Customer Reviews for

Riders on the Storm: My Life with Jim Morrison and the Doors

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    the most realistic jim morrison book there is

    Out of all the books about Jim Morrison and the Doors, this is the most truthful. While it isn't quite 100% accurate, this is the story written from the drummer's point of view. He was there and he witnessed Jim's self-destructive behavior and the downfall of the Doors. It's not a book for a casual Doors fan because it includes many lyrics from Doors songs. You will be really lost if you don't know the songs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    A view of Jim Morrison from behind the drum stool

    I really enjoyed this book. As a fan of the the doors i was excited to read it. once i picked it up i couldn't put it down. I like the fact that throught the book he was writing a letter to jim letting his feelings out and asking him questions that he never got the chance to ask. Also i felt like i was hearing the truth some books written by people who were not there are hard to believe sometimes you wonder how they recieved some of the information they are reveling in the book. But with this book i could tell that John Densmore was not lying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    I was fascinated with John's view of life with Jim-what a roller

    I was fascinated with John's view of life with Jim-what a roller-coaster ride it must have been--sometimes incredibly fun, sometimes just terrifying. One segment toward the end still kind of haunts me; when John talked about the eczema he'd had all the years he'd tried to work with Jim, almost magically disappearing when he heard Jim was dead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Pretty good

    Densmore's no writer, for sure, but he tells a great and believable story! Way better than Light my Fire by Ray Manzarek!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Riders on the Storm

    This book is the history of the Doors as a band according to their drummer, John Densmore. The book begins with an account of Densmore¿s childhood and adolescence. Soon, it develops into the history of the doors when John meets Robby Krieger and eventually Ray Manczarek and Jim Morrison to form the Doors. After overcoming problems such as avoiding the Vietnam draft and dealing with a seemingly psychotic singer, the Doors landed a recording contract with Electra records and their career continued from there. The book then depicts the studio and touring story of the Doors slowly leading up to the death of Jim Morrison and the Doors as a group in 1971. One major theme in this book is determination. All four band members were determined to make it big. Ironically, as the book moves along the determination of the band members decreases from little to none after Jim¿s decline into alcoholism, his arrest in New Haven Connecticut, his move to France and his mysterious death. Personally, I enjoyed this book because it is about one of my favorite bands, the Doors. This book was full of information I would have never known about the group and I am glad I put the time in to read it. I am now able to appreciate Doors songs on a different level. One thing I did not enjoy about the book was the repetitiveness during the band¿s recording sessions. Ironically, the book would not be as accurate without this information. It represents the tedious process of recording a band in the studio, something I found almost boring to read about. I feel like all Doors fans would very much enjoy this book. Obviously, people who do not enjoy the Doors music will probably not enjoy the book. Therefore, if you listen to the Doors I very strongly recommend reading the book. Although I have not read any other accounts of the Doors, I would recommend Ray Manczarek¿s account, Light My Fire, in order to obtain a different view of the history of the Doors. I do not recommend the film The Doors because it only follows the life of Jim Morrison depicting him as an incompetent drunk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    goes inside the band

    It was a great book to read. It showed what really went on with the band before, during and after they were big. I found myself reading it night after night until I finished it. This book shows the doors behind their music and what it took to get there. I would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    The Doors will never be forgotten

    John Densmore gives his point of view in an honest and real manner. His doesn't get in too deeply with Jim and all of his personal problems, but rather gives details on the band as a whole. If your really into the Doors, and want to know the whole story from someone who was living it, I suggest you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    Riders on the storm

    I found this book good but not completely satisfing because I read the book No One Here Gets Out Alive Which gives more insight on Jims life instead of Johns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1