Customer Reviews for

Rippler: Book One in the Ripple Series

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

"RIPPLER" (GMTA REVIEW)

"RIPPLER" BY CIDNEY SWANSON

What would you do if you had the ability to turn invisible? Not only could you turn invisible but you could become almost ghost-like, walk through walls, through people, take things without anyone knowing, practically cease to exist for lo...
"RIPPLER" BY CIDNEY SWANSON

What would you do if you had the ability to turn invisible? Not only could you turn invisible but you could become almost ghost-like, walk through walls, through people, take things without anyone knowing, practically cease to exist for long periods of time and not even feel the need for food? Sam can, and she doesn't know why. Her only hope lies in a boy named Will, two years her senior and his sister Micheky that's obsessed with what they've decided to call "Rippler's Syndrome".

The thing is, Sam isn't the only one, Will is a Rippler two and there have been others before them, others that have died. Now it is up to them to find out why and find out who is behind this seemingly genetic disease that so many are being killed over.
I have to say this book was a refreshing difference from your normal YA paranormal fantasy and I loved it. The characters were new and exciting and the story itself was remarkably written. Cidney Swanson should definitely continue writing and bring us more in this series. A wonderful book!

Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Literary Community

posted by IntellectualReviewer on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Weird

Didnt finish it

posted by AimeeTink on June 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "RIPPLER" (GMTA REVIEW)

    "RIPPLER" BY CIDNEY SWANSON

    What would you do if you had the ability to turn invisible? Not only could you turn invisible but you could become almost ghost-like, walk through walls, through people, take things without anyone knowing, practically cease to exist for long periods of time and not even feel the need for food? Sam can, and she doesn't know why. Her only hope lies in a boy named Will, two years her senior and his sister Micheky that's obsessed with what they've decided to call "Rippler's Syndrome".

    The thing is, Sam isn't the only one, Will is a Rippler two and there have been others before them, others that have died. Now it is up to them to find out why and find out who is behind this seemingly genetic disease that so many are being killed over.
    I have to say this book was a refreshing difference from your normal YA paranormal fantasy and I loved it. The characters were new and exciting and the story itself was remarkably written. Cidney Swanson should definitely continue writing and bring us more in this series. A wonderful book!

    Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Literary Community

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Excellent Paranormal YA

    Do you ever start a book and know, just know, from the very first line that you're going to love it? That's how I felt about Rippler. It drew me in from the very beginning and that great first impression extended through the whole book for me.

    Besides the beautiful cover, there's a lot to like about Rippler. Sam is just a regular girl until she starts turning invisible. She has no idea what's going on, or the cause of her new invisibility, until her cross county friend Will witnesses one of her "spells". Will covers for her to keep Sam out of trouble, and the two become fast friends. The story takes off from there as Sam discovers more about her new talent as well as threats from people looking to exploit her.

    Rippler has great characterization. I loved Swanson's character development, and especially the way she writes emotion. The world-building was also very intricate, which I loved. I liked how the communication between the "mysterious man from France" was included in the beginnings of the chapters. It added some great depth.

    One thing I really liked about Rippler was that it touches on depression. So often, mental illness is overlooked or made out to be a character flaw in literature, especially YA literature. Swanson brings depression and its far-reaching effects out into the open. I like reading about characters with real issues. When someone goes through a traumatic event, I like when they have a realistic response to it, instead of just bouncing back like nothing happened.

    Rippler was a great start to a promising new series. I have to note that Cidney Swanson is such a nice person. She has been so friendly, understanding and gracious in our email communications. Don't you just love it when you like an author personally as well as enjoy their work? I'm really looking forward to the next book in the series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable read! I can't wait for sequel!

    Review by Valerie: Teens not sure of what's going on? Check. Genetic mutations? Check. Historical mystery to thicken the plot? Check. This book started slow but once it picked up I was hooked!

    Samantha has "rippled" a couple of times but has no clue what it means or if she's losing her mind. Who can just turn invisible? No one she knows so she must be going crazy. Then, she ripples while out on the water and a boy name Will sees and knows what's happening to her...

    As Will and his sister try to explain to Sam what they know about her condition, they continue receiving mystery letters offering safety but what really floored me was Sam reading journal entries by a doctor from the World War II era. The journal entries are morbid and sinister and involve experiments with children being forced to choose between kindness and survival. Not only that, Sam finds out that the "accident" that killed her mother and best friend wasn't one after all and that SHE was the intended target. It also seems that everyone with the rippler gene is disappearing, but why?

    An enjoyable first read for a series. I'd like to know a little more about how Will and Sam were drawn together in the first place so I'll be waiting for book two!

    Advice: Enjoyable read. I'm looking forward to the sequel.

    Quote: "The screaming was the first clue that I'd turned invisible again. Above the steady roar of the river, my teammates shouted: some with paddles flailing, others frozen mid-stroke. I'd never disappeared in front of anyone. Before this, I hadn't even known if it was real or if I was losing my grip on sanity." Page 1

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    'Rippler' was such an incredible story! I was able to read this book very quickly. This is the first fantasy novel that I have ever read and I didn't realize until I read this book, how entertaining fantasy novels can be. I will definitely be reading more of them in the future.

    Sam Ruiz just learned that she is a Rippler, a person who can become invisible, and she learns that someone wants her, and all others like her, dead. This made the story very suspenseful, but the story also had it's light-hearted moments.

    At first, I found the excerpts from Girard L'Inferne's journal a bit confusing, but towards the end of the book, they began to make sense.

    'Rippler' was a wonderful book, I completely enjoyed it. The ending didn't cover all the things that were brought up in the story. So I can't wait to read the next book, because I just have to know what happens next. Even though this book is written for a young adult audience, I think that adults would find it enjoyable as well - I know I did. I especially recommend it to those who enjoy fantasy novels.

    ***I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author to review. I was asked to give my honest opinion of the book - which I have done***

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Weird

    Didnt finish it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    All togeather it was a really amaizing book. The only complaint i have is that there could have been a little bit more romance. Hopefully there is a second book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Different and very enjoyable than most paranormal ya.

    Different and very enjoyable than most paranormal ya.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    great read

    what a great premise to learn that you cna vanish into thin air. But must learn how to control it. Great young adult book. look forward to the next installment

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    paranormal

    Not your typical paranormal story. I really liked the story and it was a good teen book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    What would you do if you could turn invisible? Great story.  Sa

    What would you do if you could turn invisible?

    Great story.  Samantha realizes she can turn invisible, but how?  and why?

    And who is after her because of it?

    A great trilogy by Cidney Swanson, author of the AWESOME Saving Mars series.  Just so you know, this series is a bit more of a fantasy / romance novel than the Saving Mars series (which is more sci-fi with a tiny bit of romance).

    It's great to follow along with Samantha and Will as she learns and explores more about her power(s).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Another good series by this author.

    Good storeyteller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Good writing!

    The story was original & well-written & the characters were likeable & believable. Lots of intrigue. Lots of unanswered questions, but not in an annoying, cliff-hanger way. I want to read the sequel because I enjoyed the book, not simply because I need to know what happens next (although of course I do!). I recommend this book & this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    In Rippler, Cidney Swanson begins the story of Samantha Ruiz, a

    In Rippler, Cidney Swanson begins the story of Samantha Ruiz, a teenager who learns she can turn herself invisible.

    Why to buy this book: The book is engaging and fast paced, and, that’s what I look for in an adventure novel. Did I have fun reading it and was it hard to put down? Answering those two questions in the affirmative is really all I need, and, believe me, I’ve read enough books that didn’t meet that criteria to appreciate ones that do. I also like that there’s a strong romantic subplot, which is presented sweetly by the way, but it doesn’t overwhelm the central story.

    Why not to buy the book: There were a couple of minor technique issues in the book, the worst of which being the completely unnecessary use of italics to add emphasis to certain words. The words and sentiment were strong enough on their own. The extra just drew attention to the formatting and away from the story. The biggest issue that I had was that the protagonist came across as a bit passive, letting events control her instead of the other way around.

    Bottom Line: It’s not easy to find books that flow this well, so this one is well worth the read. 4 Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Great Read

    This book was awesome. At times funny, and sad, and hopeful.
    Take my word for it. Read this book. Cannot wait for next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Really good for a Free Book

    It was really good for a free book :) It was a little bit slow but I'll admit I want to know what happens next 8)
    -Kanaya

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Sequal

    Cant wait

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Ok

    It was very good. A little slow. Not enough adventure/action and romance :( Great for a free book though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    LOVED this book!  Can't wait for the sequel!  Didn't want the st

    LOVED this book!  Can't wait for the sequel!  Didn't want the story to end - it left me hungry for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Awesome!

    By far the best free book I have ever read! I would definately reccomend this to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Awesome read!!!!!!

    I loved this book!!!!! It had everything in it! Romance, action, suspence, mystry, EVERYTHING!!!!! Im gonna try to find the 2nd one right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2