Customer Reviews for

Rides a Dread Legion (Demonwar Saga Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great fantasy

    For over a century, the horde of the Demon King Maarg has defeated the Taredhel elves, kicking the ancient race off of many planets and leaving few left. After their latest defeat on Andcardia, the desperate remnants of the Clan of the Seven Stars led by Laromendis the mage flee to their origin planet that they left millennia ago, the legendary home world Midkemia.

    Pug the magician assumes the elves are friends united in a cause to defeat the demon legions who pursue them. He underestimates the newcomers whose leader plans to brutally seize control of Midkemia and use the orb in a desperate last stand that could readily mean extinction of everyone on the planet. Pug knows no one magician can stand against the coming invasion. He hopes to obtain the help of Amirantha the demon master Warlock of the Satumbria, the Order of the Dala cleric Sandreena, Queen Miranda the elf, and Tomas the warrior to join him and the Conclave of Shadows, unaware of previous relationships but not caring anyway. This is their last prayer to forge a stronger magical alliance to fight the coming Dread Demon horde.

    Just when long running fans of Pug figure he is ready to retire, Raymond E. Feist begins a new adventure for the hero with the first book in the Demonwar fantasy. Pug struggles to put together an alliance of enemies as each is threatened by a greater opponent. The story line is fast-paced though the beginning is a bit slow but the opening act is needed to introduce the varying factions. RIDES A DREAD LEGION is filled with action, but it is the Machiavellian intrigue between allies who distrust everyone else on their side that makes this tale work, each expects betrayal so almost everyone plots betrayal even though none can stand up alone while Pug struggles to keep the alliance together as the legendary Dreaded Demon Legions are coming to Midkemia.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Huge Fan

    I'm a huge fan of Raymond E. Feist's work, so it will come as no surprise that I really liked this book. It's difficult for me to find the words to express just how much I enjoy his work. His books are so good that I must wait until the series is completely released so that I can read them one right after the other. The action, fighting, and drama are so high and intense that I can't read one and wait until the next is released. The entertaining and knowledgeable Taredhel brothers Gulamendis, a Demon Master, and Laromendis a Conjurer, were essential to not only understanding about demon lore but also to learn how the Taredhel come to be so very different from the other Elves we are used to reading about on Midkemia. Amirantha, a warlock who is a summoner of demons, is more than he appears to be. And because of this, he is both a contributor and a victim of the Demon Legion. He's also got himself caught in a complicated romance. Every time that his and Sandreena's, Knight-Adamant of the Order of the Shield of the Weak, paths cross she punches him in the face, knocking him to the ground. Pug's mind is heavy with the price he must pay, to see all the ones that he loves die before him. With the aid of members of the Conclave like the multi-talented and highly secretive Jim Dasher and Father-Bishop Creegan of the Temple of Dala, they must find a way to interpret the vague and not very helpful insights given to him by the Oracle. Only by this group of potential enemies working together and gathering more and more information to answer the questions that keep mounting, will Midkemia be able to hold off the Dread Legion invading the last know habitable world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    This is another one of my favorite authors and he has not disappointed me.

    In typical form he has crafted another great story. Well done highly recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Crew Management

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great Story

    This is the first book I have read by this author, and I am very impressed! The pacing and characters were amazing. Too many authors have problems with keeping the storyline moving, this author kept me interested the whole book. This is one of my favorite books in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Recommended

    Recognizing the start of a series must provide the basis for the story that follows, this was a rather dry start consisting of a lot of character conversations that were drawn out too long. hopefully the following books will include a bit more action to keep readers enthralled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Hit or Miss

    Could've been good but he changes the culprit that he'd been going off of the last dozen books. It's still better than Legends of Krondor, which was terrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Huge Fan

    I'm a huge fan of Raymond E. Feist's work, so it will come as no surprise that I really liked this book. It's difficult for me to find the words to express just how much I enjoy his work. His books are so good that I must wait until the series is completely released so that I can read them one right after the other. The action, fighting, and drama are so high and intense that I can't read one and wait until the next is released. The entertaining and knowledgeable Taredhel brothers Gulamendis, a Demon Master, and Laromendis a Conjurer, were essential to not only understanding about demon lore but also to learn how the Taredhel come to be so very different from the other Elves we are used to reading about on Midkemia. Amirantha, a warlock who is a summoner of demons, is more than he appears to be. And because of this, he is both a contributor and a victim of the Demon Legion. He's also got himself caught in a complicated romance. Every time that his and Sandreena's, Knight-Adamant of the Order of the Shield of the Weak, paths cross she punches him in the face, knocking him to the ground. Pug's mind is heavy with the price he must pay, to see all the ones that he loves die before him. With the aid of members of the Conclave like the multi-talented and highly secretive Jim Dasher and Father-Bishop Creegan of the Temple of Dala, they must find a way to interpret the vague and not very helpful insights given to him by the Oracle. Only by this group of potential enemies working together and gathering more and more information to answer the questions that keep mounting, will Midkemia be able to hold off the Dread Legion invading the last know habitable world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    Always engaging, as expected from Feist

    Great beginning to a new series from R.E. Feist. He incorporates well known characters into a new plot pretty seamlessly and the story moves along at a good pace. If you like the Riftwar Saga, you'll enjoy this one, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Feist riding the wave

    Raymond Feist is now just suckering all those who have lived thru this universe with him. He really needs to sit down and decide am I going to write or am I going to generate income at the expense of my readers. Right now he is doing the later. There is so little actual content in this book it is appalling.
    Having read all Feist's previous books he may have finally gone too far for me to continue to include him on my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The start of another great series

    Rides A Dread Legion, by Raymond E. Feist, is the first novel of what promises to be another great trilogy in annals of Midkemia. I am a devoted reader of every one of the stories of Pug, Tomas, Jimmy the Hand, and others and I have yet to be disappointed. The world of Midkemia seems to be always in peril. Periods of tranquility are almost a myth. The upcoming Demonwar appears to be the greatest threat Midkemia has ever seen. Considering the world has been invaded by the Tsurani during the Riftwar, threatened by the legions of the Emerald Queen during the Serpentwar, and become a refuge for strange races that saw their own worlds destroyed during the centuries long Darkwar, that is saying quite a bit. Throw into the mix the return of a lost race of elves, who seem bent on conquest while at the same time fleeing from the very demons who threaten Midkemia. Raymond Feist is one of the great authors, able to conjure a deep, vivid world, and a unique variation to the standard fantasy cliches of elves, dwarves, etc. This story sets the stage for what might be the most thrilling trilogy yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Hints of the past, but effective...

    My favorite element of Mr. Feist's writing is that he can take a standard mix of fantasy concepts, such as Elves, Dwarves and Goblins and find a way to mix them with effective character development. I am a long-time fan of the Magician series and found this new book to be a solid and entertaining work. It is very intersting to see how Feist is again able to reach back into his bag of old and reliable subject matter and craft a fresh story. The introduction of the Star Elves was brilliantly delivered. Feist made them just different enough to be new yet remain clearly as Elves which which we are familiar. Upon the very subtle mention of Angels, I had to stop and wonder why I never noticed their absence in previous stories. I suspect we will find the connection, somewhere on the Peaks of Quor. A good book and an above average Feist offering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    He is back

    After divorce, Feist lost some of his fire. In this book he has recaptured the pathos of loss and the mystery of magic. Admitting the most powerful sorceror on his world of Mikdemia does not know everything, the losses and the pain comes through even greater. The battle on different planets, plains, and levels can be confusing for one who has not read the previous series, but there is enough background to have this trilogy as a stand alone. I look forward to the next books and the character development, as well as the interaction with the newest introduced characters. Celtic mythology, theology, and a taste for magic will attract those readers interested in an ongoing work in a different yet "home" world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    We found more Demons! Or did they find us???

    Here we go again! More Demons!
    My review is mixed. I am a fan of Raymond Feist, and enjoy his political fantasy, having read and re-read the Serpentwar saga, as well as all his efforts. I enjoy his ability to take something pretty boring (like wheat trading) and make it page-turning reading. He is a Master!
    Saying that, I am aware that many of Mr Feist's fans enjoy swords and sorcery. This book is for them. As readers, we are focusing again on Pug, the magician. Unfortunately for me, I am tired of Pug. He is a worn-out character that in my opinion would be better used as a support figure, in a mythical role.
    I DID enjoy the rest of the book. There are new characters being developed, new branches of magic being discovered, lots of foul-tempered demons, another race facing extinction, and another branch of Elves returning back to Elvendar. To those who have read Mr. Feist's other books, these topics are unfortunately retreads of prior ideas. BUT, as I stated, I DID enjoy this book, which speaks to the author's ability as a wordsmith.

    Overall, I recommend this book. For those familiar with Mr. Feist's other works, this book is faithful, and deserves to be read. To those uninitiated, I would advise finding the lead book of his Serpentwar series, or the initial Magician novel. They are certainly the bset place for a Feist novice to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    another excellent book

    an excellent continuation of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    Once again Feist tells a great story. His writing style is so easy to read and his stories usually leave you wanting more. This book, however, had a tendency to be a little slow and along the same lines as others he has written. It was still good reading and was an excellent start up for future books since I now want to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9