Customer Reviews for

The Ridge

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Engrossing and worthwhile

    I heard about this book through an NPR segment and spent some time trying to track down a copy. I was surprised to find this author had published a few novels recently, despite not hearing of him before. Koryta tends to write supernatural thrillers and this is quite an excellent read. It is not gratuitous, but chilling and well paced. The characters are strong and i found myself unable to put the book down. The added element of the big cats creates a forboding atmosphere, and i'm sure both mystery/thriller and horror fans will enjoy this book. Personally, I have encouraged my friends ans coworkers to read this and all have responded well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can you control the madness when good and evil reside in the same body?

    Deputy Kevin Kimble is a good cop that keeps things going in the right direction for the fine folks of Sawyer County in eastern Kentucky. His path collides with everyone but during the latest event on Blade Ridge, nothing is as it appears and every direction he takes leads him to another mystery.

    The crime scene he is called to at first appears to be the suicide of a lonely man living in a lighthouse with the occasional drunken trip to town. For Kevin it looks too much like a murder especially since the man called that morning to talk about his upcoming death saying it would not be at his own hand and he expected proper justice. The more Kevin investigates the less anything makes sense in a reasonable investigative manner so it is now time to make other decisions and call in some out of the norm help.

    Kevin talks the recently unemployed newspaper owner Roy Darmus into following up on research to help figure out what the maps, names and lettering of the word NO meant to the crazy man in the lighthouse. Roy can research years of newspaper data and hit every source possible to figure out who all these faces belonged to and how they ended up dead.

    Kevin is also dealing with the large cat facility that just opened and making sure the caretaker, Audrey knows what she is doing. The residents do not like the animals there and the animals really dislike the area once the sun goes down and the darkness contains them. Audrey fought to be there with her husband who died on Blade Ridge making this dream a reality but she is afraid of the dark as well and the nightmares that haunt her seem to come directly from this area.

    For Kevin it seems all possible answers lead back to the woman locked up in prison for shooting him. She holds the secret to what made her take a gun, kill her husband, and then turn it on the man trying to save her without being able to remember any of it. Kevin has spent every month of her incarceration visiting her and trying to forget that what he feels for her is not victim guilt but male attraction to a beautiful woman.

    This book is as phenomenal as every other book written by Michael Koryta, but really takes the scary, creepy factor up a notch. This story draws you in and you refuse to believe this is not a recounting of fact instead of fiction. You will not be able to put it down so keep reading but do not turn off the lights.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When I read Michael Koryta's words, it feels like I'm reading po

    When I read Michael Koryta's words, it feels like I'm reading poetry. His words resonant with the tone of the story. The landscape and people are described in vivid detail. I had to read this book in one day since I couldn't put it down. It was the same way for me with the other book of his that I had read, So Cold The River. The two books are a little similar in that they both take place in isolated areas where past events and people take control of the towns. But the people and the areas are so distinct and unique that you don't feel like you are reading anything at all similar. His stories linger in mind for days afterwards. If I could write like someone, I would like it to be Michael Koryta.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Excellent reading!

    The first Michael Koryta book I read was "So Cold the River," which takes place in the resort southern Indiana towns of French Lick and West Baden. I had to have another of his books, and "The Ridge" did not disappoint! Wow! I couldn't put it down. The plot: excellent. The writing: excellent. The character portrayals: excellent.

    Am looking forward to more of Koryta's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dean Koontz and Stephen King just may have met their match.

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    In The Ridge, we meet a variety of characters: Deputy Sheriff Kevin Kimble, a man in love with the woman who shot him; Audrey Clark, the keeper of sixty-seven large cats, including a rare black panther; Wyatt French, a peculiar man who keeps a light burning in the lighthouse he built; Jaclyn, the woman who shot Kimble; and several other secondary characters. This book is a mixture of mystery and horror. The plot begins with a suicide or was it... "Sheriff which would you rather investigate, a murder or a suicide?"

    Kimble has frequent flashbacks of the moment when Jaclyn shot him. As the story continues, there are other deaths. Everything seems to lead back to the lighthouse, or does it? Could the large cats be responsible for a death?

    I've been listening to The Ridge by Michael Koryta in my spare time for a couple of weeks. As I neared the end I could not sleep without knowing what would happen. The first thing that caught my attention was the location, Blade Ridge in eastern Kentucky. I'm grateful that Koryta managed to express the beauty of the area and not concentrate on the culture as too many authors do. Koryta grew up in eastern Kentucky but left to pursue his dream of being a writer. I sensed that he was expressing inner feelings in this book. The area is beautiful beyond words, but the culture too often takes residents captive and never allows them to leave the area.

    I was quickly caught up in the plot. Robert Petkoff's voice helped to establish the ambiance of the tale. When I first began to listen, I assumed The Ridge was a murder mystery. The suspense slowly began to build, and suddenly I knew this book was more than a mystery, more than a murdered resided on that ridge. Koryta developed the characters, even the secondary ones. He breathed life into them and made them into characters I cared about. The fate of more than one disturbed me. Kimble is the lead character; he exhibits a self sacrificing strength. I very much enjoyed The Ridge only now I'm afraid of the dark.Dean Koontz and Stephen King just may have met their match.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Recommended

    Very Suspenseful with a little twist toward the end. I enjoyed reading it very much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Beautiful and haunting...

    This story is very involved. It is a ghost story. The images of the land are stunning. The historical aspect of the novel is very compelling. Oh and did I mention the exotic big cats...? They are magnificent and unnerving at the same time. It all starts with a quest to find out why some old drunk built a lighthouse in the middle of the woods (woods are much more frightening than forests). The only good thing about this novel ending is that the author has written 8 others...I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Far Out

    Mixing mystery with the supernatural, Michael Koryta has developed works that are eerie and fascinating, and “The Ridge” is no less than captivating. The plot is somewhat complicated, and it takes a while to follow the thread. And, of course, it requires suspension of disbelief. But it does hold the reader from start to finish.

    The story involves a particular area in Kentucky where over a century or more, a series of accidents and deaths occur. In the midst of a forest, a drunkard has built a lighthouse. For what purpose? Then the man who built it is found dead by his own hand, oddly enough leaving a note asking chief deputy Kevin Kimble to investigate it. Meanwhile, a big-cat sanctuary has opened across the road, and the lions and tigers are uneasy in their new surroundings. What does it mean? Are there sinister forces at work?

    Written with a keen eye, the novel moves rapidly from scene to scene. The characters are well-drawn and the surroundings described vividly, and the novel is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Michael Koryta is a great story teller. The Ridge is a great example of this. I am a big Big Cat and small Cat fan. I am also lucky enough to have visited the Exotic Big Cat rescue preserve in Indisns. The preserve thst the book is based on. The caracters in the book are very real and believable. I would highlly recommend it to all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Amazing

    I Love the book its such a good book actually all the books that michael koryta has created are amazing. A mix of thriller, suspence, drama and a bit of horror. Love his books amd i hope he makes more soon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2