Customer Reviews for

Ripper

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great mystery!

    I am not at all in mysteries thrillers. But this book took me to a whole other reading level that I really enjoyed!!

    What got me hooked on this book? Well the unique plot. I love stories about Jack the Ripper. To read a book based on a kid searching for clues to the killer is super cool! It's makes me feel all Nancy Drew again. With this book I just wanted to get underneath the covers of by bed with a flashlight, dash into the past and follow the clues of Carver Young. The plot, hand downs AWESOME!

    The mystery of the book is super cool. I love it when an author can take me on an adventure of searching, questioning, accusing, etc. It's give me great joy to be in the loop with the characters going along with them. It's so much fun!

    There was a bit of a crush interest. No love, no hardcore flirting just pure admiration. And that folks was enough to make me smile. I loved the loyalty they had to each other and the friendship they have is strong.

    The ENDING! I mean wow! Really just WOW! I did not see that! Well done Mr. Petrucha. You certainly knock me off my feet with such a fantastic ending! I have no idea. The ending is a shocker. I can tell you that much.

    Ripper is an engrossing thriller that leaves you chilled to the bone. The conspiracy driven-drama dives the reader deeper into a world of adventure that you never want to leave. Exhilarating and exciting, Ripper is a great read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    I don't read very many mysteries but Ripper was wonderful! This

    I don't read very many mysteries but Ripper was wonderful! This could be the next Sherlock Holmes if he keeps writing. The story takes so many twists that just when you think you have it all figured out, the most crazy twist ever happens and sends you reeling! It was so amazing and I couldn't put it down. I really hope he writes more. I also loved the historical element. That made it seem real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    "Ripper" by Stephan Petrucha is a fantastic novel that

    "Ripper" by Stephan Petrucha is a fantastic novel that is filled with intense mystery and suspense but is also partly historical fiction.  The entire book is full of a suspenseful tone that keeps readers on their toes and they will never know what will happen next.  Carver Young is the protagonist in this novel and he hunts down Jack the Ripper the entire book.  You never really know when the book will have a sudden plot twist so the mood is very spooky. Carver has only a few friends.  His friends from the orphanage are Delia and Finn.  His mentor is Mr. Hawking and his “boss” is Mr. Tudd.  Also, Teddy Roosevelt and his daughter Alice are big characters in this novel.  I suggest that anyone over the age of 12 to read this book.  It is a family book and is one of my favorite books that I have ever had to read for school.  It has plenty of action packed into the novel as well as mystery solving which is why I enjoyed the novel so much.  This book as a whole can teach many life lessons and I definitely would agree that this book needs to be read by everyone who hasn’t read it already.  It has a storyline that will amaze anyone. To be more specific, I especially like the final twists that Petrucha put in the end of the novel, as well as the slight love that is seen between Delia and Carver.  If I were to write my own novel I would try to incorporate Petrucha’s style of writing because he did such a great job with this book that I don’t think there is anything that should be changed or improved about it.   I believe that the best time to read it is when you are a teenager like me, which is the time that most people are into mystery books like the “Ripper”.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    Ripper by Stefan Petrucha combines historical fiction with susp

    Ripper by Stefan Petrucha combines historical fiction with suspense, in a thrilling mystery story.  Petrucha creates an ominous, suspenseful tone, as the reader experiences the exciting hunt for the killer from the third person point of view.  The mood is very on edge, as the story can take a twist at any moment.  The main characters are Carver Young, an orphan in search of his father, his mentor, Mr. Hawking, and his childhood friends, Delia and Finn.  The book is intended for a young adult audience or anyone who is looking for a thrilling mystery.  The novel also provides historical facts on the way that make it educational.  
    I really enjoyed reading this book.  I was assigned it for school, which usually is not a good sign, but this book in particular was exciting and kept me wanting to read more.  I think the author did a wonderful job of keeping the reader intrigued, which was the purpose of the novel.  I think he managed to maintain interest with twists, but at the same time, not go overboard.    Specifically, I liked how things frequently tied together.  I do not enjoy it when books contain a lot of "fluff" and provide irrelevant information.  The only thing that I did not enjoy was that the second book has yet to be released!  I cannot wait!  The author did a magnificent job of creating a perfect mystery world while still being realistic.  The novel had a great balance of characters, plot, and suspense.  I think that the story might have been improved slightly if it took a look at the lives of some of the other characters.  I would have liked to have known what was going through the minds of Delia and Finn while Carver was on his detective journey, because I know it would really make me think.


    Devin McCormick 6th Period

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, is a historical fiction, with a Sher

    Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, is a historical fiction, with a Sherlock Holmes-esque tone. There is a new mystery and twist around every corner that the reader gets to encounter from the third person. The book has a gloomy mood to it, but that didn't take away from the excitement!
    Carver Young, the main character, is a perfect character for the intended audience (teenagers/young adults) to relate with. He doesn't know who he is or where he belongs in society. He's a small kid in a big city. He only has a few people he can trust, and of course, he has a crush on the pretty girl, Delia. Although it may seem like he is just an average ordinary orphan, he actually has the mind of a detective. He also has a parent with a very shady and complicated past.
    I loved the book because personally, mysteries intrigue me. Trying to solve the mystery before the characters do brings a whole new depth to reading. Petrucha executed this well, by not leaving any boring falling action in the book where the readers could lose interest, but was also not so jam-packed with information as to where the reader couldn't take it all in. The main focus of the book was to catch the killer and that is definitely something I agree with, because I love an edgy thrill as well as a justified ending. 
    There wasn't much wrong with Petrucha's novel, however, I feel it would go a long way for the book if we got to find out what happened to Hawking after the train incident. This way, the reader's hearts would be put at ease as well as Carver's. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Ripper would fit into an action mystery genre. The tone of rippe

    Ripper would fit into an action mystery genre. The tone of ripper is conversational and action packed. The point of view in ripper is of the main character Carver Young, a young in training detective trying to solve the mystery of his father. The mood of this book is action packed, suspenseful, and mysterical. The main characters of Ripper are Carver, Delia, Finn, and Albert Hawking. The intended audience of ripper is from teenager and up. The wording is not too complex for a young teen to understand and is still entertaining from the teenage level and up. I absolutely loved this book! Twists at nearly every turn and never a dull moment is what intrigued my interest in this book. I did agree with the main theme in the book, being that people do certain and sometimes extreme things for the ones they love. I agreed with this because it all made sense to me of why the ripper did what he did for Carver and what drew him to his hobby. I specifically liked the crazy twist at the end of the book, the first person point of view that was from a young teen boy, and the detailed description of action scenes. The only thing I remotely disliked about the book is the slow start at the beginning, but what book doesn't have that? Stefan Petrucha did a fantastic job in Ripper! He kept my attention virtually the whole time and accurately portrayed late nineteenth and early twentieth century New York City. The only things that could be improved is the confusing terms that are used in describing machines and such things. This change would help in giving the reader some visual imagery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    The genre of The Ripper is historical fiction, which makes readi

    The genre of The Ripper is historical fiction, which makes reading it even more interesting because a lot of the content happens to be or is based on fact. I would say that the tone of the story is threatening at some points, and mysterious at others. The point-of-view of the story is third-person-omniscient, which means that the narrator of the story is all-knowing, and it the book is not from a character’s perspective. The mood is definitely suspense mixed with mystery. Throughout The Ripper, there are many plot twists and moments when Carver receives shocking news, so it is suspense. Also, the book leaves you with a lot of questions, so I would consider it to be mystery. The intended audience for the book is preteen to young adult, because everything that happens or that the author talks about is relatively easy to understand. I believe the main purpose of this book was to provide entertainment to anyone who reads it, which it surely accomplished. This book exceeded my expectations.
    The main characters in the novel are Carver Young, a 14-year-old orphan in search of his father, Mr. Hawking, sort of Carver’s teacher in detective work, Delia, Carver’s friend from the orphanage and possibly his love interest, and Finn, Carver’s arch-enemy-turned-friend.  
    I didn’t just like this book… I loved it! This book was amazing. It wasn’t a hard book to read at all, everything was understandable and I learned a few new things along the way. I love how Stefan Petrucha combined fiction with fact. This is now one of my all-time favorite historical fiction books. I also love a book with a good plot twist, and this book had a few! The only thing I disliked about this book was that it ended! Honestly, I thoroughly enjoyed it and I would definitely read anything by Stefan Petrucha after reading The Ripper. I specifically liked the major plot twist at the end; it made the book so much greater (even though it made me hate Petrucha for a second, it kind of ruined me). I actually kept saying the whole time I read it “if Hawking is the killer or is somehow in cahoots with him, I’m going to be so angry!”…and that’s exactly what happened. “Always trust your gut”, as they say. The best part was the history involved with the story. As I said before, Stefan Petrucha did a fantastic job at mixing fact with fiction to make an incredible story. 
    I cannot see it being possible to improve the book any further. I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of it, even though it was below my reading level. Nothing was mundane or repetitive, he didn’t use kindergarten sentences. It was perfect. I’m super stoked to hear that there’s a sequel coming out! I will surely be reading ASAP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    This is an amazing work of historical fiction/mystery thriller.

    This is an amazing work of historical fiction/mystery thriller. It has a very good plot and a serious tone that keeps you reading. The first person point of view is that of the books main protagonist, Carver Young. Carver is an orphan from Ellis Island who is adopted by Mr. Albert Hawking, a veteran of the Pinkerton detective agency. His friend from the orphanage, Delia Ribe, and his arch nemesis turned friend, Finn Echols, also appear as supporting characters in the book. And of course, the main Protagonist, Jack the Ripper. The book is really intended for people twelve and up since there are some very mild descriptions of murder that some readers might take offense to. I really enjoyed this book, partly because of my interest in Jack the Ripper and other serial killers, and partly because of the wonderful job the author does of keeping the mystery aspect. There are some obvious hints and clues along the way, especially if you read it twice. I agree with the main purpose of the book, which is to entertain, while also inform, readers about the history of Saucy Jack and what it may have been like if he showed up her in the states a few years later. Stefan Petrucha did a wonderful job of intertwining real history into his fictional scenario. The clues he puts into his novel are also well done, if a bit obvious. He really could have made the clues more obscure for the readers, they were fairly easy to figure out, especially once you already have an idea of who the killer is. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    ¿Ripper¿ by Stefan Petrucha is classified as a fictional histori

    “Ripper” by Stefan Petrucha is classified as a fictional historical thriller that transports history fanatics or anyone who wants a good read to New York City during the 1890s.The book is told through the point of view of third person limited omniscient. As soon as the story begins readers are pulled into the mysterious, somber tone of the story. This sets up the mood for the rest of the story that leads readers to feel the suspense and gloom that the main character, Carver Young, feels as he edges closer to the identity of his father who is a notorious serial killer. To help Carver find his father is the ex-detective Albert Hawking who “adopted” him in order to locate Carver’s father. Septimus Tudd who is the leader of the New Pinkerton Agency is watching Carver’s every move, and as time is winding down till the next murder Carver’s friends Delia and Finn try to help him find his father in order to keep him from killing again. In general I enjoyed this book because it was interesting and suspenseful. Petrucha not only created a great mystery twisted with historical information in it but also incorporated moral lessons. I agree with the moral lessons that are in the book, including the one where even though your parents might do something wrong does not necessarily mean you are destined to follow in their footsteps. Just because Carver’s father met his abyss, does not mean that if Carver reaches his that he will become a killer. What I liked in the book was the suspense of finding the killer and to see who he is. Further, the plot twists were exciting, and to discover that Hawking was the killer and Carver’s father all along was unexpected! The only thing that I did not like was the ending of the story because it seemed too simple. Petrucha could have improved this by not ending the story with the train explosion, but instead could have made it to where Carver was able to find his mother. This path could have led readers to the mystery surrounding how Carver’s mother could still be alive. Overall the author did a great job in creating a story that is entertaining and depicts how New York City was during that time period.
    Caitlyn Waters, 1st Period, Mrs. Odom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    ¿Ripper¿, written by Stefan Petrucha, is novel written in the st

    “Ripper”, written by Stefan Petrucha, is novel written in the style of historical fiction, informing readers on true facts of history, while still maintaining a suspenseful, fictional storyline. The suspenseful tone of this novel and its mysterious mood keep readers wanting more and will even have a reader thinking like a detective themselves. Petrucha writes this novel from a 3rd person omniscient point of view. This is evident because the narrator know all that Carver Young, the major main character of the novel, is thinking and doing at all times. Carver is a young orphan boy who gets “adopted” and taken under the wing of another main character, Albert Hawking. Carver is trained by Hawking to become a detective to find his family, but things take a turn for the worst when Carver find that his true father may be the notorious serial killer Jack the Ripper. Carver is joined on his journey to find his father’s true identity by two of his orphan friends, Delia Stephens and Finn Walker. This novel has no clear indication of intended audience and I personally believe people of all ages would enjoy this book. I enjoyed “Ripper” thoroughly and even though there is a big reveal at the end, I may even read it again, because it is so well written. Specifically, I enjoy the way Petrucha incorporates a true event including the infamous Jack the Ripper into the novel while still giving it enough of a fiction quality to where it is not just a boring history lesson, but a thriller. I believe this novel was written exceptionally well and I would whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone looking for a good read. If there is one thing I would change, and this just being picky, it would be answering some of the open ended questions readers may have towards the end of the novel, but overall, a great book and great work by Stephan Petrucha.
    Review By: Tyler Ames

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, is an exciting, mysterious novel tha

    Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, is an exciting, mysterious novel that will be sure to engage any reader. What sets this book apart is that it incorporates pieces of different genres. It is a historical fiction, mystery, and thriller novel. The book is centered around fourteen year old Carver young who is introduced as an orphan dreaming of becoming a detective one day. Living at Ellis Orphanage with his friend Delia and being bullied by Finn is getting old for poor Carver. When Carver is adopted by Hawking, an undercover detective, his life changes drastically. On an adventure to discover and find his father and a killer, this book has never-ending plot twists that will blow your mind. The story has a third person omniscient point of view and a mysterious and suspenseful tone. The ability to connect with more than one character combined with the twists and turns throughout the book leave my mood changing after every chapter. The mood ranges from dark and mysterious to hopeful, sad, and thrilling.  Carver's mission to find his father makes this book appealing to all ages. Anyone could pick up this book and love it. Personally, I enjoyed flipping every page and could not put the book down! I loved the excitement that I got when I thought I had the whole book figured out and I loved even more being completely shocked with the outcome. I loved the characters and felt like I could connect with more than one, unlike most books. Petrucha did an incredible job incorporating 1890’s New York City into the Jack the Ripper story. The descriptions of the people and the city made me feel like I was there with Carver. There are several messages contained in this amazing novel. The main message that I got out of reading and agreed with was that you can choose your own path. You do not have to follow your parents footsteps; you can have your own story.  In regards to how Petrucha could have improved the novel, I do not have much to say.  While, the majority of the book was intriguing and suspenseful, there were those very small parts that lost my interest. However, as soon as I started to get bored, Petrucha threw in another twist to keep me alert. Overall, I am very glad I read this book and I would recommend it to anyone. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Stephan Petrucha¿s ¿Ripper¿, is a historical fiction and thrille

    Stephan Petrucha’s “Ripper”, is a historical fiction and thriller novel set during the late 19th century in New York City. “Ripper” was written in a third person point of view and follows the life of a young orphan named Carver Young, a boy who does not even know his real last name. With a love for mystery and detective work, Carver gets a once in a life time opportunity to work for the New Pinkerton Agency when he is adopted by the New Pinkerton’s greatest agent Albert Hawking. With the vague guidance of Hawking, the best detective equipment available at the Pinkerton’s, and the help from his friends Delia and Finn, Carver attempts to solve the biggest mystery of his life… Who is his father? At the same time, there have been mysterious killings going on that were similar to no other than the Whitechapel murderer himself. For Carver, this really means nothing to him until he realizes that this man might be his father. From that point on, the book is filled with suspense as the reader tries to figure out if Killer may in fact be his father. While this books is filled with many twists and turns, the biggest of them all is when the reader finds out who the Killer is and who Carver’s father is. While I do not enjoy reading, I found myself becoming fully immersed in the book and found myself reading more and more every day. I even found myself learning while I read because Petrucha was able to interweave historical people and information into the book such as Teddy Roosevelt and a woman from the Midnight Band of Mercy. “Ripper” is intended for teenagers, history enthusiasts, and anyone who is looking for something good to read. The only problem that I had with the book was when I read the last page and realized I was done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, is a work of historical fiction and

    Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, is a work of historical fiction and mystery thriller. It takes place in late 19th century New York, where Carver Young, an orphan found abandoned at Ellis Orphanage with nothing but his own name discovers a forgotten letter from his unknown father. However, as he is forced to leave the orphanage due to his being fourteen years old and overage, he is adopted by a retired Pinkerton agent by the name of Hawking, who saw potential in Carver to become a great detective. At the same time, a string of brutal murders are occurring, and the police commissioner, Teddy Roosevelt, is to put his investigative skills to the test in order to stop the killer. As Carver then begins his apprenticeship, his first assignment is to find his own father, aided by his former orphanage mates Delia and Finn. With their help, he grows closer and closer to finding his father, but discovers that the seemingly unrelated and quickly escalating murder cases are quite relevant to his search. Now forced to track down a killer as the son of a killer, the three come frighteningly close to discovering the truth, growing closer to perhaps finding the infamous Jack the Ripper himself.

    I quite enjoyed reading the suspenseful and mysterious story which, through a third person, followed a true detective as he underwent a case that mattered the most to him. The book’s historical accuracy was also very astounding, making perfect use of the myriad of seemingly minor historical details that served to make the plot even richer. The appearance of rather high-tech gadgets and inventions for the time period and their roles in the book was also enjoyable. However, the true cherry on top was the ending. Stefan Petrucha did a truly outstanding job in creating a plot twist that no one could have seen coming, but having read it, suddenly fit so well in the plot that the reader would hit himself in the head for not having seen it coming. However, an additional detail I might include is further insight into the future plans for Carver, rather than the simple “wait and see” approach that the characters proposed. Overall, the book was a highly satisfying read, filled with suspense that leaves the reader guessing and an ending to tie it all together that would appeal to any history, crime novel, or mystery lover.

    -David S. | 6th Period | Ms. Odom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Ripper, written by Stefan Petrucha, is a historical fiction nove

    Ripper, written by Stefan Petrucha, is a historical fiction novel that takes place around the time of the Progressive Era in history.  The story is entangled around the protagonist Carver Young who is a fourteen year old boy who was abandoned around Ellis Orphanage with no real family to turn to.  Carver has an obsession with solving mysteries and being a detective which causes Carver to idolize Theodore Roosevelt.  On adoption day, Carver hopes that he will be adopted by Theodore Roosevelt but his hopes soon come crashing down as he gets taken by Albert Hawking, an elderly detective that has a different outlook on life than the average human.  The setting of this novel is in New York City which is perfect for a detective due to the crime rate by Jack the Ripper.
    This is one of the most well constructed novels I have ever read because the novel keeps one’s interest from the open of the book to the close of the book.  Ripper appeals to anyone who enjoys a novel with a lot of suspense and controversy.  Reading the novel causes one to form an opinion of whom the killer really is; however, the novel has soo many twists and turns until one can never really know him until the finish.  The author did an excellent job of adding a twist to the end of the novel because the author makes one feel like Carver’s father is the real killer but the author is only playing on one’s intelligence.  The real killer turns out to be Albert Hawking, the mentor of Carver Young.  There is really not much more to ask for from this novel, the details, for the most part, are historically accurate and the novel keeps the readers attention.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    Amazing book! (MINOR SPOILERS)  This book falls into the myster

    Amazing book! (MINOR SPOILERS) 

    This book falls into the mystery and thriller genre. The tone varies throughout the book, being uplifting and hopeful in one chapter and pessimistic and desperate in the next. The point of view is from Carver, a 14 year old teenage boy living in Ellis Orphanage. The mood of the book, much like the tone, varies. It changes from cautious to frightening and suspenseful. The main characters are Carver, Albert Hawking, Septimus Tudd, Delia, Finn, and the killer himself. Hawking is Carver’s mentor and helps him learn the ways of a detective. Tudd is Hawking’s partner. Delia and Finn are Carver’s friends at Ellis. There are other lesser characters that are important to the plot, such as the Echols family or the Ribes family.  
    This book is mainly intended to be read by young adolescents. Although the book is not gruesome, it does have violence. Being that the book is associated with Jack the Ripper, the violence ties the whole theme of the book together. I loved this book. Normally, I do not read mystery or thriller books. Petrucha, though, did an amazing job with delivering this book. He leads you to believe that you have figured things out just to add in another detail and leave you lost again. The book is cleverly written and keeps you guessing until the end. It has a very well thought out plot and I enjoyed it from cover to cover. 
    The main purpose of the book is to keep the audience guessing until the end. I like this purpose because it guarantees that the book’s action will not stop for a moment. Specifically to the book, I like Carver’s ability of solving puzzles and codes. Many do not naturally have a gift like his. I also liked the budding romance between Carver and Delia. They are both young so their encounters are shy and cautious and gentle. There was nothing I disliked about the book. Petrucha did a stupendous job with developing the characters, setting up a theme, and overall writing the book. Honestly, the only thing needed to make this book better is to make it longer or have the sequel be released sooner. I thoroughly loved this book and I cannot wait for the next one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Stefan Petrucha's historical fiction novel, Ripper, tells an exc

    Stefan Petrucha's historical fiction novel, Ripper, tells an exciting story about Jack the Ripper.  The book is set during the late nineteenth century in New York City and is told in a third person point of view, but the character that the book focuses on is Carver Young.  Carver is a fourteen year old boy who lived in an orphanage with his friend Delia and his mortal enemy Finn.  When the orphanage's policy changes to where they cannot keep older children, Carver is adopted by Albert Hawking, a former Pinkerton agent who worked with Alan Pinkerton during the Civil War.  The tone is dark and mysterious like the dark streets of industry-fueled New York City.  The intended audiences of the book are history buffs, and anyone who likes a good thriller.  The book constantly kept my attention and I found that as I read more and more, I found it harder to put it down.  I believe that the main purpose of Ripper, besides just telling an entertaining story about Jack the Ripper, is that good always conquers evil and even a person who has fallen from grace can become the person that they once were.  I really disliked the ending, but only because I did not want the story to come to an end.  I hope that Petrucha writes a sequel to Ripper, because if he does, I will definitely buy it.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, is a combination of historical ficti

    Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, is a combination of historical fiction with a thriller. The story is set in late 19th century New York and follows the boy of Carver Young, an orphan abandoned at the Ellis Orphanage while he was still an infant with nothing but his name and a mysterious letter he soon discovers at fourteen. With a love for crime novels and detective work, he follows the latest news about a string of murders that have recently been occurring in New York. When adoption day comes around, his hopes skyrocket at the chance that Theodore Roosevelt, the current and eccentric Police Commissioner, but instead he gets adopted by a gnomish and odd old man who turns out to be the famous Mr. Albert Hawking from the Pinkerton Detective Agency. From there on, Carver is left to pick up the pieces in search of his biological father and in doing so finds out a dark secret he might have rather left uncovered.
    The thing I love most about this novel is the suspense and uncertainty when it comes to Carver’s father and the killer who roams the streets of New York; Petrucha leaves subtle hints to the reader of what is to come, but the pieces don’t fall together until the very end. Petrucha leads his readers down a path that at first glance is straight and narrow, leading them to believe that they know what is going on; suddenly, he takes you down a sudden turn, and everything is different than what you originally thought; he keep you guessing. When the climax is at his peak and the killer is revealed for who he truly is, it truly leaves you speechless. I’m an avid reader, and a sign of a good book is that you don’t want to put it down; I sat up to the later hours of the day reading this book, excited to see how everything unfurled.  
    I think that anyone, an avid reader or not, would enjoy this book. It is complex enough to keep you entertained, but it’s not like other book that regurgitates information back at you. It takes the murders that occurred in London by Jack the Ripper and the murders that happened in New York several years after and links them in such a way that is truly special. Petrucha leads any and all who open this book on an adventure that will leave you wanting more at the end. Happy reading, everybody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Ripper by Stefan Petrucha is a historical fiction based off the

    Ripper by Stefan Petrucha is a historical fiction based off the late1890's, early 1900's in New York
    with a mysterious tone and fills the reader with suspense wanting more. The story is told in a third
    person point of view through the eyes of Carver Young, the main character as he is assisted by his
    orphanage friends Delia and Phineas to track down his missing father who could be a Serial Killer
    within the streets of New York. The intended audience is for people who are into mysteries, history, or
    fictional novels such as The Jungle. I love this book because, the author did a great job of  leaving you
    hanging by never giving away any clues about the real killer being the real Jack the Ripper. The author
     also put a great story revolving around a real event in history that happened in New York. I support how
     the author tried to get people interested in learning about the history of that time by throwing in
    fascinating facts,eras,and early american icons in the book.The only thing that could have been
    improved that I disliked was trying to hide the killers identity when it was kind o obvious.
    But it is still, hands down a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    The book Ripper by Stefan Petrucha can be deemed more of a rathe

    The book Ripper by Stefan Petrucha can be deemed more of a rather interesting historical fiction based in New York City. It is written in third person point of view with an orphan named Carver Young as the main character. He is set on finding out who is father is as a killer, seeming to be the very Jack the Ripper himself, is roaming around and murdering women of high status and driving the city into a panicked frenzy. He is not alone on the whole ordeal of finding his father, though. His close friend form the orphanage helps when she can and Carver's mentor instructs him on the finer things of being a detective himself. Even though, he cannot help running into some trouble with his childhood bully and the killer. The intended age for the book would seem to be more for young teens and adults alike looking for a haunting thrill-ride of a mystery. I, for once, like how this book is written. It is attention grapping and has a few twists here and there that keeping the reader guessing and craving for more. There is really nothing I would dislike about the book or want to change anything at all; the author himself had done a great job of writing Ripper. He does a great deal on sending a message to the masses about who your family is or what you have done in the past does not have to change you for the worst. You are your own destiny and own demise if you let yourself be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Stefan Petrucha¿s ¿Ripper¿ is the best mystery novel I have ever

    Stefan Petrucha’s “Ripper” is the best mystery novel I have ever read.  The tone itself is mysterious, making the whole book overflow with suspense in every page.  It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time!  The story is told from a third person point of view, so it does not limit the reader to just one character’s perspective and also so that it does not show the true intentions of each individual.  The reading level is aimed more towards people who are in their teenage years or older.  Not because of anything inappropriate in the book, but more so because their level of understanding is higher.  It is centered around a young orphan boy named Carver Young and his new adoptive father, Mr. Albert Hawking.  Together, along with the help of Carver’s friends Delia and Finn, they work to uncover the identity of New York’s latest, most dangerous killer – and Carver’s father.  All of the events throughout the novel communicate one common theme:  not everything is really what it seems.  I completely agree – you only know as much as someone wants you to know about them.  The constant twists and turns are really what got me hooked on the book and are also what I love most about it.  I love surprises!  The author did an amazing job with this.  Once you think you may know what is going to happen next, you go on a complete turnaround and end up somewhere entirely different.  It definitely keeps you guessing!  The only thing I did not like, and the only way the book could be improved in any way, is how it ends.  It kind of left me hanging.  Maybe if the author had included more on what happens afterwards when everything is finally exposed, then it would be a little better.  Overall, though, “Ripper” was an amazing book!  I would highly recommend this to anyone in need of a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3