Customer Reviews for

Riding the Bullet

Average Rating 3.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Chilling Tale

A good bit of spokey material. We can always count on King for that. I recommend this book King fan or not. It's entertaining and well written. Makes you feel like you experienced something weird with the main character.

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I would actually give it three and a half

I looked forward to reading Riding The Bullet and found the beginning very good, the middle fascinating, and the end a bit of a let-down. Usually, King's horror stories build up to quite a climax, leaving the reader spellbound. Unfortunately, not it this case. King p...
I looked forward to reading Riding The Bullet and found the beginning very good, the middle fascinating, and the end a bit of a let-down. Usually, King's horror stories build up to quite a climax, leaving the reader spellbound. Unfortunately, not it this case. King proves that he can still write horror, and that he is a master at dream description. His main character is well written, and in a short span, the reader knows quite a bit about him. It's kind of frustrating...the first two thirds of Riding The Bullet crackle with suspense and brilliant writing, making the so-so ending that much more nerve-racking.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    I would actually give it three and a half

    I looked forward to reading Riding The Bullet and found the beginning very good, the middle fascinating, and the end a bit of a let-down. Usually, King's horror stories build up to quite a climax, leaving the reader spellbound. Unfortunately, not it this case. King proves that he can still write horror, and that he is a master at dream description. His main character is well written, and in a short span, the reader knows quite a bit about him. It's kind of frustrating...the first two thirds of Riding The Bullet crackle with suspense and brilliant writing, making the so-so ending that much more nerve-racking.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    King heading back to form?

    I wonder how much his accident has affected him? This isn't brilliant horror but it's full of the classic King style. Ending's a little weak, otherwise more stars. Horror fits well on the E-Book, in my view. I've been buying more and more this way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Kinda dissapointed.. not what I was expecting. :(

    The story was okay but I didn't love it. I don't think it was worth the money though. I was a bit dissappointed, for I bought it with high expectations. I have a friend who really loves Kings' books so I thought I'd cheack him out. I really thought this would be scarier and more exciting. I don't think I'm going to be reading any Stephen King books in the near future. :(

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Rode The Bullet And All I Got Was This Crummy Review!

    This offering from Stephen King is sold as a stand alone short story (it is part of a short story collection, but the name escapes me, Everything's Eventual perhaps.) The plot is sort of a straight foreward ghost story. But, in classic Stephen King style, he makes it anything but straight foreward.

    Over the course of a mere 35 pages (eBook version anyway), the story takes more twists and hairpin turns then you could imagine could fit into such a short story. In the end King leaves you even questioning wheater it was really a ghost story to begin with or not. Top it all off with just a hint of one of life's lessons and you have "Riding The Bullet". As many King fans will attest to, his short stories tend to be some of his best offerings, this is no exception, deffinitly worth the read. Stand alone or as part of the collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simple and Fun

    This simple tale feels like it was conceived and told around the campfire. A fun read for your lunch break or before bed. Read it to the kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    Not too scary

    I am not a horror movie or book person, so this was a good, quick ghost story type of book that I liked reading. Not really scary, but that's fine with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    Not his best, but then he's still recovering

    This is not one of King's best books. However, considering this is his first ebook, it was a neat way to read it, and that in itself made this to be an enjoyable experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2000

    Not his best Work

    I have just started to read Stephen King Once again. I belive that this title does not live up to his past books. There was just somethng missing in this story. I can't put my finger on it but i know that it just didn't seem the same. Maybe it was the fact that it was a short story, but i have read some of his other collections and this one just don't messure up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    E-book is a good gimmick, but.....

    This is a decidedly minor effort by Stephen King that takes place at the extreme edges of the twilight zone. The actual ride was very creepy, but King's resolution seemed more like a cop-out to me. He still writes as well as he ever did, and you have to remember that he's still not quite up to par after the accident - but he could have done much better than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2000

    You dropped the ball, Mr. King

    If I could have given this story 2 1/2 stars, I would have. Normally I love Stephen King's ghost stories. Night Shift (short story collection) is one of my favorites. I just have to say that after waiting to read this with much anticipation and being drawn in by the excerpt I read prior to the actual story, I was disappointed by the author's reliance on cliche. Yes, he did point it out himself--as if to poke fun--but it didn't add much to the story. I was waiting for exhilaration toward the end and what I got was disappointment. Maybe the diehard Stephen King fan would disagree, but I know the author can--and has--done much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3