Customer Reviews for

Ring

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Ring

    GREAT book. it is the second best book I have ever read. Much better than movies because it explains a lot more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    As a seventh grader, hardly any one reads any of these books, but since I am an unusual kid, that's normal for me. The book was thrilling, adventurous, and most of all, it makes you read and read until you're finally done with it. I read the book in two days, and now I'm kind of sad because I'm done with it. :'( <BR/>*Note* This book has adult situations (such as language, rape, a quick glance at horror, and discussion of body parts.) Other than that, the book is GREAT for reading. I recommend it to ANYONE who loves thrillers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good horror book

    This book is a good horror book, amazing mystery and suspense through out the entire book. Very interesting story I couldn't put the book down. I liked it and I think everyone who likes mysteries and supernatural will like this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    WOW!

    I love this book. I'm only in fifth grade! Usually kids my age dont read books like ring. I loved it! It was my favorite book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    The best book ever.

    I read this book in a very short space of time. I just couldn't put it down. I then gave to to my friend who isn't much of a reader and she finished it faster than I did! She said that it is the best book she has ever read and I definately agreed. We both also agreed that it beats the movie by a ton. I found it very fun to talk about the book with my friends. A great conversation starter!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN!!!

    THIS BOOK IS A FAST PACED HORROR/THRILLER FROM BEGINNING TO END. IT IS A LOT BETTER THAN WATCHING THE AMERICAN VERSION OF THE RING. I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN AT ALL! IT IS A QUICK READ WITH ALOT OF SUSPENSE AND WILL KEEP THE READER AT THE EDGE OF THEIR SEATS!! =]]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    An amazing Story!

    It begins with a girl at home alone and then suddenly dies at the same time of three of her friends. Than a man named Asakawa investigates it and then all heck breaks loose.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    PLEASE BRING KOJI SUZUKI'S OLDER NOVELS TO NOOK FORMAT!  I WOULD

    PLEASE BRING KOJI SUZUKI'S OLDER NOVELS TO NOOK FORMAT!  I WOULD LOVE TO READ THIS AND MANY OF HIS OLDER TITLES.  THANK YOU!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Awsome but creepy

    I read this book after seeing Ringu and The Ring. I think the book is 100 times better than both movies. It explains a lot more and makes you feel like you are in the story and not watching something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    5 STARS

    this was one of the best books i ever read this is a classic i first read the book in japanese then saw the movie it was spooky but in english it was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    The Ring

    I seen and read the ring. I thought it was the greatest book and movie.Other people I know hated it but everyone I showed it to loved it.I hope you did to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    The Ring

    This book is great so far i have read to part 3.I think the book is way way better than the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    So far, So good...

    I'm really enjoying this book. I watched the original a couple of years before the American version was released. I had to put the book down on purpose. I bought it and finished half of the book the first day I had it. I didn't want to finish it after only a few days. If you are a fan of the movie, I suggest you find a Japanese film called 'Ju-On: The Grudge'. It's creepier than the Ring and will be re-made with Buffy herself, Sarah Michellle Gellar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    Ring

    I found the book to be far better than the movie. The movie wasn't one of the worst to come out around that time, but I never really cared for it. I finally got around to reading the book, finished maybe 20 minutes ago. I thought it was fantastic. It had so much more detail than the movie. Made more sense. Not to mention had a better plot. Made it seem richer. I highly recommend this book. I hope they translate the rest of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    unpredictable

    wow. i don't read much but this book sucked me in from the start. i saw the movie so i expected this and that to happen but it was completely different! i reallly enjoyed this book. i may even read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Ring is a god

    Ring is one of the most intertaning and scary books I have ever read. I really do wish they would bring out all the rest in the series, there are like four i think. If im wrong ohh well. This is the only truly scary book I have read and if you say other wise your lying...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Good book but I need MORE!

    After seeing the American movie The Ring I was interested to know more about the video tape so I decided to buy the book Ring when it was released here in the states. The book was excellent but since it's a trilogy I think they need to release Spiral and Loop in an English version. How else will I be able to find out what happens??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    Fantastically Scary!

    This book was so good! I read this before seeing the movie and I loved the book more. I totally recommend this book to anyone who would like to read something scary for a change. I have read this book over and over and I still love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    Ring's A Hit!!!

    Though similar to the 'The Ring' movie (American Version--based on this novel), this novel has a different spin and answers many of the questions left unanswered in 'The Ring' movie--such as details on how the TAPE was made. This novel (a fast read) was very entertaining and left me with wanting more of the same. The sequels (Spiral, Loop, and Birthday) aren't available in English to date. I have contacted Vertical Publishing, and representives advised that they have 'options' to make these novels available in the future but no plans are 'etched in stone.' They went on to say that if plans are finalized, then each book (unknown on Birthday) will be available starting with Spiral next year and Loop in 2005. It's a long time to wait but may be worth it. I don't believe that fans of 'The Ring' movie realize that this book is even available. I just happened to see the book's title in the closing movie credits, so spread the word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    So Good It's SCARY...

    This is one of the best foreign horror novellas I've ever read in my life. This surpasses anything Suzuki has ever written before and more. This terrifying rendition of a 'could be' urban legend of a mysterious videotape whose only motive is to destroy the very person who watches it. Wonderfully written...you know what is going to happen...but then do you? This is a seriously recommended and acclaimed novel that has won many of the Eastern Hemisphere's hearts. Both spine-tingling and brain-wracking, this book is for all those people in the world...who can read. Check this out, I'm positive you'll be impressed...so good its scary...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2