us to explore a little bit of what we once were as a country - even if it is through a little great fiction. Zane Grey had a great way of capturing the West and giving us a glimpse into how it was won.

    While many who read the book might rail at the portrayal of Mormonism - I didn't really see it as a study of the religion. Merely one viewpoint of Mormonism at the time. I found meaning in the 10,000 foot view as it were - and saw it as a great 'study' of the West.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Excellent reading...

    This was the first of three Zane Grey books that I read in the last month. Having visited the south west recently for the first time, these books really came alive for me. I plan to read every Zane Grey book that I can get my hands on and reccommend his books highly.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Wrong!

    The type on this version is too small. When I bumped the font size up one notch it was then too big.

    I don't recommend this version. Buy the $0.99 version instead.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Zane Grey or Charles Dickens?

    Not since A Tale of Two Cities have I read an author with such command of the English language. Perhaps what sets Grey apart from most other authors is his description of action. One of the chase scenes is absolutely breathtaking. And when I closed the book, I said aloud, 'Wow, that was perfect.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    RIDERS OF THE PURPLE SAGE IS BASED UPON REAL HISTORY

    I read this book when I was in college as part of a course on Specialty Writing. Zane Gray and Louis L'Amour were both held up as the writers who defined the genre of the Western. Not only is this a great novel, it IS a historically accurate one! Notwithstanding people who want to ignore the often extremely bloody history of the Mormon church, this book simply tells it like it is! Zane writes this books against the backdrop of a religion that had Avenging Angels to enforce the will of Brigham Young. That's even in the Mormon written histories! These weren't just a few 'excommunicated' renegades. No! These were sanctioned bullies who killed and beat and burned their way into history. Let's not forget that the United States government sent troops to deal with the polygamous tyrants who ran Utah. That was the Utah War. We should not rewrite history to make certain folks feel better. That's not right. If we can talk about the Spanish Inquisition for the Catholics or the murder of innocent men, women, children and religious by King Henry the 8th or the cruelties supported by the Southern Baptists during the Jim Crow days down South, then I'm afraid that a well written, novel on a bunch of bully boys is in order too. This is a well done novel full of suspense and action and TRUTH with only the names changed to protect the very guilty.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Great book

    Love the setting

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Beautiful language

    Westerns are not my thing, but the author uses beautiiful language. Ending is a bit sudden, but made me interested in the sequel, "the Rainbow Bridge."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    AWESOME

    SO REAL..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Great! Five Stars *****

    This classic is an easy read. You won't be able to put it down. From the first encounter you know exactly who the bad guys and the good guys are.

    Formated well. Backbround shading works. Good editing job. Good Book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great For Limited Eyesight

    My father, who is 104, loves Zane Grey and loved this book. With the large print it made it easy for him to read and enjoy. He loves to read these books over and over and I am sure this one will be read many times. The paperback version was a lot easier for him to handle as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    The author wrote a sensative story too accompany a scenic journey.

    Loved the descriptions of nature and of humanity.
    In true American style story telling, the ending was a happy one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Nice,,,, Great...!

    Nice,,,, Great...!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Uh

    "Well there the same person. There dude/s...."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To "brice"

    Did you really put that on viking tales! Really your so dumb! And to any girl who reads this he just told me on another book his name was dale he's playing all of you he lies about everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Brice to both

    Well i gtgbbl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Lev

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    Do your research first!

    This book is absolutely appalling in its reckless villanization of the Mormons. Not everyone is perfect, and there have been groups of Mormons (mostly EXCOMMUNICATED ones) who might fit these descriptions, but this is just irresponsible writing. Only the missionaries are habitually called `Elder` and they are young men forbidden even to be in a room alone with a woman during the time of their mission. This `Elder Trull` is pure baloney dreamed up by Zane Grey for sensationalist purposes. Read it if you want, but take the characters with a block or two of salt.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4