Customer Reviews for

Right Hand Magic (Golgotham Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

a fascinating opening act of a new urban fantasy

Her affluent parents are disappointed in Tate as they expect her to marry someone of their social group. Instead, Tate is a Manhattan based metallurgist, sculpting life-sized human figures. Tate feels she is on the way to making it as a metal sculptor when the Templet...
Her affluent parents are disappointed in Tate as they expect her to marry someone of their social group. Instead, Tate is a Manhattan based metallurgist, sculpting life-sized human figures. Tate feels she is on the way to making it as a metal sculptor when the Templeton Gallery in Chelsea plans a showing of her work.

Tate finds a place to rent in the Golgotham, the oddest area in the city; some would say the world. Here is the true melting pot where Werewolves, Valkyries, Amazons, centaurs, and their ilk live above ground and Dwarves below the pavement. Also residing here is Kymeran witches who sell charms, spells, and curses to customers, mostly dumb humans. Tate's landlord is Hexe the Kymeran sorcerer who's a practitioner of the Right Hand magic. He shares in common with his new tenant the fact he has disappointed his mother the Golgotham Witch-Queen, Lady Syra by not following in her footsteps with using Left Hand curse magic. As Tate adjusts to Hexe's strange feline Scratch, a were-cougar stalks her. Hexe catches teenager Lukas, who is cold turkey detoxed from the drugs that had him out of control. He explains he fled from mob Boss Marz's pit fighting ring; the trio knows the gangster and his minion will be coming for their guest.

Right Hand Magic is a fascinating opening act of a new urban fantasy that focuses in the New York neighborhood Golgotham which is filled with an assortment of non-humans. The story line introduces the audience to the neighborhood through the eyes of the newest resident. The action is somewhat limited as Nancy A. Collins establishes the lifestyle of an assortment of paranormal species and a horde of players. This first entry looks like the beginning of an engaging series as fans will want to walk the streets of Golgotham; albeit with some magic at their right and left hands.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

!

Once again, harriet klausner has ruined another book. Bn, you are losing sales thanks to this poster. No one wants to read a book after she reveals everything that happens. Ban her already.

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a fascinating opening act of a new urban fantasy

    Her affluent parents are disappointed in Tate as they expect her to marry someone of their social group. Instead, Tate is a Manhattan based metallurgist, sculpting life-sized human figures. Tate feels she is on the way to making it as a metal sculptor when the Templeton Gallery in Chelsea plans a showing of her work.

    Tate finds a place to rent in the Golgotham, the oddest area in the city; some would say the world. Here is the true melting pot where Werewolves, Valkyries, Amazons, centaurs, and their ilk live above ground and Dwarves below the pavement. Also residing here is Kymeran witches who sell charms, spells, and curses to customers, mostly dumb humans. Tate's landlord is Hexe the Kymeran sorcerer who's a practitioner of the Right Hand magic. He shares in common with his new tenant the fact he has disappointed his mother the Golgotham Witch-Queen, Lady Syra by not following in her footsteps with using Left Hand curse magic. As Tate adjusts to Hexe's strange feline Scratch, a were-cougar stalks her. Hexe catches teenager Lukas, who is cold turkey detoxed from the drugs that had him out of control. He explains he fled from mob Boss Marz's pit fighting ring; the trio knows the gangster and his minion will be coming for their guest.

    Right Hand Magic is a fascinating opening act of a new urban fantasy that focuses in the New York neighborhood Golgotham which is filled with an assortment of non-humans. The story line introduces the audience to the neighborhood through the eyes of the newest resident. The action is somewhat limited as Nancy A. Collins establishes the lifestyle of an assortment of paranormal species and a horde of players. This first entry looks like the beginning of an engaging series as fans will want to walk the streets of Golgotham; albeit with some magic at their right and left hands.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Fantastic Book!

    I read a lot and find it really difficult to be truly entertained but Collins writes with such ease of the pen it was hard to put this book down. I really enjoyed the characters and the brief glimpse into their world. Extremely great read! If you like the paranormal, romance and fantasy genre this series is a definte read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Nice addition to the urban fantasy genre

    This was an interesting read. It is urban fantasy and gives a different approach to the genre. Magic is an accepted, though separate, part of society. Fantasy creatures are part of everyday life and have their own cultures and customs. This is the story of an artist who is looking for a cheap apartment in New York and ends up in the magical community. She is confronted with prejudice on both sides and has to learn how to deal with them. Very entertaining story, original takes on traditional fantasy characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    A perfect intro to the Golgotham world!

    I finished this in one day and couldn't be happier about impulsively grabbing this book on my way out of B&N. This was quirky and fun, with a wonderful cast of characters and a new outlook on the urban fantasy realm. I enjoyed every page of it and was only left wondering when there would be more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Good read

    Never heard of this author. Someone told me about her books and found this one to be okay to pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    !

    Once again, harriet klausner has ruined another book. Bn, you are losing sales thanks to this poster. No one wants to read a book after she reveals everything that happens. Ban her already.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    This was an interesting read.

    A new spin on the New York scene. I have to say I'd love if there was a different lace that resided in NYC. Something magical and beautiful.
    This was an interesting read to start off with and I am glad I took the time to read it, since in was a little nervous about it. But Nancy proved she can we eve a world around New York without messing it up entirely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Characters you love and love to hate :)

    Liked it so much I finished it over breakfast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    fun read

    fun take on urban fantasy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Delightful read

    I liked reading this book. Can't wait to get to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Read.

    I will purchase the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Horrible

    This is the only book I've ever bought that I had to force myself to finish because it was so awful. The story itself is decent, but the writing is agonizingly bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Highly Recommend to newcomers and hardcore urban fantasy lovers!

    I have to say that this is the best book I have read in quite some time. I couldn't put it down and am already waited for the next in the series. I was not disappointed in the visual creativity that washed through my mind with each page I read, thanks to Ms Collins written word. I loved the characters, the places, the story... it all captured my interest and imagination. Would suggest this book to everyone! Fresh...and fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4