BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Ring of Endless Light: The Austin Family Chronicles, Book 4

Average Rating 5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    Stunning

    This is not Lengle's most ambitious work; however, it is her most skilled and thoughtful novel. The author successfully sidesteps the book's silly premise with grace that we find occasionally in poetry. And indeed, the novel is interspersed with poetry and song and deals with its most studied topics: the balance of love and death. However, L'Engle is never sympathetic or condescending to her characters. Vicky is as confused a young girl as I've seen, budding as a young poet and forced to become an anchor as the people around her slowly fall to pieces. Leo, Adam, and Zachary are thoroughly human creations, and I always enjoy the musings of Grandfather Eaton.

    What I particularly enjoyed about 'A Ring of Endless Light' was the depth of storytelling. Never have I found a book so involving and influential. And rarely am I so moved. As with poetry, the book strove to connect with something so human and yet beyond that of human thought and understanding, and it triumphed.

    The plot is sparse and full of open space where the reader may stretch out his or imagination. Frankly, I was unable to foresee the end since every page kept gently tugging me away from natural plot development and into a real world. What I can tell you about L'Engle is that she loves her characters, not in the cheap melodrama of popular film, but with a harsh empathetic kind of love. I can imagine her cringing every time she puts Vicky through a painful experience and laughing when Vicky encounters joy. The point is: this story identifies with everyone. Yes, teenage girls will identify with Vicky, but L'engle offers more than romance and sparkle. She offers something very true and very close to the heart, and I hope you will find this book as enjoyable as I have.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    Shows the story of a truly good family

    This book shows how even in the messed up world some people are good. It also shows how a family deals with the good and bad well they grow stronger together. It shows how when you are between adolescence and adulthood many struggle. Most are confused at this time but they find each person finds their own ways to live life. It is one of my favorite books and I highly recommend reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    amazing

    Being a dolphin lover, i was immediatley attracted to the book. and im so glad i judged this one by its cover! vicky was such an amazing main character, and adam was to die for! i hope you give this book a achance, for it truly is amazing, and it reveals life for what it truly is a roller coaster ride!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Spectacular

    This is my favorite book ever of all time. It's poetic yet straightforward at the same time. The characters are a bit unrealistic, but pure and honest at the same time. I highly reccomend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    A powerful novel concerning life and death, becoming an adult, learning to love unconditonally, uncertainty of the future, and understanding pain. Madeleine L'Engle covers such topics with an elegance and understanding that reaches into the roots of the heart. Regardless of the obvious lie that is fiction, it is a dramatic representation of what everyone goes through in life. By the choices of characters like Vicky, Zachary, Leo, Adam, Jeb, and all the others, we can see how important our own everyday decisions are. I saw myself in each character making those decisions in my own life. A masterful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    absolutely amazing!!

    I love this book so much! It has everything a book should have. Such as Intrique, adventure, and of course, ROMANCE! Vicky was easy to relate to in many ways. Especially because i think every teenage girl falls hard for an older boy at least once! Romance, though, was not the only thing that made this great. Vicky's relationship with dolphins was so cool and just fascinating! This book was great and remains one of my favorites! You wont be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is one of my favorite books...I highly recommend it if you like stories about how we teens find our purpose in this life and finally mature...it's also a great love story :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Interesting, romance-filled, story line!

    I think that this is a great book because Vicky Austin has managed to capture the hearts of 3, very different boys. She befriends 3 dolphins and learns so much about them, that she realizes to find her mature self in them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    Poignant, Profound, and Beautiful

    This novel will bring you light. I disagree with those who say that this story is unrealistic. Yes, the interaction with the dolphins may be unrealistic. But, the deeper issues are so very real and hold so much truth, that everything else is surpassed. The novel deals with the most important questions of life: What does it mean to be alive? to feel? How do you come to know yourself? I just re-read this book as an adult and found it to be poignant and profoundly beautiful, perhaps in part because it is so intensely personal for me at this point in my life. I certainly relate to and deeply feel Vicky's pain and hurt as well as her joy. I understand feeling pulled down by the darkness and being brought to the light. In short, I find this book absolutely remarkable for the truth, beauty, love, and light that it reflects. Again, L'Engle is incredible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    book monster, a student and romantic type

    this book is outstanding. especially if you like romance, like me, Vicky finds herself in the circle of love and death. between a boy with problems, a long time friend and another guy who thinks she is way too young for him she learns to deal with both and she discovers a great gift. i love this book and it definetly made me feel fluttery and it lifted my spirits. very good and recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    This book is genious!

    Madeleine L'Engle has done it again with this amazing story. She focuses on the important issues that most authors are inclined to steer clear of. I loved her perceptions that the good in the world is the ring of endless light that surrounds the black hole of darkness and that there will always be light, hope, no matter what happens. This book was so touching because it spoke to me and comforted me. I loved this book and will always remember the counsel it has given to me throughout it's pages. Read it. You won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2005

    Read This book!!!!

    I love this book it is one of my favorite books. Madeleine L'Engle is great writer.when I read this book I felt like I was reading a story written especially for me if you don't Read this book you are depiving yourself of a new and better outlook on life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    WAY MORE THAN FIVE STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The first time I read this book was on a four-hour airplane flight, and I just couldn't put it down!When we had to get off, I kept it in hand. The begining sort-of dragged on, but once you met the three boys who change Vicky's life in this book- Zachary, Leo, and Adam- it is really interesting. It has a lot about marine biology, and the sience of life and death. DEFINETLY DESERVES THE NEWBERY!!!!! :)(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    A Read For Deeper Minds

    This book was very good, but more meant for deeper minds and minds more willing to think about the things in life people are afraid to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    N/A

    Very good book!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    This is (for me at least) a tearjerker. I am an animal lover, so

    This is (for me at least) a tearjerker. I am an animal lover, so this story really compelled me. This book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    All time best book

    L'Engle did a great job bringing the characters to life. Vicky was a wonderful character. Vicky's journey of self discovery was realistic. Her relationship with her grandfather was so real. L'Engle did a great job. It wasn't a good book, it was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Wow

    I LOVED THIS BOOK. UNDERSTATEMENT. THIS BOOK IS THE BEST BOOK OF ALL TIME? CLOSER. THIS BOOK DESERVES MORE STARS THAN THERE ARE IN THE UNIVERSE, INCLUDIN THE DEAD ONES? STILL OFF BY ALOT? THO WAS THE SWEETES BOOK, I LOVED IT? BTW, EXCUSE ALL THE CAPS, I CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHY THIS IS HAPPENING. I JUST GO IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was phenominal. The author is very good. I just wish she had included more on what happens to Zachary Gray in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    Wonderful

    During almost all of the book, it was either beautiful or amazing. When it wasn't, it was powerfully written anyways.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7