BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Right Hand of Evil

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

John Saul....

At first I was kinda skeptical of this book. Because I had already read one of his books and did not enjoy it at all. I begun this book and to be honest and I know this sounds so cliche but I couldn't put it down.This book mark me as a new member of the John Saul fan cl...
At first I was kinda skeptical of this book. Because I had already read one of his books and did not enjoy it at all. I begun this book and to be honest and I know this sounds so cliche but I couldn't put it down.This book mark me as a new member of the John Saul fan club. I give this book 5 stars and recommend it to anyone who like creepy books. I was amazed at how much this book gave me the chills. This book is a twist between religion and satanism, I also like how John Saul gave the history of some of characters. The books starts off with a man name Ted Conway who is a drunk and loses his job. He has a wife name Janet and 3 lovely kids. They inherit this big spoke y Victorian house. All their lives take a turn for the worse when they move in this house. Anyone who is skeptical about John Saul please read this novel it will DEFIANTLY change your opinion about his works.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good, but...

compared to some of his older books, like BrainChild, Shadows and When the Wind blows, or NATHANIEL(one of my favorites) it pales quickly. If you like John Saul, I think that you should read those first. And I'm a BIG fan.

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Exactly what I was looking for...

    Was this a bit predictable? Yes. Do I care? No. I was looking for a Haunted House / Haunted Family story and this delivered. Maybe I'm just jaded by films but the gory aspect really is not that bad considering. This was my first John Saul book and definitely has now put him on my radar. I liked the characters although I was a little put off by what the wife was willing to go through with her husband in the beginning. Once they moved in to the mansion I was able to overlook her weak character once she became less of a focus. I gave it 4 stars because it was exactly what I wanted but would have gave it 5 if it had a little extra to blow me away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Creepy

    John Saul is a great author and has many good ideas for his books. 'The Right hand of Evil' was pretty good, but it was hard for me to get into at first. The characters were good, the Dad suddenly going from alcoholic to this great father, and then the son Jared going from this great kid to an evil dooer. The plot was right on key but I found myself not to excited about the book. I think if the author put a little more time into it and made it just a bit scarier then it would have been better for me. All fans should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Whoa!

    This is the first book I've read with John Saul, and I thought it was really good.It was quite intense.It was easy reading, and just one of those books that is pretty much glued to your hand.It definitely had some rather gruesome scenes, though it really wasn't that bad.The family situation in the beginning is relatable by many Dad who drinks and spends alot of money on liquor, mom who has to take care of three kids as well as keep the house in order. Normal right? Right. When Ted and Janet Conway and their kids (twins Kimberley and Jared and 1 1/2 year old Molly) move into Ted's deceased aunt's mansion, things really don't seem that odd.That starts a month or two after they've lived there.It kept you hanging up until the last couple of chapters, where the story itself became a little old and somewhat slow. Otherwise, I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Scream for the children!

    I don't know where he comes up with these ideas. It is scary but I love it. John has a mind I have never encountered before. He opens doors within your mind you don't even know exist. This book is scary. The things that are done within their pages are horrifying, but will keep you turning page after page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    A really good book!

    I read this book in a week, it was that good! Saul has a smooth writing style that keeps you glued to the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2001

    I couldnt stop!

    When I bought this book, I wasnt sure if I was going to read it all. This was the first book by John Saul I owned. But, once I got to a part, I just couldn't put it down! I am definitly going to be reading more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    Excellent!

    I could not put it down. I will definately read John Saul again. And I recommend this book for anyone who is looking for an intense, well-written, captivating book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2