Customer Reviews for

Riding the Rap (Raylan Givens Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Riding the Rap

2011, for me, has been the year of Elmore Leonard. Prior to the new year, I had not read any of his highly praised works and Riding the Rap would be the fourth novel of his that I've read. Riding the Rap is the second novel to feature Raylan Givens, the U.S. Marshal f...
2011, for me, has been the year of Elmore Leonard. Prior to the new year, I had not read any of his highly praised works and Riding the Rap would be the fourth novel of his that I've read. Riding the Rap is the second novel to feature Raylan Givens, the U.S. Marshal from the excellent FX Series Justified. Viewers of the show will notice that the episode "The Fixer" is an adaptation of this novel. And while the episode is a great episode, because the book has so much more details, and characters, the fun is doubled. Leonard writes such great dialogue that is fun to just say out loud while you're reading it. Everything is great in yet another amazing piece by Elmore Leonard.

posted by McCarthy92 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good story but a publishing rip-off.

Leonard is one of my favorite storytellers and this one is no exception, but "short story" would be a more accurate description. Over 60 pages of this 251 page e-book version are filled with hype about other Leonard works. The actual story fills pages 5 through 192 and ...
Leonard is one of my favorite storytellers and this one is no exception, but "short story" would be a more accurate description. Over 60 pages of this 251 page e-book version are filled with hype about other Leonard works. The actual story fills pages 5 through 192 and the term "fills" is used loosely. Much of the dialogue is presented in short, double-spaced sentences.

posted by Readdicted on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Riding the Rap

    2011, for me, has been the year of Elmore Leonard. Prior to the new year, I had not read any of his highly praised works and Riding the Rap would be the fourth novel of his that I've read. Riding the Rap is the second novel to feature Raylan Givens, the U.S. Marshal from the excellent FX Series Justified. Viewers of the show will notice that the episode "The Fixer" is an adaptation of this novel. And while the episode is a great episode, because the book has so much more details, and characters, the fun is doubled. Leonard writes such great dialogue that is fun to just say out loud while you're reading it. Everything is great in yet another amazing piece by Elmore Leonard.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    This is Leonard's second Raylan Givens novel, that the show 'Jus

    This is Leonard's second Raylan Givens novel, that the show 'Justified' is based on.  Once again, Raylan seems to spend most of his time going off on his own, rather than sticking purely with his US Marshall services job.   




    Harry, from 'Pronto' , the first Raylan Givens' book, is a retired bookie who returns In this book.   After running from the mob in book one, he is kidnapped by a trio of truly strange characters in this book.  Raylan gets involved with a beautiful young psychic; an old woman whose memory has gone, and her druggie son who is selling everything out of her mansion; a brash you man who dreams of killing situations that make him look macho;  and a truly crazy enforcer.




    Raylan  continues to be his own man.  This quality makes him, and his stories, uniquely interesting.  Sometimes I wish Elmore Leonard wasn't so stereotypically racist with every group one could possible think about in his books.  The saving grace with this, I believe, is to show the stupidity of these attitudes. Gently macho is definitely in, as Raylan determines his own means of justice!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Good story but a publishing rip-off.

    Leonard is one of my favorite storytellers and this one is no exception, but "short story" would be a more accurate description. Over 60 pages of this 251 page e-book version are filled with hype about other Leonard works. The actual story fills pages 5 through 192 and the term "fills" is used loosely. Much of the dialogue is presented in short, double-spaced sentences.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    one of Loeanard's best!

    a complete page turners, the characters seem more then real, i think i'm hooked on this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    SCREAMSTAR SCREAM

    Big burly tom with brown fur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Javery's bio

    Dark grey fur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    You can't go wrong

    It's Elmore Leonard. How bad can it be? Poker-faced humor, astute observations of human nature. I've often thought Raylan Givens could be played well by Clint Eastwood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Real rap

    Eminem is the best and always will be the best. His movie 8mile is al the best movie to exist. "Everybody in the 3-1-3 put ya motha fukin hands up and follow ne, and as you can see this man did not have his hand up"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Rylei

    Hi...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Miranda to anyone

    Who wants to chat

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Zephry to Alex

    You want some competition

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Ty to parker

    Im here now u go first!!!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Alex

    My life is a rail road track.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Excellant reading

    Book is very intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Fans of Elmore Leonard already know about this book but I recommend it for fans of the TV series 'Justified.' The book gives some insight to the Raylon Givins character and some of the episodes of the show. However, be aware that the Timithoy Oliphant character on TV is not quite the same as how Leonard envisioned the character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2