Customer Reviews for

The Right Man: An Inside Account of the Bush White House

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    The Right(wing) Man(child): A Look into the Bushed White House

    In the first insider look(many of the Bush White House 'secrets' have since been confirmed by subsequent books of journalist Bob Woodward, ex-treasury Secretary Paul O'Neill and others)on America's new KGB--king george bush--the former W speech writer depicts the Oval Office occupier as one who is impatient, quick to anger and sometimes /_sic_/ lacking in curiosity. However, perhaps with an eye to bolster book sales as well as paying homage to Dubya loyalists, David Frum tempers his critique with obligatory labels of 'decency' and 'tenacity' attributed to the Chickenhawk-in-Chief. Prior to September 11, 2001, the legitimacy of the incompetent W regime was teetering on collapse, as Mr. Bush was 'not on his way to a very successful presidency,' Frum ruefully but truthfully confesses. The conservative writer goes on to describe '43' as 'often uncurious and as a result ill-informed /_no Shock and Awe here_/' More alarmngly, Dubya was surrounded by a coterie of fellow chickenhawks, none of whom impressed the author with their intellectual prowess. Perhaps the most damning stab at the Bush is Frum's own reaction on his first meeting with the media-conferred 'Mr. Nice Guy' at the Oval Office: 'Bush was a sharp exception to the White House code of niceness. He was tart, not sweet.' And the Coward from Crawford soon revealed his true demeanor--'Bush was not the easy, genial man he was in public. Close up, one saw a man keeping a tight grip on himself.' At long last, an insider--though unwittingly--confirms what many citizens suspect, that the White House cabal of G.O.P.(Greed, Oil & Profits)frat boys is a gang of anti-democratic, vindictive and power-hungry white men.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    A Very Pleasant Suprise

    I was very suprised by this book. I read it because I had heard a recommendation, but approached it with a degree of skepticism. I didn't want to read a 280 page 'rah-rah' Bush pep rally. I was pleasantly suprised with how well Mr. Frum covered events as they happened and recorded them in a fashion that produced an easy to read manuscript. This book did a fantastic job of recounting the perspectives of one Presidential speechwriter, and how he viewed our President's handling of crises. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Right Man

    I am pleased to write I found Mr. Frum's insightful look at President G.W. Bush's first year in office refreshingly candid. Mr. Frum is quick to point out GW's shortcomings as well as his strengths and pulls no punches when discussing the qualities and weaknesses of the president's key advisors and support staff. Mr. Frum is no fawning 'Bush-ite' and 'The Right Man' is not a literary lovefest disguised as a serious journalistic endeavor. Frum's book provides a straightforward - and not always favorable - glimpse inside an administration responding to one of the most crucial periods in our nation's history. Also recommended: 'COCKPIT CONFESSIONS OF AN AIRLINE PILOT' - Stephen G. Keshner; 'The Breach' - Peter Baker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    Right Man

    George W is destined to be revisited time and again, the way Harry Truman is.... they are both independent thinkers who know right from wrong, call a spade a spade, get the info they need , then march straight ahead. Buy this book, and also buy an unadvertised gem called 'Cockpit Confessions of an Airline Pilot,' by Keshner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Right Man

    A great read for people who think George W Bush is not in the driving Seat An outstanding inside look at our President and the NSC, as they are suddenly faced with how to respond to the terror attacks on 9 11, Where to respond, how to respond, and how to determine results. Gives insight and perspective on just how complicated planning a war can be. I must heartily recommend Keshner's COCKPIT CONFESSIONS OF AN AIRLINE PILOT, which I am now re-reading in segments every day. What a fantastic life.... what a trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    Insiders View of Crisis Management

    I am pleased to write I found Mr. Frum's insightful look at President G.W. Bush's first year in office refreshingly candid. Mr. Frum is quick to point out GW's shortcomings as well as his strengths and pulls no punches when discussing the qualities and weaknesses of the president's key advisors and support staff. Mr. Frum is no fawning "Bush-ite" and "The Right Man" is not a literary lovefest disguised as a serious journalistic endeavor. Frum's book provides a straightforward - and not always favorable - glimpse inside an administration responding to one of the most crucial periods in our nation's history. If you are interested in the "whys and hows" of political decisionmaking and crisis management at the executive level, read "The Right Man."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    Excellent!

    I enjoyed this thoroughly. President Bush has the weight of the world on his shoulders and this book gives us another look at the man we elected to lead us. The political skeptics such as the reviewer who did not read this book yet panned it still cannot get it through their heads that we have a decent, intelligent, moral human being in the White House who is trying to do the right thing. It IS quite a switch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    A great read for people who think George W Bush is not in the driving Seat

    An outstanding inside look at our President and the NSC, suddenly faced with an uncertainty on how to respond to the terror attacks on 9 11, Where to respond, how to respond and how to ascertain maximum and measurable results. Gives a great perspective how complicated planning a war entails.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    Let's be honest

    OK, come on! I haven't read the title, but the fawning preliminary review can't be allowed to stand. Frum helped to author the "axis of evil" speech, which put the US in the position of a) lumping Iran in with Iraq at a time when Iranian pro-Western sentiment is at the least running at a recent high; and b) threatening North Korea with preemptive military action in a situation where we have absolutely no ability to do so (without unacceptably seeing North Korea flatten Seoul). So can we trust such an account? Obviously not -- it at best can be a biased account from an insider who puts rhetoric over reality.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    Honest Non-Political Account of the President

    Frum does an excellent job at writing as though he has NO political agenda. After endlessly listening to the Right and the Left, it's refreshing to hear an insider write so honestly. Does make me respect Bush much more than I previously did, but I have always seen him as being underrated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    GREAT INSIGHT

    Very well done and intersting to read. Good title for this book. Hope it does well, it will mean more people will understand this president.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1