Customer Reviews for

The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt

Average Rating 4.5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    Best Teddy book ever

    Classic tale of our greatest president. It makes you want to learn more. After reading you feel like you know Theodore himself

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    By far the best book I've ever read about TR. It gives you great insight into his mind with brief diary enries and letters. If you want to know more about his character and what shaped him into the man he would become instead of just what he did, this is the book. Yes it's a thick book, however it was so interesting that I read through it quickly. If you love history and TR, this book is a must have.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt - Great Historic Read!

    Edmund Morris does a great job documenting Teddy Roosevelt's life until he gets to be President. This book reads like a novel and gives you amazing insight into such an energetic, interesting, honest, hard working man that Teddy was.

    Great historical read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great

    Always inspires me to quit complaining, work hard, expand my knowledge, improve my physical well being, and to live life to its fullest. Better than any self help book I have read. The first of an awe inspiring trilogy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Dee-lightfull!

    after reading "The Rise" one will want to continue reading the other two works by Edmund Morris to complete the narrative about TR, one of our best a and the most fascinating presidents

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    From Everyman to The Man...

    The back of this book states that it is the story of seven men: a naturalist, a writer, a lover, a hunter, a rancher, a soldier, and a politician. It is amazing to me that one man can be all of those men at one time, but Theodore Roosevelt was. If you read this book, you will be as amazed as I was at the achievements of this man. It is hard to imagine that he could have changed the politics in the city of New York as much as he did. His progressive ideas angered the corrupt, so they nominated him for Vice-President. Little to their dismay that this progressive reformer would find himelf in the Big Chair of the Oval Office with a Big Stick. I admire Roosevelt for all of the accomplishments he made in his illustrious career, as I am sure you will be if you read this book. TR is one of my favorite, no my very favorite president and he will be yours too!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Makes want to read more about T.R.

    This was the first book I have ever read on T.R. and it has lead me to read over ten since. I would recommend it to anyone interested in history or biographies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    a must buy

    a very good book if you like history books.There is also unbelivable facts.i recommend it to teens from 13-18

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2015

    If anyone could be accurately described as a whirling dervish, i

    If anyone could be accurately described as a whirling dervish, it would be Theodore Roosevelt. In his lifetime, he was a soldier, author, historian, naturalist, cattle rancher, world traveler, reform politician, and - oh, yeah - 26th president of the United States. Until he became president after the assassination of President McKinley on September 14, 1901, TR had been all of those things - yet was only 42 when he ascended to the nation's highest office. 

    Obviously, the trick to chronicling such an ambitious life is to give details without being mundane. Morris has obviously managed to adequately probe every major corner in Roosevelt's life without becoming tedious. While a 1000 book may look forbidding at first blanch, 25% of the book is tied up in detailed footnotes and photograph credits. The abundance of end notes serves notice that Morris has thoroughly researched his subject and has sought to provide a balanced profile. 

    The book is a straight-forward narrative chronicling Roosevelt's life. It is a life that took various twists and turns, all of which are documented in detail. After Roosevelt's first wife and mother died on the same day in 1884, he goes out west to explore and hunt in what is now western North Dakota. This seems like a diversion in his life - and is at first - but Roosevelt eventually becomes so enmeshed with cowboy society that he is considered one of their own by the locals. The fact that Morris paints this part of Roosevelt's life as such allows the story to resonate with the reader.

    Overall, Morris deals with an amazing man by telling the straightest of stories. Though the story ends with Roosevelt's becoming president, that should not deter the reader from finding out what made our 26th president one of the most enduring and glittering examples of what being an American citizen can be.

    BOTTOM LINE: An wonderful read and worth every moment you spend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    Political Portrait

    This is a must read for anyone interested in political profiles. TR learned how to navigate political structures and personalities while in some of the the highest profile appointed and elected positions. I am looking forward to reading Theodore Rex, also by Edmund Morris, which begins at his presidency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Incredible & Interesting!

    Gives great insight into how Roosevelt became, no doubt, a very smart president.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Bully Up

    I love seeing TR as a 5 year old. Being sickly. Working with weights. Transforming himself physically. Viewing the Gramercy neighborhood and Union Square Park as a child naturalist. His family. His education. His "all out" attitude developing. North Dakota Badlands rancher. NY Civil Service Commissioner. NY Police Commissioner. Asst Sec'y US Navy. Rough Rider. Governor NY State. Vice President. The transformation and journey are amazing. GREAT book!!! First of the Trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Morris writes a wonderful story of one of the greatest champions of the common man. Roosevelt was an incredibly enthusiastic and committed individuals and you will learn a great deal about what he had to overcome. Morris packs the book with great stories of the early life of a great President and leader. We all can learn a few lessons of how to live our own lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Deeeeeeelighted!

    For the most part I prefer books which are quick reads as I dont like to get mired down in one subject for a long period of time and this is the reason that I avoided this book (as well as the other books in the Roosevelt trilogy). However I finally decided to take the necessary time to read this book. I am glad that I did. The book is 90% a page-turner tracing many days in the 1st 40 years of Roosevelt's life telling many interesting stories. However, 10% of the book is a bit obnoxious with the constant usage of French words or phrases which made me have to pause and do some research.

    With that being said, I look forward to reading the rest of the series in the weeks to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    A Must Read: What our political leaders should aspire to be

    An inspiring story of an amazing American. Well documented facts and timelines make this an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Fascinating

    A superb telling of the formative years of TR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Get it !!

    Excellent - more details than I needed. But learned a lot about childhood and ranching experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for any TR Fan!

    This first of a three part journey through the life of Theodore Roosevelt was absolutely amazing! Not only was it packed with a multitude of historical information, but it also was a fairly easy read. At not point did I feel as if things were dragging on, and the events were broken up enough so as to constantly keep my attention. Edmund Morris is a fantastic biography writer who has hit a home run with this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Tee-Rific

    I loved Theodore Roosevelt before I read this book but this put me over the top about how much I wish the man was alive today to fix the rest of the world. Compelling, heavy in detail, very picturesque, wonderfully written and detailed oriented. The man was a go getter, faced with tons of challenges he rose above it and made the world a better place. I have tried to read everything about him after reading this book, his autobiography, a book about his wife, his children to get other aspects of the man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5