Customer Reviews for

The Right Attitude to Rain

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Read this book.

    This book is lovely. It really made me think about my life and where it's going. Don't whip through it though--take your time. It's worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Was surprised I was able to make it to the end

    While the imagery and language of this book was pleasant, I was so bored with the plot by the 3rd chapter that I had to force myself to keep reading in hopes that something significant would happen in the story line. I was deeply disappointed. I cannot imagine an entire series of this character if this book is indicative of all that she ever does. 'I like him, maybe he likes me, now someone else I barely just met likes me, blah blah.' I sensed no passion with the direction of the plot and frankly didn't care what happened to any of the main characters. And I never did understand how the title of the book clearly related to the story unless the right attitude to rain is to sleep through it. Will not read this author again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    Here it is: avoid it. Boring, boring, boring. Uninteresting characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    A Mystery Series without Mystery!

    Odd that the sub-title for this series is 'Isabel Dalhousie Mysteries' when there is no mystery in this current book. With the other two titles, Sunday Philosophy Club and Friend, Lovers, Chocolate, there was a mysterious occurence to be solved. In the Right Attitude to Rain, I suspect McCall Smith of having been de-railed as he wrote. Isabel's second cousin Mimi exposes a surprising truth about her 'sainted American mother', a secret that could have served as the 'mystery' of the book (with the culprit being none other than a younger, healthier Tom Bruce!) But somehow, the focus of the story shifts entirely to Isabel's relationship with her niece's rejected suitor, with everyone under the sun unexpectedly and unbelievably expressing approval. I was completely leg-crossingly uncomfortable with the denouement. Without giving away the ending, McCall Smith puts the editor of the Review of Applied Ethics in an absurd situation, which I'm sure he'll make the most of in the forthcoming 'The Correct Use of Compliments'. Or, knowing his mass-production-of-novels method, touch on and get hopelessly involved in another tangent. Am I a skeptic who pooh-poohs romance? No, but Isabel's love life could have been handled in a more realistic and less 'tacked on' fashion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Intriguing

    I have some catching up to do, not having read the two previous Dalhousie books. This will be rectified immediately. the book caught my eye because of the title ... intriguingly curious without giving anything away. It turned out to be a delicious read from beginning to end. Through the twists and turns, I sometimes held my breath, but it stayed the course and gave us the ending we wished for. I quite fell in love with the characters and didn't want the book to end. So, how can one get a date for tea with Isabel?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Favorite in the Series

    This is one of those books that stays with you in your head for days after you finish reading it. It's my favorite in the series so far, even though there was not a big mystery to solve really. Isabel's character is fantastic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Irresistible musings on life, love and applied ethics

    In the third Isabel Dalhousie novel so far, McCall Smith spoils the reader with yet another story fraught with spirit, philosophical wit and Isabel's irresistible musings on life, love and applied ethics. In 'The Right Attitude to Rain', we become more and more acquainted with Isabel's more intimate thoughts which is exciting and touching at the same time. As her deeper thoughts and emotions are revealed, our affection for Isabel can only grow. Once more McCall Smith has created a wonderful story larded with hints of poetry, beautiful landscapes, human insights and a sense of irony that betrays a great love for the persona he himself has created. Within its genre, I have seldom read a novel so beautifully written and imaginatively developed as the third Isabel Dalhousie novel. I am waiting eagerly and rather impatiently for the fourth...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Love this series!!

    I read this Isabel Dalhousie series first and now my 86 year old Mother loves it too - she's of Scottish descent so that helps her relate. Great little series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Isabel just Shines!

    I have always enjoyed the Isabel Dalhousie's books and in my opinion The Right Attitude to Rain is a notch above the others. Even though Isabel was still analyzing family and friends, and coming to her own conclusions in the story was a departure from the other books. Isabel's niece, Cat, has a different personality or a different side, maybe that's what I'm trying to say. Oh well, no need to expound on the plot and other parts of the story because it would only spoil it for you.
    In summary, Mr. Smith has created a super story in which you will definitely care for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2