Customer Reviews for

Ring

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Ring

    GREAT book. it is the second best book I have ever read. Much better than movies because it explains a lot more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    As a seventh grader, hardly any one reads any of these books, but since I am an unusual kid, that's normal for me. The book was thrilling, adventurous, and most of all, it makes you read and read until you're finally done with it. I read the book in two days, and now I'm kind of sad because I'm done with it. :'( <BR/>*Note* This book has adult situations (such as language, rape, a quick glance at horror, and discussion of body parts.) Other than that, the book is GREAT for reading. I recommend it to ANYONE who loves thrillers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good horror book

    This book is a good horror book, amazing mystery and suspense through out the entire book. Very interesting story I couldn't put the book down. I liked it and I think everyone who likes mysteries and supernatural will like this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    WOW!

    I love this book. I'm only in fifth grade! Usually kids my age dont read books like ring. I loved it! It was my favorite book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    The best book ever.

    I read this book in a very short space of time. I just couldn't put it down. I then gave to to my friend who isn't much of a reader and she finished it faster than I did! She said that it is the best book she has ever read and I definately agreed. We both also agreed that it beats the movie by a ton. I found it very fun to talk about the book with my friends. A great conversation starter!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN!!!

    THIS BOOK IS A FAST PACED HORROR/THRILLER FROM BEGINNING TO END. IT IS A LOT BETTER THAN WATCHING THE AMERICAN VERSION OF THE RING. I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN AT ALL! IT IS A QUICK READ WITH ALOT OF SUSPENSE AND WILL KEEP THE READER AT THE EDGE OF THEIR SEATS!! =]]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    An amazing Story!

    It begins with a girl at home alone and then suddenly dies at the same time of three of her friends. Than a man named Asakawa investigates it and then all heck breaks loose.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    PLEASE BRING KOJI SUZUKI'S OLDER NOVELS TO NOOK FORMAT!  I WOULD

    PLEASE BRING KOJI SUZUKI'S OLDER NOVELS TO NOOK FORMAT!  I WOULD LOVE TO READ THIS AND MANY OF HIS OLDER TITLES.  THANK YOU!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't Expect Scares

    I have very mixed feelings on this book. I really loved the writing style and the way it was narrated. However, the story left something to be desired. I expected this to be a 'horror' type novel because of the movies based off it. The novel is not scary. It is a bit creepy but that it about all. It held my attention and I enjoyed it. If you decide to read this just don't expect to get scared and don't plan on it being like any of the movies based on it. I plan on reading Suzuki's other novels just because of how much I liked his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    Hmm...

    'Ring' was disappointing to me. Partly because it didn't seem like a horror book...something along the lines of mystery I'd say. I saw 'The Ring'...and absolutely loved that movie. 'Ring' and 'The Ring' are not the same...it seems the movie was based on *some* of the events in the book. 'Ring' seemed to take forever to actually get interesting, and once it did, the interest was lost within a few paragraphs. It seemed to drag along, and got confusing because it jumped back and forth in some places. Plus some of the names, like Asakawa, made it harder to read because I was constantly trying to pronounce his name in a way that seemed correct to me. Also, some of the information in the book seemed irrelevent to the plot of the book. In my honest opinion, 'Ring' was not great, but I wanted to read it, because the movie was so interesting and different I had to know where the plot originated. And I want to eventually know how it progresses in the other books. Although I wasn't extremely impressed by 'Ring', I will be reading the others...since I am still curious as to where the plot will lead in the following books. I have heard the movies 'Ringu 2' and 'The Ring Two' are completely different. 'The Ring Two', seemed like it was a sequel driven more by the money a sequel could bring in, than by the horrifing pleasure the first movie was...and was more confusing than anything(but hey, it was nice to see Sissy Spacek...she just belongs in *actual* horror flicks though) ---So, I am going to read 'Spiral' to try and make more sense of the plot...even thought I wasn't thrilled with 'Ring', I am still interested in what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Awsome but creepy

    I read this book after seeing Ringu and The Ring. I think the book is 100 times better than both movies. It explains a lot more and makes you feel like you are in the story and not watching something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    5 STARS

    this was one of the best books i ever read this is a classic i first read the book in japanese then saw the movie it was spooky but in english it was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    The Ring

    I seen and read the ring. I thought it was the greatest book and movie.Other people I know hated it but everyone I showed it to loved it.I hope you did to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    The Ring

    This book is great so far i have read to part 3.I think the book is way way better than the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    A little confusing but still good

    'Ring' is basically this: four people die at the exact same time and some reporter dude named Asakawa uncovers a video tape that the four watched. Then the tape tells him that he will die in a week unless a charm is carried out. Now, he has seven days to research the history of this video tape and figure out what he has to do to survive. One thing that intrigued me about this book was the way things came together. (Much like the movie.) It had a very strange ending that definetely makes me want to read the next one. However, all of the hard-to-pronounce names threw me off. It's still a good book, but it confused me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    So far, So good...

    I'm really enjoying this book. I watched the original a couple of years before the American version was released. I had to put the book down on purpose. I bought it and finished half of the book the first day I had it. I didn't want to finish it after only a few days. If you are a fan of the movie, I suggest you find a Japanese film called 'Ju-On: The Grudge'. It's creepier than the Ring and will be re-made with Buffy herself, Sarah Michellle Gellar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Good Read!

    My kids rented the movie and I was intregued. I just had to get the book, because there are usually more details to be had by reading. The book has a different twist on the story line, which I found better than the movie. I would love to read some more of Suzuki's work; just wish I could read Japanese, as waiting for English translation may be a long time coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    Ring

    I found the book to be far better than the movie. The movie wasn't one of the worst to come out around that time, but I never really cared for it. I finally got around to reading the book, finished maybe 20 minutes ago. I thought it was fantastic. It had so much more detail than the movie. Made more sense. Not to mention had a better plot. Made it seem richer. I highly recommend this book. I hope they translate the rest of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    'Ring' is chillingly told Horror story

    So, you've seen RIngu or the Ring and wanna read the book? Fine go ahead, but SEE THE MOVIE FIRST.When you see the movie, youre wondering 'whats that?' and when you read the book you say 'Oh, cool!' This book is 1st in a seires featuring 'Loop' and 'Spiral'. WHEN ARE THEY COMING TO AMERICA? I NEED TO KNOW! But this book is a good horror book, mystrery, suspense and triller. If youre reading this read the book If you have read this you must complete the following if you want to live....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    Not the definite article...

    I liked this book, it's readable, fairly fast-paced and its structure is interesting with regard to the different story-telling styles of East and West. Just one criticism of most of the reviews here though... PLEASE stop talking about THE Ring. It is simply a stateside, typically unimaginative, remake of a genuine classic - Hideo Nakata's 'Ring'. No doubt about it - the Japanese are making the best thrillers at the moment while the West reflects envious echoes. Bottom line, if you haven't got the concentration to watch a film with subtitles, you've no business having an opinion. So there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2