Customer Reviews for

Rifles for Watie

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    a realisic historic story about the Cilvil War

    one of the best books i read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2003

    I really like jarryd! He's so awesome in everyway! I also love soccer! Read My reviews on this book!

    I had to read this book for a civil war project. At first it seemed really boring but I ended up liking it! It's an ok book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Rifles for Watie was an awesome book

    When I first started reading this book I just couldn't put it down. So I would suggest this book to anyone who asks for a good book. So if you want a good book to read pick up a copy of rifles for watie and find a comfortable spot where you can be alone and Just Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    A Great Civil War Book

    I absolutely loved this book! I had to chose a book about the Civil War for a book report in fifth grade. I hadn't really read a lot about the Civil War before I read this book but I had learned some about the war in school. A lot of the reviews said it was boring but I decided to read it anyway. I was expecting it to be somewhat boring!! I am so glad I picked it up and read it!! It was very informative and from what I had learned accurate as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    best civil war book i have ever read

    Rifles for Watie by Harold Kieth is by far the best civil war book I have ever read. This book was so suspenseful that I couldn't put it down for even a few minutes. The plot had to do with a union soldier behind enemy lines and he was trying to escape from the rebels. The main character was very believable, although he was fiction. This book is worth any amount of money you put into it. Overall this book is a classic that will keep you loving every page until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    A review by a kid

    It was an awesome book that made me feel like I was ther in the time of the civil war walking through the field of the enmy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Wonderful Civil War book

    This was an exciting adventure story. I could not put it down because it was to suspenceful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Hey, Oklahoma Teachers

    This is a AWESOME book. I wished I would have been introduced to this book when I was learning about OK history. It gives a lot of information on the battles fought in and around ok. It also pulls you in and you experience the action and emotion as if you were there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    BEST BOOK EVER

    Great action/adventure with a hint of a love story, but stil a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    an awsome book!

    i loved this book so much i've read it at least five times. This book is the best book i've ever read. It gave very good details that I found amazing. This book was so fun to read. i will always have this book by my bed when I go to sleep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    the best

    It is the best war book i have ever read for that matter the best book out of all the books i have read i wish thear was a continuation of this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    Best War Book I've Ever Read

    I don't like war books much.But this book is totally different!It is one of the best books ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    Rifles For Watie

    This book was really bad. I mean i wish it were more about the main person. This book had an ok plot. If you like books with imformation not about the main person. Then you will love this book. But i sure didnt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2002

    Fantastic!!!!!!

    An excellent Historical fiction book,full of excitment and action and true life experiences during the Civil War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2002

    Best Story Ever

    If you like war stories you would like this book. It is great because it talks about the 1800's and how hard life was back then. It tells you why slavery is bad and how it broke up the nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Maddisen age 14

    I think that rifles for Watie is a good educational tool for young people who are learing about the civil war.I go to John Simpson Middle school in Mansfield and I read the book on my own.I thought the book was a great way to learn about how things were while the war was going on I would like to recomend it to other people out there who like to read books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    ASTOUNDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is awesome I just got done reading it yesterday(12/19/01)it's very good. It has not only history but love and more. You can't miss this amazing title. It's the best history book I'VE ever Read(and I read alot.)So pick up this amazing title TODAY!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2002

    Great!!!

    If you like Civil War novels or if you dont this is still a great book for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2001

    wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    you gotta read it. it not only has history but also a love story and great accuracy in representing key ideas of the civil war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    A Very Good Book

    This book brings the Civil War to life through characters we can sympathize with,and everyday circumstaces we can relate to. It makes the entire event very interesting, as one can see a little taste of what it might have been like to live then, to fight then, and to even die for one's country. It quickly draws you into the plot, and emotions of the book, such as the fear of battle, and the sadness as friends and comrades of Jeff's died. It is an excellent book, and worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4