Customer Reviews for

Ring

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 38 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Make a Movies with this in it.

    I haven¿t seen the movie Ringu 0: Birthday and I don¿t know if it explains how the girl is born and what made her evil. Plus it's suppose to be in Japanese, or something? But, I think they should make an ¿English¿ movie about how the man and wife wanted to have a babe, and include were they went to do it, and what ever it was they did to make the birth possible. Then make it lead up to the beginning of The Ring ¿English¿ version. After I saw the movie The Ring ¿English¿ version, I thought to myself, well that was intrusting but ¿I wanted to know the story behind the story¿. I guess people probably couldn¿t envision any more detail then what the movie provided. As an average movie watcher I'd like to see more of how the story came to be, as well as the horror involved. So, if someone would give a little insight of what the Ringu 0: Birthday movie is about I would greatly appreciated. E-mail me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    unpredictable

    wow. i don't read much but this book sucked me in from the start. i saw the movie so i expected this and that to happen but it was completely different! i reallly enjoyed this book. i may even read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Ring is a god

    Ring is one of the most intertaning and scary books I have ever read. I really do wish they would bring out all the rest in the series, there are like four i think. If im wrong ohh well. This is the only truly scary book I have read and if you say other wise your lying...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Good book but I need MORE!

    After seeing the American movie The Ring I was interested to know more about the video tape so I decided to buy the book Ring when it was released here in the states. The book was excellent but since it's a trilogy I think they need to release Spiral and Loop in an English version. How else will I be able to find out what happens??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    Fantastically Scary!

    This book was so good! I read this before seeing the movie and I loved the book more. I totally recommend this book to anyone who would like to read something scary for a change. I have read this book over and over and I still love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    I was a little dissapointed

    I was expecting so much, after seeing the movie I could not wait to read the book. Surprisingly I found the movie to be much better than the book. Don't get me wrong the book is good, but it took me 2 weeks to read it, and I usually read 2 books a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    Ring's A Hit!!!

    Though similar to the 'The Ring' movie (American Version--based on this novel), this novel has a different spin and answers many of the questions left unanswered in 'The Ring' movie--such as details on how the TAPE was made. This novel (a fast read) was very entertaining and left me with wanting more of the same. The sequels (Spiral, Loop, and Birthday) aren't available in English to date. I have contacted Vertical Publishing, and representives advised that they have 'options' to make these novels available in the future but no plans are 'etched in stone.' They went on to say that if plans are finalized, then each book (unknown on Birthday) will be available starting with Spiral next year and Loop in 2005. It's a long time to wait but may be worth it. I don't believe that fans of 'The Ring' movie realize that this book is even available. I just happened to see the book's title in the closing movie credits, so spread the word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    So Good It's SCARY...

    This is one of the best foreign horror novellas I've ever read in my life. This surpasses anything Suzuki has ever written before and more. This terrifying rendition of a 'could be' urban legend of a mysterious videotape whose only motive is to destroy the very person who watches it. Wonderfully written...you know what is going to happen...but then do you? This is a seriously recommended and acclaimed novel that has won many of the Eastern Hemisphere's hearts. Both spine-tingling and brain-wracking, this book is for all those people in the world...who can read. Check this out, I'm positive you'll be impressed...so good its scary...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2003

    Wait, there's more....

    Ring, as wonderful as it is, is just the first of a series of four. The next book is entitled Spiral, followed by Loop and then Birthday. Birthday explains everything that occurs throughout the series. I read all four in Japanese and just hope those following Ring will be translated to English so all can enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    Language

    This is not a review as I have not even read the book but was wondering if anybody knew if it could be purchased in English as well as Japanese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2003

    I can only say one word-SUSPENSE

    This is one of the best thrillers I have ever read...Kept me going from start to finish...I have never slept well since. 'A MUST FOR ALL IN FAVOR OF A GREAT MYSTERY'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 38 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2