Customer Reviews for

Ring of Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Maria Book provided by the publisher for review Revi

    Reviewed by Maria
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    A rather enticing combination, this. It’s both a romantic fiction novel and a thriller. There’s a meaningful message in there too, about using the earth’s resources for the good of humanity as well as an attack on faceless corporations which use individuals as pawns in a game and cynically use the earth’s resources for profit.

    But first, the romance. Alex, our heroine, is an archetypal geek. A scientist who revels in field research. She can fly a plane and drive a jeep. She’s more at home in jeans and boots than in skirts and heels. She’s unfamiliar with cosmetics. She thinks love is not for her because she can’t ‘play the game’, so to speak. Our hero Daniel is an ex US Military man of Irish origin, whose current assignment is guarding the life of the Crown Princess of Tuwanga, a south Pacific island paradise which is home to some of the earth’s richest mineral resources. When Alex’s research station is attacked and the Princess’s life is also threatened, Alex and Daniel, who incidentally can’t abide each other, are forced to play happy families. The role of Princess Aolani’s parents comes easier to both of them than they’d thought. They’ve got to protect the young Queen-to-be and fend off threats from the oil conglomerate which wants the Princess’s island resources. Thrills and spills all the way.

    As sex scenes go, there’s just one and the language is romantic rather than erotic. No matter. The book fairly sizzles with sexual tension. Sizzles and crackles. When you put this book down, you just can’t wait to pick it up again. Heather Huffman is one heck of a skilled author to pull that one off. So if you want a read to make you sigh and keep you on the edge of your seat, pick this one. The characters are well drawn and one of the wonderful features of this particular novel is the humor, which literally bubbles over from time to time. In fact, I laughed out loud in several places.

    Verdict? Five stars. Unreservedly.

    Favorite Quote:  Rocks she understood. Science and mathematical equations were languages she spoke fluently. Love was for women who wore dresses and heels, not jeans and hiking boots. Comfortable feet were more important than candlelight dinners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Moonstone

    Sits twisting her Moonstone ring, waiting for people to show up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Wow its a very good book

    Cool book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book, as always. Love all of her books.

    Great book, as always. Love all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great Read!

    this was my favorite book of the series so far. I haved liked all the other ones esp. Suddenly a Spy but this was I couldn't put down! I love it when a bossy man meets the woman who won't take orders!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Couldn't wait to read another book in the series by Heather Huffman! I had been watching constantly for another book to come out. There was no dissappointment! Loved the book and could not put it down! Read it in less than 2 days! Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Recommended - check it out!

    Another mystery and romance combined, an easy read, hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    **DISCLAIMER** I reeeived a copy of this in exhange for a review

    **DISCLAIMER** I reeeived a copy of this in exhange for a review.

    I gave 'Ring of Fire' 4 stars, the biggest reason is that the underliying theme of 'green energy' being good is in conflict to my personal views, other than that, I loved the book. Also, I expected more 'intimacy' than the book delivered.

    This was the first novel I have read by Heather and her writing style and the way she kept the reader engaged in the story with little twists and turns kept me reading. I started to fall in love with the young Lani in this novel, her courage and the way that she went with the flow was a great addition to the novel. Daniel "Joey" and Alex make a great pair, they fight and they butt heads throughout the novel making for some great argument and political sceans.

    While reading 'Ring of Fire' I was impressed by the way that Heather kept the story line progressing and and the growth that the supporting characters as well as the main characters showed as the novel went on.

    My 12yr old son caught the name of the book and started to tell me all about 'The Ring of Fire' and asked me why I was reading a 'school book'; I had to laugh, I was waiting for him to ask about the Johnny Cash song. However, my son did sit down and read a few pages of the novel; he liked the 'explosive' beginning, so he may end up reading this in the near future.

    All in all, the novel lived up to my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have enjoyed every one of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Another Delightful Read from My Favorite Author

    Quite enjoyable from her first book 'Jailbird' thru 'Suddenly A Spy', all her books are such a
    Pleasure to Read. I am NOT a Romantic, but the way Heather writes, the words she put's
    together are simple to read, keeps me reading on to find out what the hero will run into next
    and conquer. There is romance, thrills, action, fighting, friendships abound. The heroine
    in search of growth in work and play, and always surprises herself. The seriousness of the
    story also comes with Comical relief when I least expect it-I LOVE THAT ABOUT THIS AUTHOR! Five books and each Five stars each. This review is getting too long, there is far
    too much to write, but I don't like long reviews. JUST GIVE THIS BOOK A CHANCE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Another good Heather Huffman read

    Heather has again found a way to grab my attention and keep it. I thoroughly enjoyed the plot line and the characters. I love a book with a strong female character and this one did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Great Read!

    Heather Huffman is definitely on my list of favorite authors. The perfect combination of Romance and Suspense is found in all of her books and this one doesn't disappoint in either area. I love to see the characters cross over in her books.

    I found the ending was a bit abrupt, but that could be just because I personally wasn't ready for it to end and wait for another book to come out from her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Not disappointed

    As usual, Heather Huffman has written a great book with wonderful characters! She is by far one of my favorite authors and I look forward to more of her books in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Another great Heather Huffman story!!

    Heather Huffman is easily the author I have recommended most to friends this year and she did not disappoint with her latest release! I might be a little partial just based on the fact that I am also a geologist involved with a man who goes by two first names like the heroine, Alex. Ring of Fire has just the right amount of suspense, romance and even some laughs.

    If you have read some of Heather Huffman¿s previous books you will love the tie-ins to favorite characters from her past works. Personally, I would love to hear more of Lani¿s story (maybe her parents love story?) and more about her island home of Tuwanga in a future book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2