Customer Reviews for

Rifles for Watie

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    I read this book shortly after it came out when I was in the 7th

    I read this book shortly after it came out when I was in the 7th grade. I loved it then and have since purchased it for my own library.
    I even read it to my children when they were young and they loved it too. Wonderful story and told in an extremely entertaining and fascinating way. Superb book about a significant period of American history and told from a very different perspective than most other books about the American Civil War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Really Good Book

    This book ,I thought, was very boring in the beginning
    but got more exciting later in the end and middle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    Best Book EVER Written

    "Rifles for Watie", in my opinion, is the best book ever written. At the beginning of the story the main character, Jeff Bussey, is on his way to sign up for the union army. He thinks he is going to get glory and fame, but he has no idea what he is in for. The war actually makes him stronger because he has to think on his toes constantly, forage for food, and watch his new friends die from war. He is sent to the confederate army as a union spy. He did not expect to make friends with the rebels, but he finds out that the whole war is basically just normal people fighting about their opinions. While with the the confederate army, Jeff falls in love with a southern girl named Lucy Washbourne. This isn't your typical war book. It is sort of an action/ romance novella in a civil war setting. Harold Keith, the author, did a great job of telling about the Civil War from both sides. He captured a good idea of what would've been going through the soldier's heads. I admit that I was lost once or twice throughout the story, but I was never lost for long. Harold Keith did very well when it came to making sure the readers don't get bored. It is one of those books that are hard to put down. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    One of the best historical novels ever!

    One of the all time great books. Not "just another Civil War" book. Truly shows how complex this conflict really was. The best way I have found to show people that there were no "good guys" and "bad guys" in the Civil War. Truly makes the point that it was not black and white!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    A MUST READ!

    This is an extremely excellent book to read for all ages. I personally dislike historical books, but after reading this book it has definitely changed my output on historical books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Stand Up for What You Believe In

    This book talks about a young man going through war and how he perceives everything around him. I have never been good with understanding history which did not help when reading this book. I would highly recommend having a good amount of knowledge of the Civil War before reading this book. Although I did find it an interesting read when I read the parts about their day to day lives. I would also suggest reading the author's comments about the story in the back of book afterward. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    A Terrific Read for all Ages!!

    I absolutely loved this book! Even though I mostly read books of the fantasy genre, when I started reading Rifles for Watie I couldn't put it down!! This book is a must read for all ages! My friend and I both agree it should be made into a movie....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Memorable!

    I read this book back in Junior High, but unto this very day I still remember Rifles for Watie. I my own opinion this book is a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    The best book I've ever read!!!!!

    I loved the adventure in this book. The best part of the book is when Jeff is escaping from the Confederate Army.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    A Fine Read

    This is a great book. I loved every page and couldn't put it down until I was finished. It has the old Disney theme to it. If you are good and honest then good things will happen to you. This book is also uplifting in the attatude toward people. There are good people out there no matter what side they are fighting on. The world doesn't always have to be the dark horrible place that we often think it to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    can not miss it

    rifles for watie is a historical book. I personally do not care for these types of books but since it was adventureous it was kind of enjoying. i recommend it to any body who enjoys the civil war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Good war/history book!!

    Great book! If you have to read a war novel for an English class this is the one for you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Good book by Keith

    I thought that Rifles for Watie was an interesting mix between adventure and a little bit of a love story. Thankfully, the adventure overshadowed the love part. I thought it had good historical accuracy and was a very good book. I think that it was very deserving of the Newbery Medal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    one who likes to read

    i think that the book Rifles for Watie is an okay book. I am almost done with it. My english teacher told us to read it. It's not the best book, but if you like reading about histrical stuff, this is the book for you! I'm not saying this book is bad, I am just saying that I personally don't like it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    SO SO SO GREAT!

    This book was a very desctiptive and an interesting book... i've read it twice and want to read it again... no wonder it won an award!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Riffles for Watie

    Praise to Harold Keith for including extraordinary depth within his literature. This novel was not just a story line, but a explanation of the main character, Jefferson Davis Bussey, and his personality. Keith continued throughout the story to have Jeff's decisions be consistent with his personality which lead the reader to experience everything Jeff was going through, and that, is what truly makes a great novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Rifles for Watie

    I loved this book! I read it at school, and even though most books you read at school get boring, this one didn't. It is definitely one of the best books I've ever read, and I read A LOT, so that's saying something. Amazing. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    A wonderful book!

    My fourth grade teacher read it to the class back in 1967. I've never forgotten it. What a wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    Rifles for Watie - Extraordinary Civil War Classic!

    I recently read the outstanding book by Harold Keith, called 'Rifles for Watie.' This book was an historical fiction phenomenon. This book received every bit of the 5 stars for its remarkable plot, description and intensity. I live in a North Carolina and I am a middle school student who loves to play soccer and talk with friends. 'Rifles for Watie' is superior story centered around the Civil War. Jefferson Davis Bussey, the main character, is a courageous farm boy whose only dream is to support the North by joining the Union. Harold Keith's descriptions of the war practically put you inside a soldier's boots. Jeff met some very trustful friends and enemies through his adventures with the Union. The plot of 'Rifles for Watie' was mainly about the story of how Jeff coped with all of the adversities of war. Throughout the war, Jeff had to cope with death of friends, homesickness, and being yelled at by a sergeant with personal issues. Keith describes Jeff's emotions and feelings so well, you can compare Jeff's thoughts and actions to how you would react in his situation. I would highly recommend this book to historical fiction readers and people who have an interest in wars. I would also recommend these titles: 'All Quiet on the Western Front, Watership Down, The Swiss Family Robinson, and The Lord of the Rings Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    cool rifles

    this book rules! i had to read it for a book report and i just kept on reading and was done in like 3 days. The book makes you feel like you sre right with Jeff and his friends in the civil war action! the author makes the book come alive for all the readers! read it and see what i mean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4