Customer Reviews for

Riding the Bullet

Average Rating 3.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Chilling Tale

A good bit of spokey material. We can always count on King for that. I recommend this book King fan or not. It's entertaining and well written. Makes you feel like you experienced something weird with the main character.

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment From This Fan

I have read several of Stephen's book and am usually impressed with not only the interesting subject matter but the way the writing takes me away into another world. I was very disappointed in this book. I read it in my Franklin Rocket eBook and felt it was a very der...
I have read several of Stephen's book and am usually impressed with not only the interesting subject matter but the way the writing takes me away into another world. I was very disappointed in this book. I read it in my Franklin Rocket eBook and felt it was a very derivative work and we deserved more from such a build-up. Hope to see more eBooks though.

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Quick Creep!

    This is a great short story (44 pages roughly), but don't let the shortness scare you away, it's a great story that has a perfect ratio of creepy to keep you reading through it until the end.

    I wish it were actually a longer story, but the plot was great and it read perfectly, so making it longer would probably ruin the story.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    A Chilling Tale

    A good bit of spokey material. We can always count on King for that. I recommend this book King fan or not. It's entertaining and well written. Makes you feel like you experienced something weird with the main character.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Nice ebook to begin with

    Ride the Bullet is the first ebook that I've bought. And it's a great one to start with. Although this story is told in very little pages, the plot is quite interesting and tells a big story. I recommend this one to every ebook reader out there.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2002

    Amazing

    I was skeptical about buying an e-book, thought that they would be boring and hard to read. Boy was I surprised! King is usualy enthralling self. The story is quick and full of surprises. King never forgets to add the human touch to his stories, and this one is no different. Definately read this story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2001

    Cutting Edge Fright!

    Fast paced and frightening little story. The editing is excellent; the scenes perfect. Oh yes read it by all means!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    wow `

    relly great his best

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    I would actually give it three and a half

    I looked forward to reading Riding The Bullet and found the beginning very good, the middle fascinating, and the end a bit of a let-down. Usually, King's horror stories build up to quite a climax, leaving the reader spellbound. Unfortunately, not it this case. King proves that he can still write horror, and that he is a master at dream description. His main character is well written, and in a short span, the reader knows quite a bit about him. It's kind of frustrating...the first two thirds of Riding The Bullet crackle with suspense and brilliant writing, making the so-so ending that much more nerve-racking.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    good read and more.....!

    This is a good story with a special ending. It's a thoughtful tale, a quick 'page turner' and told with a sensitivity I found refreshing. I was never bored for a sec....and isn't that what we all REALLY like?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2000

    Disappointment From This Fan

    I have read several of Stephen's book and am usually impressed with not only the interesting subject matter but the way the writing takes me away into another world. I was very disappointed in this book. I read it in my Franklin Rocket eBook and felt it was a very derivative work and we deserved more from such a build-up. Hope to see more eBooks though.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    Very Good

    A very good read! I am not the biggest Stephen King fan,however, this story might make me one. I finished it in about 3 hours. No wasted words or storyline. A very tight and well written story. I recommend this one. Like someone mentioned in another review, this is a great first read for people who are just gettin into ebooks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Short but good

    This book was a quick read but still good. I think that the shortness of the story took away from the emotional impact, however, I think that if Stephin King would have tried to draw it out to a longer length the story wouldn't have been as good as it was.

    It was definitely worth purchasing and more than worth the time to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    King heading back to form?

    I wonder how much his accident has affected him? This isn't brilliant horror but it's full of the classic King style. Ending's a little weak, otherwise more stars. Horror fits well on the E-Book, in my view. I've been buying more and more this way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    Stephen King is Stephen King

    There is always simething good and intriguing about a Stephen King work. He's started something great here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    Totally different scenario

    This was great, especially in light of it's circumstances of development. Some think it had a letdown for an ending... But isn't that how most dreams end, just kind of fading with the light of dawn? After all, if they didn't, would we survive them? I give it a '5', 'cause I enjoyed it on screen in about how long it took to download it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Wow!!!

    loved it!!! my husband and i ride so i can relate !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    King teaches us a lesson in this tale! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Interesting

    I just read one of his other books and he said that most people don't even read this book and just ask him how it sold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    :) ^_^

    AWESOME!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    The escape:chapter 3 by Silverbullet

    There, standing next to me, was Blackill. Blackill is my bro, and I'll tell you, he is BAD. I mean, really bad. He's a bounty hunter, but he usually works for the cons. "Well hello, little sister. I am excited for you to join us, and I hope you feel the same. Don't you?" There was no need for him to say anything else, because the evil, 'you're about to be dead' look in Blackill's eyes said it all. I couldn't bear it any longer. I ripped free of the ropes that had binded me, plucked the worm from my chest, then lunged. That extra aggresive anger Blackill had towards me was making me stronger, well, you know what I mean. I lunged towards Blackill and stabbed my sword clean into his chest. He then spoke his last words. "I never...ment...for this...I need love..." and he was dead. I bit back tears, knowing I killed Blackill. I just wanted to run, far away where I had no worries. The cons guarding me had stepped back when I had killed Blackill. I dashed past them and ran to the beach, where my only worry is if the tide is gonna reach me. I stared out to sea, wondering if I should of done what I did.
    (Plz rate and reveiw!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Good quick read!

    Stephen King is always fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14