Customer Reviews for

The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich: A History of Nazi Germany

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

NOOK Readers TAKE NOTE!

The Nook version of this great books IS NOT the 50th anniversary edition as pictured and advertised. It is the Rosetta Books version of a couple of years ago. It does not have the new forward by Ron Rosenbaum nor any of the other additional content.

posted by KBP on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is a comment on this 50th Ann. Reprint of this book. I boug

This is a comment on this 50th Ann. Reprint of this book. I bought this book from Book of the Month Club 50 years ago and eventually donated my copy to my local public library. I decided to check out the latest edition and had heard questionable comments about the eBook...
This is a comment on this 50th Ann. Reprint of this book. I bought this book from Book of the Month Club 50 years ago and eventually donated my copy to my local public library. I decided to check out the latest edition and had heard questionable comments about the eBook edition so I opted for the paperback version instead. My complaint is that in the original 50 year-old copy . . . there were many photographs. In this watered down ann. edition there is NOT ONE SINGLE PICTURE OR MAP reproduced. I'm sure Simon & Schuster have enough money in the bank to afford to include ALL of the information from the original edition. A VERY DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER!!!!!!!!!!!!! I should have kept my copy . . . .

posted by avidscribe on June 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Duskstar

    Duskstar followed them then headed to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    The most engaging narrative on the Third Reich out there.

    A powerful and compelling book. A must-read for anyone curious about the rise of Nazi Germany.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Rise and Fall of the Thurd Riech

    A must read. Gives a great view into the treachery of Hitler and the Third Riech.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A superb telling of the ugly truth behind the rise and fall of t

    A superb telling of the ugly truth behind the rise and fall of the most monstrous of tyrannies ever to beset the world. Infinitely readable, merely long. Not so long for one interested in the telling. I equate the readability of Shirer's prose to that of Barbara Tuchman, another historian whose style invited rather repelled readers. I would also recommend to you Shirer's Berlin Diary, to be read together with Howard K. Smith's Last Train From Berlin. Along with the subject Rise and Fall of the Third Reich you will be able to appreciate something no later, even larger collection of volumes can engender: the feeling of actually BEING THERE as the above referenced author/s were (Shirer and Smith). Of course it is an off putting volumen visually; so is War and Peach and Don Quixote. But if you love history, put a toe in the water or, in this case, consume a chapter or two. You may find you can't really put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great addition to his previous Books about the Third Reich

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Infomative

    I have read many books on WW2 but this book put it all together for me. It was well worth the money. I wish I would have read this book first, before all the others.

    Doug Cheney , Minnesota

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    A journey through terror and the triumph of good over evil ...

    A renowned work by a renowned Author, based primarily on documented fact and supported through his personal experience as a witness to history …

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Essential reading

    If you want to begin to understand 20th Century history you have to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great Book

    A must read for anyone interested in how for people can be led off track by a magnetic personality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    A Must Read

    This is the best 1000+ page book I have ever read. Hard to put down once you start reading.
    This is a great history lesson about the origins of the Nazis and how they outmaneuvered or over powered other governments. This explains how they sold their "program" to the Germans and the complacent world powers so they could rise from the ashes of WW1 to become a great threat to the whole world. One thing those Nazi's did was to keep good records and from them Shirer makes you feel like you are in the room listening in as history is being made. This is not a blow by blow WW2 battle report. More of a political narrative that shows how easily a few really bad people could manipulate their way to power, a perfect storm of evil, bringing out the worst in others with disastrous results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Grt bk!!!!!!!!!

    Not fiction

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Engrossing!

    This is a book I've heard much of but never bothered to read. Decades have gone by since college, and I was a history student. Thinking back, I'm sure that this one book in particular would have aided my understanding of Europe from 1933 to1945 like no other. This book is detailed, yet easy to follow. The writing style is excellent, and it progresses very nicely in chronological order. It a huge book, but I was through it in only a third of the time that it took to read Tolsoy's fictional war novel of the same size. To the point: This is the besr history I've read. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great Read

    This is a classic. Nook edition great. Everyone should read this so it never happens again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Excellent read!!

    Well worth the money...once you start the book it is hard to put down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    I have to say I was a little wary of The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich when I first picked it up. It was huge and I noticed it was written by a journalist. However, after I started reading it, I could not put it down! Mr. Shirer is an excellent historian and a superb writer. He made the Third Reich come alive in his book. He used numerous personal quotes and diary enteries from the important players in Germany and other countries from 1920's to the 1940's. What makes the book come alive even more is Mr. Shirer's personal experiences with Nazi Germany. He was a reporter in Germany throughout this time period. He covers every aspect of Hitler's rise to power until his ultimate down fall at the end of World War II in great detail. Nevetheless, I did notice at certain points Shirer did pass personal judgements on some of the personalities in Nazi Germany (which would be extremely hard not to do.) However, I feel this takes little away from the book itself, which is why I still give it five stars. If you want to know how the Nazis and Adolf Hitler came to power and the consequences of thier political ascension, The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich is the book to read. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Excellent Book!

    A well written book in a style that keeps you glued to every page. You should read his book "Berlin Diary" for an excellent account of what was happening in pre-war Germany. Please read psysword review with a pinch of salt. Sounds like he would like to rewrite history. Also makes some statements without backing it up. Hmmm isn't that what he's accusing the author of? Download a sample or read in the store(when it becomes available) and give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Winner of the National Book Award

    This book won the National Book Award and is a masterpiece of history. The writing is great. Shirer was a journalist correspondent in Berlin for a good while up to the start of the war, and he was able to closely witness firsthand the Nazi years before the war and gather information. His account, for example, of one Hitler speech he personally attended is gripping. He is able to describe from close distance the maniac charisma that Hitler had, many of the things actually said among the participants, tidbits he was told by Nazi officials, and other firsthand accounts not found in later histories. This book has an immediacy not found in other books. This is definitely one of the best books on World War II. It has been criticized for the author's occasional interpretations inserted, such as calling Goering fat and calling another official perverted for being gay, but that should not detract from the amazing reporting and history in this book. In response to the other reviewer saying Shirer was Jewish, I am fairly certain that he and his family were Episcopalian. He was a foreign correspondent reporter in Berlin for quite sometime up to the start of the war, and he made close connections. That would never have been possible in Nazi Germany had he been Jewish. I read a lot of history and I have never read anything about Shirer being involved in any way in Jewish politics or causes. He was a reporter and then historian. I thought he had an Episcopalian burial when he died.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    If you want True direct accounts on Hitler, this is it!

    William Shirer saw first hand many of the items written this the book. As a result he was also one of the first people to dig through much of the Nazi documentation right after World War II. He brings history to life on a way that only a person who had intimate knowledge of those time could, such as meeting Hitler's step-brother. It is the definitive account of Hitler's life, and the Germany that he created.

    The only downside that I see with the book, which is not the book, nor the authors fault, is that BN is not offering such a large book through its NOOKbook collection!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    A Must Read for History Buffs

    This book did so much to help explain the horrible mistake that occcured in Europe during Hitler's reign. The author has unbiasedly assembled many documents to present a clear and concise history of the Third Reich.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5