Customer Reviews for

The Right Hand of Evil

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

John Saul....

At first I was kinda skeptical of this book. Because I had already read one of his books and did not enjoy it at all. I begun this book and to be honest and I know this sounds so cliche but I couldn't put it down.This book mark me as a new member of the John Saul fan cl...
At first I was kinda skeptical of this book. Because I had already read one of his books and did not enjoy it at all. I begun this book and to be honest and I know this sounds so cliche but I couldn't put it down.This book mark me as a new member of the John Saul fan club. I give this book 5 stars and recommend it to anyone who like creepy books. I was amazed at how much this book gave me the chills. This book is a twist between religion and satanism, I also like how John Saul gave the history of some of characters. The books starts off with a man name Ted Conway who is a drunk and loses his job. He has a wife name Janet and 3 lovely kids. They inherit this big spoke y Victorian house. All their lives take a turn for the worse when they move in this house. Anyone who is skeptical about John Saul please read this novel it will DEFIANTLY change your opinion about his works.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good, but...

compared to some of his older books, like BrainChild, Shadows and When the Wind blows, or NATHANIEL(one of my favorites) it pales quickly. If you like John Saul, I think that you should read those first. And I'm a BIG fan.

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    John Saul....

    At first I was kinda skeptical of this book. Because I had already read one of his books and did not enjoy it at all. I begun this book and to be honest and I know this sounds so cliche but I couldn't put it down.This book mark me as a new member of the John Saul fan club. I give this book 5 stars and recommend it to anyone who like creepy books. I was amazed at how much this book gave me the chills. This book is a twist between religion and satanism, I also like how John Saul gave the history of some of characters. The books starts off with a man name Ted Conway who is a drunk and loses his job. He has a wife name Janet and 3 lovely kids. They inherit this big spoke y Victorian house. All their lives take a turn for the worse when they move in this house. Anyone who is skeptical about John Saul please read this novel it will DEFIANTLY change your opinion about his works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    Pretty good, but...

    compared to some of his older books, like BrainChild, Shadows and When the Wind blows, or NATHANIEL(one of my favorites) it pales quickly. If you like John Saul, I think that you should read those first. And I'm a BIG fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Gothic ghost story

    John Saul has written a gothic ghost story that in some ways misses the mark in creepy things that go bump in an old house. Much of a story like this takes place in the readers mind reminding them of how they feared the dark and unknown as a child.. He needed a bit more of a psychological component within the story that takes the reader into their own primal fear. I have read other Saul books in the past, but don't think this story is one of his best. I wouldn't recommend the book for anything more than it is. A fair read, but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Beginning and end were Could not wait for it to be over



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Exactly what I was looking for...

    Was this a bit predictable? Yes. Do I care? No. I was looking for a Haunted House / Haunted Family story and this delivered. Maybe I'm just jaded by films but the gory aspect really is not that bad considering. This was my first John Saul book and definitely has now put him on my radar. I liked the characters although I was a little put off by what the wife was willing to go through with her husband in the beginning. Once they moved in to the mansion I was able to overlook her weak character once she became less of a focus. I gave it 4 stars because it was exactly what I wanted but would have gave it 5 if it had a little extra to blow me away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it but...

    I really enjoyed this book except when it got to sections involving some terrible things happening to animals and children. I had to skim over those parts because I hate to hear about that kind of thing. Other than that I couldn't put the book down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    One of my all time favorites

    After reading this by chance (years ago), I find myself searching for more of the same from John Saul. This will get you hooked. It is worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Haunting

    The story is about a family who inherits a home from a aunt whom has just died. She spent her adult life in a sanatorium thought to be insane, the family has no other choice but to live in the mansion due to there circumstances dads a drunk, mom is at her wits end and twin teenagers and a little girl name Molly. The town do not want the family there and are trying everything the can to stop the family from turning the mansion into a hotel and get them to leave. The secret is the family has a long history of Vodoo and death, mysteries unsolved for years and years, the men in the family all seem to be doomed or is it something else, vodoo? curses? The story is good with lots of twists and turns, scary its a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put the book down.

    This was book was a very good read. I found myself getting caught up in the story and could not wait to turn the next page. I was not fond of the sacrifice of animals, but if you can get past that, you will find that the story is very well told. I suggest that if you have not read this book, do, but do not read it in the dark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Creepy

    John Saul is a great author and has many good ideas for his books. 'The Right hand of Evil' was pretty good, but it was hard for me to get into at first. The characters were good, the Dad suddenly going from alcoholic to this great father, and then the son Jared going from this great kid to an evil dooer. The plot was right on key but I found myself not to excited about the book. I think if the author put a little more time into it and made it just a bit scarier then it would have been better for me. All fans should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    I loved this read!

    This book was the first John Saul book I've read, but I loved it and will be back for more. I read it within a week. I liked the plot and I got it, sorry to those of you out there who didn't! A Must Read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Whoa!

    This is the first book I've read with John Saul, and I thought it was really good.It was quite intense.It was easy reading, and just one of those books that is pretty much glued to your hand.It definitely had some rather gruesome scenes, though it really wasn't that bad.The family situation in the beginning is relatable by many Dad who drinks and spends alot of money on liquor, mom who has to take care of three kids as well as keep the house in order. Normal right? Right. When Ted and Janet Conway and their kids (twins Kimberley and Jared and 1 1/2 year old Molly) move into Ted's deceased aunt's mansion, things really don't seem that odd.That starts a month or two after they've lived there.It kept you hanging up until the last couple of chapters, where the story itself became a little old and somewhat slow. Otherwise, I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2005

    struggled to get thru it...

    I just had a hard time getting into this book. First I've read from this author. It just seemed so slow paced, took forever to get anything going. Just didn't click.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Scream for the children!

    I don't know where he comes up with these ideas. It is scary but I love it. John has a mind I have never encountered before. He opens doors within your mind you don't even know exist. This book is scary. The things that are done within their pages are horrifying, but will keep you turning page after page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    major disappointment!

    good premise however I'd hoped for something scary with more follow through. It could have been so much more. alot of the connections with characters never panned out and it ended without really explaining what happened and why. Finished the book and wondered how this related to that etc..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    John Saul does it again

    I am a huge fan of John Sauls books. He never lets his readers down. This was a great book could not put it down. Scarey Scarey!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    A really good book!

    I read this book in a week, it was that good! Saul has a smooth writing style that keeps you glued to the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Great book!

    This is the first book that I have ever actually sat down and read all the way through without stopping. The book was hard to put down because it was just chapter after chapter of surprises. I strongly believe that this book should be made into a movie. It is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    John Saul's Best Book Yet!

    I have always been a fan of John Saul, and have always enjoyed his masterpieces and have almost all of his books. However, once I got this book, I couldn't put it down, no matter how tired I got. It was the only book that has ever truly scared me. The lights stayed on the night I finished the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    FANTASTIC!

    This was the best, spell binding book ever! I couldn't put the book down until it was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4