Customer Reviews for

The Ring of Five Dragons (Pearl Saga Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Fantastic Journey Not To Be Missed!

    I have just finished this book and have ordered the two remaining books, 'The Veil of a Thousand Tears' and 'The Pearl'. Every sfi-fantasy fan should have this trilogy in their library. Great author - Great story line - Great imagination which probably surpasses J K Rowling of Harry Potter fame. The female characters exude strength and honor even though there are difficult times presented to them by males they always overcome them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    so cool

    This book is soo good you cant stop reading untill u get to the end and even then you wanna find out more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Awesome!

    I borrowed this from a friend and I am 90 pages from the end. I havent been able to put it down today! It is so captivating and amazing! I was so disapointed that I am getting close to the end, but I just now found out that it is a series!!! Now I am very excited again! I am buying both of them right now so that I have a copy of my own and read the second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    A Masterpiece of worldbuilding!

    One of the signs of a great writer is the ability to write something totally different from what you are familar with.Lustbader the man who wrote so thrilling Nicholas Linnear ninja books returns to fantasy in this lavish epic fantasy series called the Pearl. He takes us to the world of Kundalan where it's inhabitants have been enslaved for over a century by the brutal offworld empire of the V'ornn.The Kundalan people who use traditional sorcery and religion see their society undermined from within by evil forces who seek to stop their use of magic.The only hope they have is prophecy of a messiah, The Dar Sala-at who is the only person who can wield the magic powerful enough to save their world! I was totally immersed in this epic saga! Lustbader's world-building skills are tremendous as he takes you step by step into his wondrous world in a story that is equal parts Dune and Wheel of Time.You will watch as scenes of machivellian intrigues among the ruling V'ornn and religious Kundalann people as betrayal and treachery are the norms of this war-torn planet.And you will be shocked by the sinister powers of Gyrgon, the mysterious rulers of the V'ornn. The characters come alive on through the pages of the epic saga:the twin sisters, Giyan and Batta who's destinies with the Dar Sala-at will put them at odds with each other.Eleusis Ashera, the kind-hearted V'ornn regent who's forward thinking policies for the planet seals his doom.The evil Wennn Stogggul, Ashera's most hated rival on the planet.and last but not least, Annon Ashera, Eleusis son, who's transformation will decide the fate of this world!So pick up this book and be prepare to enter a realm of adventure, romance and intrigue that you will never forget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    GREAT!

    This book was well written with good descriptions. The plot is thick and suspenseful, i cannot wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Ring of Five Dragons

    Over a century ago, the vicious V¿ornn conquered the peaceful Kundala as the military superiority and the amoral ability to kill overwhelmed the more spiritual people. Brutally enslaved by their conquerors, the Kundala cannot understand why the Goddess Miina abandoned them. The younger Kundala are leaving the ancient beliefs for a new religion as the V¿ornn force their culture on the losers with little counter absorption. <P> Unlike their drones, the V¿ornn leadership covet whatever is hidden inside the Kundalan Storehouse where they expect all sorts of sorcery secrets to be found, including eternal life. However they need to find the RING OF FIVE DRAGONS to open the door to the mystical storehouse. If they succeed, will the V¿ornn obtain their desires, will they set in motion a doomsday scenario destroying everyone, or will they inadvertently begin the fulfilling of a prophecy that forecasts a Kundalan freedom fighter leading a resistance? <P> When the RING OF FIVE DRAGONS concentrates on the social interactions and upheavals between the two distinct societies, the novel is a superior fantasy tale. That part of the story line is incredibly insightful as it feels like the German blitzkrieg of Europe, especially when the bellicose V¿ornn impact the culture of the pastoral Kundalan. When the story line returns to traditional epic fantasy, it retains its high level of quality and remains a fun to read adventure, but the plot is not any different from some of the other well-written genre tales. Eric Van Lustbader has written a fabulous book that fantasy readers will find entertaining and insightful, but could have been a cultural milestone if it stayed the interrelationship course. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Great Start to an Epic Fantasy Series

    Just over one hundred years ago, the V'ronn invaded the planet Kundala. They immediately gained control of the planet through their advanced technology and the vicious oppression of the citizens of Kundala. The people of Kundala are losing faith with their goddess Miina: not understanding why their goddess disappeared when the V'ronn arrived and why she allows the savage invaders to terrorize and kill them. As evil forces begin to appear behide the scenes of the Kundala abbeys, a new religion appears, one that denies the very existence of sorcery. The people of Kundala have not only lost their freedom to the V'ronn's, they have also lost their spirituality. The cruel treatment, torture and murdering of captured Kundalans has a secret purpose. The leaders of the V'ronn- the technomage caste of Gyrgon- are searching for the RING OF FIVE DRAGONS. This ring is believed to be the key that will open the fabled door of the Storehouse and, quite possibly, the key to understanding Kundalan sorcery. When the Ring is discovered, the Gyrgons attempt to unlock the door with disastrous results. Not only do they fail, the attempt enables a destruction device on a countdown to annihilation that will destroy the planet, the Kundalans and the V'ronns. The Dar Sala-at, whom it is written will come and lead the people to freedom, is the only person who can stop the destruction. But the Dar Sala-at is only a prophecy, right? The race begins to locate the Dar Sala-at and save Kundala. RING OF FIVE DRAGONS is THE best book I've read this year. It is the first novel in an epic fantasy series called THE PEARL. The author, Eric Van Lustbader, has entertained millions around the world with his prior adventure and action stories, such as Ninja and French Kiss. Now he proves that he can write topnotch fantasy as well. There are several storylines in RING OF FIVE DRAGONS, yet he does a wonderful job of maintaining tense scenes while furthering the plot on several levels. Conflict between the V'ronn and the Kundalans is a given, but he shows the conflict and betrayals within the same species as well. All of the characters are described with such vivid words that they seem to leap out of the book and into the readers imagination. Their struggles, loves and conflicts are brought out clearly and this results in the reader caring about what happens to each character, even the V'ronn. Van Lustbader shows that even the enemy can have a good side with the example of a Gyrgon who rebels against his caste members when he knows they are wrong. The plot, as said previously, works on several levels and has as many twists and turns as a rollercoaster and will keep the reader breathless as each scene flows into the next. The tension tightens with each chapter, the betrayals and the unexpected friendships that are formed and the characters themselves will keep the reader turning pages long into the night. This is a book that is very hard to stop reading once started and even when I did stop, I found myself thinking of the story and wondering what would happen next. It isn't often that an established author in one genre can turn around and write a winner in another, but Mr Van Lustbander does precisely this. He has written such a fascinating novel that I truly hated to see it end. I can't wait for the next installment of THE PEARL and I know that I'll be rereading this one often until the next one comes out. I very highly recommend that you treat yourself to THE RING OF FIVE DRAGONS, settle back and be entertained by a master!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1