Customer Reviews for

The Ring of Solomon (Bartimaeus Series #4)

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    I love the Bartimaeus Books, can't wait for the next one.

    I found the Bartimaeus books series by accident while looking for something else and was hooked as soon as I read the sample. The main character is funny, sarcastic and practical all at the same time. If you can't take a joke or don't have a sense of humor don't read this book. I also strongly recommend the three other books in the series, I loved them all and hope there will be a "next one" soon.

    I will also be looking for other things written by Jonathan Stroud, I like his witty style of writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bartimaeus Rules!

    The book started out slow and I was worried that I would not like it.The new characters felt flat and one dimensional. But as the book progressed I quickly grew to love it! Bartimaeus is hands down one of the sweetest characters. His wit is hilarious and makes you laugh out loud as you read. There is a deep message in the book about slavery, power and the pain of losing free will. In the end the human character Asmira has to confront the end of all her beliefs and change or die. I hope the author keeps writing more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Awsome

    Have to read. Total greatness with lots of detail. Bartimeus at his best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Awesome Gripping Book with Hero taking the day

    This book by Stroud is one of his best yet. Set in 950 B.C. Bartimaeus it up to one of his most daunting tasks yet, surviving the life of magicians of Israel. When he makes an uh oh and must be punished for it. He is put under the dominion of Khaba the Cruel, one of Solomon's most powerful magicians. But, all is not as it seems. Solomon's magicians are using his fear for their own good. But, one queen is tired of it. She sends an assassin in an attempt to end Solomon's rule. This book is great from beginning to end and was very refreshing to be back with Bartimaeus again. I cannot wait for him to make another one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Recommend

    This series is very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Wonderful continuation of the Bartimaeus trilogy. Lots of action, surprises, and as usual, Bartimaeus' tricks, clever disguises, and how he always manages to get out of impossible situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    AWESOME!!!

    I found these by acsedent and was imiditly hookrd!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    An awesome series

    The creator of the Bartimaeus trilogy has done it again, delivering a hilarious and well-written addition to the series that started it all. If you read and enjoyed the last three books, you will like this one. If you have yet to read the Bartimaeus books, this is a perfect jumping-on point. Any fantasy fan will enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Free

    Get free books

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    This is the prequel to the Bartimaeus trilogy (which I loved). It could function as a stand-alone book, though I highly recommend the original trilogy too. Bartimaeus is a begrudgingly good-hearted, wise-cracking djinni who is always saving the world from careless humans and their naughty demons. In The Ring of Solomon, Bartimaeus is summoned to serve for an evil wizard under the rule of the powerful King Solomon of Israel. While serving, he encounters a young assassin who is hell-bent on killing Solomon and stealing his powerful ring (in service of her country Sheba). Delightful confusion ensues. These books are funny, witty, cute, and adventurous. I love Bartimaeus’ silly footnotes where he inserts amusing “historical” points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Never Underestimate An Author's Ability to Continue What Might Have Been The End Of A Wonderful Series!

    Encore, encore! Stroud continues his tale of the witty, quick-talking djinni, Bartimaeus in a spell-binding novel. The Ring of Solomon is yet another my-hands-seem-to-have-frozen-to-this-book masterpiece that makes its predecessors proud. In a brilliant mixture of ancient history and fiction, Bartimaeus must once again, save the usually-less-intelligent-than-he from a powerful adversary who will stop at nothing to acquire King Solomon of Israel's magic ring.

    Stroud's work is once again, brilliantly inspired, well-written, and almost without a fault. It takes superb writing talent to portray several different perspectives from various minds as well as Stroud does. Yet another novel that looks down from up high as all those who attempt to match it, and can only bite the dust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    The Ring of Solomon by Jonathan Stroud
    398 pages
    This is a book one should read if they like reading about djinn, warlocks,
    action, and friendship. It even has a bit of history throughout it. Also, even
    though this is the prologue, it is the fourth Bartimaeus book to come out, and
    so if one has read and enjoyed the other three, this one will also be highly
    enjoyed. There are some advanced words or ideas, but the read is pretty simple.
    However, although it is pretty easy to read, it is a fun, enticing read, and is
    highly recommended.
    Some things the author did throughout the book that I enjoyed were switching the
    first person point of view around, as he did with the other books in the series.
    You get to know great details about the main character when it is first person,
    so having the point of view change throughout gave even more detail. Stroud also
    included footnotes for even more detail, and for background information that the
    reader most of the time won't know.
    I feel that the book is very well written, and that nothing detracted from the
    books contents.
    Overall, I really enjoyed this book. This book is another example of why the
    Bartimaeus series is my favorite series. It has a great plot, great characters,
    great detail, great points of view, and is, to put it simply, an outstanding
    book.
    I think this book is appropriate for anyone about 12 or older. I think the
    reader would appreciate the book more at a higher age, say 16 or older, but it
    would still be enjoyed by the younger readers.
    Some information I feel may be of value about this book is that it's a prologue.
    However, if you have read the other books already, or even just one or two, you
    can still read this book. It doesn't give the origin of Bartimaeus, but a past
    plot of his life, and is readable no matter how far in the trilogy you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Saw it-grabbed it-read it

    Although the connection between this book and the earlier series starring Nathaniel is virtually nill, this book is perfectly capable of standing on its own as a novel, and newcomers to Stroud's work will follow the tale and characters with ease. This book also stars a young magician who overcomes his/her preconceptions of "demons". The long-term message of Stroud's books remain the same in this message, and I would not be surprised if it is incorporated in any following books of Stroud's in this fantasy land. Honestly, I do not know if another book about this is forthcoming, but nobody expected The Ring of Solomon, either, so perhaps it is possible. No doubt Bartimaeous will play a key roll in it as well, though it would be interesting to see a book set in this world with out Bartimaeous in it- although perhaps that would ruin the entire effect. Bartimaeous is most probably the glue that holds these books together, and I would be loathe to read one with out him- though the mentions of human consumption did make me queasy.
    All in all, and excellent tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great read!

    Called a Bartimaeus Novel, Stroud's latest opens in a time and place (950 BCE Jerusalem) so far removed from the nineteenth-century British setting of the self-contained Bartimaeus trilogy that even the word prequel overstates the connection. Still, one unforgettable character from the trilogy energizes the current book as well. After outwitting and slaying his master in the opening chapters here, the mouthy, sardonic djinni named Bartimaeus is summoned to the service of yet another magician from King Solomon's court. Meanwhile, across the desert in Sheba, a young royal guard called Asmira embarks on a dangerous quest, hoping to save the queen and their land by stealing King Solomon's ring. Although Stroud's writing is never less than inventive and entertaining, the first 100-page section feels like a prelude to the rest of the novel, which takes off when idealistic Asmira encounters jaded Bartimaeus and they begin to make their way toward Solomon and his ring of power. The climactic scenes hold surprises for the reader as well as the characters. As in the trilogy, some chapters are related in third person, while others are narrated by Bartimaeus, and the latter chapters often include informative and amusing footnotes in his distinctive voice. A riveting adventure for Bartimaeus fans, old and new.<br/><br/>A great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!!

    I read the other books of the Bartimaeus Trilogy about a year ago, and was surprised and pleased to find this new installment. For fans of the trilogy it does not disappoint, but this book is also a wonderful stand alone for people who are new to the series.

    This book is set before the Bartimaeus trilogy, and Bartimaeus himself is the only recurring character. His character is true to form and wildly entertaining throughout the entire adventure. Set in the ancient Middle East, this book features a typical fast-paced adventure with an undertone of subterfuge. People aren't what they seem and the main characters of Solomon and Asmira develop as the story goes on. You'll laugh (really), cry (not really), and even buy the t-shirt (not available).

    I recommend this book for Bartimaeus fans and to anyone else that appreciates a teen book not centered around romance or the run-of-mill mythical creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Great Read for Fans of the Trilogy!

    When I picked up this book, I wasn't expecting much. Sure Bartimaeus was in it, but some of the other characters I had come to love were not going to be in it. Still, the book was a pleaser, I read it all in one sitting, and was laughing out loud at all of the comments from Bartimaeus that had made me come to love the books in the first place. This book is a must read for the fans of the original Bartimaeus Trilogy, it will not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was AWESOME.

    Okay, so I was a little worried when I learned this book was a prequel (I mean, who wasn't hoping for another book after Ptolemy's Gate?) and I thought that it might not measure up to the rest of the trilogy. But boy was I wrong. The Ring of Solomon was GREAT! I loved the characters, the writing was superb, and I couldn't put it down. Only places that it loses points were some parts were a tad predictable, and one of the other main characters was a little dull to read after reading in Bartimaues' point of view (but that was a problem in all the books). These problems were completely overruled by the parts that were totally unpredictable and fun to read, and it was a worthy addition to the rest of the amazing trilogy. It deserves WAAAAAAAY more than five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    Highly recommend the series!

    This series is GREAT! It's a page turner, and once you pick it up, you can't put it down. I eagerly anticipate "The Ring Of Solomon" and I hope to get it the day it comes out! Excellent work, Jonathan Stroud!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book series by jonathan stroud!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2