Customer Reviews for

The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt

Average Rating 4.5
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Bio

    I picked this book up because with everything that is going on in politics these days, I wanted to read about a president that was not scared for standing up for what is right, ending corruption, and embracing the meaning behind Americanism (TR did coin that phrase.) It is also relieving to read about a president that DID go after the corrupt corporations and the lobbyists before Obama took office. Needless to say I was not disappointed. I will admit this book is not for a person that does not live and breathe history. The details can be tiresome at times, but the author made 19th century politics read like a CNN broadcast, meaning there were moments when I could not put the book down, and literally cursed specific people and politicians for their stupidity. One thing I want to mention is this book covers TR's biography from his birth until the assassination of McKinley. The continuation is covered in Morris's Theodore Rex. I wish I would have known that before investing 782 pages in half of the story.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Great read

    Excellent telling of the experiences and events whcih shaped TR during his rise to the Presidency. Morris does a great job of being both informative and eloquent simultaneously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Smooth Read, Fascinating History

    When I got the idea in my head that I wanted to read a solid biography about our manliest president, Edmund Morris's name came up immediately. I was not disappointed. The book is well written and exhaustively researched. The prose is smooth and easy to read and as soon as I finished I wanted to pick up the next 800 page volume. I will definitely be reading the entire trilogy... eventually. ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Terrific, compelling, and detailed.

    Such an amazing life told by a great storyteller. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Important historical information every one should know- Obama could stand to read up on his predecessors as could the American people. They are truly dumbed down at this point in time. If we continue as we are going, and young people know only REWRITTEN and REVISED history, we are sunk. T. Roosevelt was a jewel among our Presidents. Even dyed in the wool Democrats would HAVE to say so!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    The Rise of TR, Pulitzer Prize Worthy?

    As a high school student in American History, I enjoyed the opportunity to read this book, especially after learning about TR. Edmund Morris did a brilliant job in describing TR, his words doing the great president justice. Throughout the book, I realized things about TR that I had never heard of, such as his life at Harvard and his ventures in Dakota. My favorite conclusion Morris helped me to make was that for an animal lover, he sure liked to kill them. I enjoyed the particular details from TR's diary that gave a glimpse into the live in the 1800s. After reading the book, it is easy to see why TR was such a great man; he had a good up-bringing. From his influential father to trips in Europe, TR became scholarly at a young age. After Theodore Senior died, TR always wanted to preserve his legacy, so every action he made was one that would have made his father proud. I learned that TR had a hard life from the book. His father died in college, his mother died days before his first child was born, and his wife died after giving birth to that child. TR faced political disaster after supporting Blaine in 1884. Finding himself in Dakota at his ranches, he discovers his rue self and returns to New York to marry his child hood sweetheart. Every erudite person can enjoy this book. The portrayal of TR from his birth in 1858 to 1901, everyone can learn from the determination of TR. Not only did he overcome asthma and family tragedy to become a hero on San Juan Hill, but he became the President of the United States. I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in good role models and strong historical figures, although I did feel that their was quite a bit of trivial knowledge mixed in¿so I gave it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Masterful Biography of a Rich Life

    This book took me about 4 months to read, and not just because I'm busy or a slow reader, although both of those statements are true. There is so much detail in 800 pages that I could only digest the events in small doses. I don't know how anyone jammed so much activity, education, and accomplishment in 40 years, much less how the author was able to put all of this detail together in such interesting structure and clarity. This book inspired me. After a four-month breather, I eagerly anticipate completing this year and the second volume of this masterful biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2003

    Great biography

    Very good read. Any novice history student will be able to read with ease. Even though the book is extremely long for only a portion of Teddy's life, The Rise of T.R. is written in a highly interesting manner and is rarely bogged down with boring facts. This is a must read for anyone interested in T.R. or early 20th century American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    Solid book, well-researched

    I picked this book up when the second volume of Morris' Theodore Roosevelt series, Theodore Rex, came out. I thought it was a well-written, easily flowing book that examined all aspect of Roosevelt. Most people criticize older books for ignoring certain aspects of one's life but Morris does not do so. The only flaw in this work is that Morris is too dismissive at times of Roosevelt's faults. This flaw is a reflection of the high regard that Edmund Morris holds Roosevelt to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2