Customer Reviews for

Riding with the King

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Just awesome!

    I knew as soon as I heard the song "Riding With The King" that I had to have this CD. Everything about it is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Riding with 2 Kings

    Listen to this album and you will truly be riding with not one but two Kings. I didn't think it could get any better than Clapton's Unplugged CD but Eric and BB together ...all I can say is WOW!! This is a true example of real Blues. I only hope there will be more albums coming from these two--together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ***Best New Blues CD Available***

    One of the best collaborative efforts ever!! The combination of Eric Clapton and BB King is incredible. They blend so well together. This CD should appeal to a wide audience -- young and old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Awsome!

    Very unique combination of style. Each time I listen to the CD, I notice something different. Highly recommend this classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nice blues album -- but not that great?

    I enjoyed this album, but didn't find any of the songs particularly grabbed me (well maybe the one with the wah-wah at the start). I suspect this album will succeed big time, but only because of the star status of EC & BB (who are both great guitarists).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Two kings together

    I have seen B.B. King once and Clapton 5 times. There are the two best guitar players anywhere in the world. Must be nice being at their age, Clapton being the baby, but both guitar legends are enjoying life. Buy and enjoy a truly classic album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow...enough said...

    This album is amazing...I can't take it out of my CD player. It has everything from contemporary blues/rock to traditional blues. What can you expect from two guitar gods? Perfection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Clapton and King leave you wanting more!

    Its too bad they didn't put the fire in all the songs like the slow blues numbers. They carry the album. Thats where you will find the best guitar and vocal work. I had hoped King would push Clapton the way Duane Allman did. But it was not to be. Clapton seams content to just play the same licks and solo's over and over again. As I said, I did enjoy the slow blues tunes though. They alone make the album worth the money. It's just tobad the rest of the album doesn't match the intensity of the slow tunes. The acoustic songs did nothing for me. Im sorry but after hearing Clapton wail on Key To The Highway (Dominoes) and Worried Life Blues (Crossroads 2) I don't understand the point of doing it on acoustic. He could never top the Strat performance's. He and King should have cranked up the tube amps on those tunes, I was surprised they didn't. I think Clapton's singing ability has over taken his guitar ability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You're really Riding with 2 Kings!

    I bought this CD about 3 weeks ago and It's better everytime I listen to it. Whether you are a fan of Clapton or King it is a great CD to add to your collection. These two guys really compliment each other rather than being two great stars that try to take control of the stage. It just sounds as if they were sitting in a living room playing and having a Hell-of-a-time. And, as if just for the fun of it they play 'Key to the Highway' and 'Worried Life Blues' with acustic guitars and was it ever fantastic. 'Riding with the King' is going to take many awards this year and is one you will definitely want to add to your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Blues albums I've ever heard!

    This album should win two Grammys: one for Best Duet and second for Best Blues album. It's the most inspired Clapton since 'Journeyman' and BB sounds terrific. Every track is pure Blues' heaven!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a sweet Sound!!!

    I have been eagerly anticipating this album for some months, and i was very excited when i finally paid my money for it, and put it on my stereo. I had heard cuts off of it on the radio the night before, and to be honest, some of it sounded cheesy and predictable. But, the more i listened to the lyrics behind the choruses, the more the i saw that B.B and Eric really were speaking the honest truth. In being an avid fan of Clapton's, this is some of his most energetic singing to date. And the guitar interplay betweeen the two is great as well. B.B's voice smokes, shining brightly on the mix, while Eric holds his head high, waiting for his chance. All in all, this is a great party record, and a great jam record, full of the truthful singing and playing that has long since left studio's. I'm glad that Eric and B.B had a chance to make this record, before it was too late. I hope that this record turns more young people on to the blues. There will be a long wait before we get two musicians that are this good working together again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A classic.

    A masterpiece. Clapton the king of smooth and cool. Handsome and talented. A legend. Perfection. BB and Clapton combined, oh total solid perfection. Give me more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Album

    BB King is one of my all time favs, and with Eric Clapton they created a great blues-rock album. I am 14 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    God plus The King of the Blues equals Heaven

    The most defining album since the 1970 debut of the guitar album of all time, Layla and Assorted Love Songs. B.B. and Uncle Eric play so well off each other, one must pray this is but the first of a series by these two Masters...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wish there were more than five stars to give

    I love classic rock, Eric Clapton and have just recently discovered blues music. My favorite so far is BB King. These two artists together are a good way to introduce young people to the blues. I bought it this morning and have already listened to it half a dozen times. The music and the rythmn is AWESOME!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1