BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rise of the Evening Star (Fablehaven Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

hal

Best book I have ever read

posted by 18084673 on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

very good reading

This series is a new modern day "Alice in Wonderland"-like story...its fun, interesting and easy reading...Harry Potter was a great reading series too, but it was too difficult for some readers...Fablehaven is good for kids who can't or don't read at that level. These a...
This series is a new modern day "Alice in Wonderland"-like story...its fun, interesting and easy reading...Harry Potter was a great reading series too, but it was too difficult for some readers...Fablehaven is good for kids who can't or don't read at that level. These are filled with magic, magicial creatures, monsters, star a brother & sister, 12 & 14 yrs. old and deals with their sibling rivalry, too.

posted by KSP123 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    hal

    Best book I have ever read

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    Wow... just wow this series blows me away. Brandon Mull is indescribabley talented and his gift in writing is extraordinary. I am so thankful that his series is on the nook i cant find it anywhere else for less than like twenty five dollars per book. Ive started to read the Beyonders series. Amazing again. Youll find true talent in this authors writing.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Hi g!

    I love this book. Brandon Mull has written other good books.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    "Vanessa Santoro is not just pretty...

    She's walking dynamite!" Humor courtesy of the saytrs.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    very good reading

    This series is a new modern day "Alice in Wonderland"-like story...its fun, interesting and easy reading...Harry Potter was a great reading series too, but it was too difficult for some readers...Fablehaven is good for kids who can't or don't read at that level. These are filled with magic, magicial creatures, monsters, star a brother & sister, 12 & 14 yrs. old and deals with their sibling rivalry, too.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Great book.

    Stupid rating bar, wont let me rate the book 100/5. *Sigh* :(

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yes!

    The Fablehaven series just keeps getting better! Highly recommended! Just started Book 3!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Fable Haven #2

    The story just keeps getting better with each book

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Series

    This series is just fun to read. It's easy reading and fast paced. The trials the main characters go through are good lessons for young readers and remind us old folks of our own youthful foolishness. There is always something happening in the story, so you are never bored. I especially like the way each character grows and matures a little more with each book. Never a dull moment and pure entertainment for all. I would highly recommend this series for both young and old.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Fablehaven is great

    Its a really good book u really should read it i have almost finished the hole series if u r a book worm u r going to love thins book it is like a mystery with a twist to it but any ways u r going to love reading this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!this book is good for ur education too

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

    In FABLEHAVEN, Kendra and Seth helped save the magical preserve by thwarting Murial's attempt to release the demon, Bahumat. Though they won that battle, the Society of the Evening Star is waging war. If they hope to save Fablehaven again, Kendra must learn to use her fairy gifts and Seth must stay out of trouble.

    Unfortunately, trouble has a way of finding Seth.

    Seth, Kendra, and more of Mull's amazing characters (new and old) are back in RISE OF THE EVENING STAR as they fight to keep the Society of the Evening Star from obtaining a hidden artifact of great power. If they don't, it could be the downfall of the other magical preserves and possibly the world.

    Mull has created a realm of magic and mystery that pulls the reader in and won't let them go until the last page. Even then, he leaves us wanting more.

    With hidden preserves and all their magical inhabitants, a secret society threatening the world, and a group of unlikely heroes trying to save it all, the FABLEHAVEN series is a must-read for any fantasy lover.

    After reading RISE OF THE EVENING STAR, I couldn't wait to get my hands on the third book, GRIP OF THE SHADOW PLAGUE.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The New Magical Series!

    I was a little worried I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as the first (my curse of not liking book 2 in a series). It starts out slow, but then I just wanted to the kids to get back to Fablehaven! Then things really start to pick up and your immersed in the magical world again. I was hoping for more creatures, explanations, and just more on the preserve itself with the first book. I got it this time around. I loved the story line with the demon and Seth. The entire chapters with them retrieving the artifact from the inverted tower were great! I kept picturing the scenes and how they would look in movie form. While I still think it's not as great as Harry Potter, I think the series is a great filler for those looking for something magical now that the Harry Potter series is finished!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    A great book for people who like fantasy and adventure.

    This book contains a great story of two kids and their grandparents who own a secret reserve for magical creatures, called Fablehaven. In this magic reserve, the two kids, Kendra and her brother, Seth, have accidently helped an evil group called the Society of the Evening Star, which intends to collect magical artifacts from reserves across the globe, like Fablehaven. These artifacts, when joined together, can open an evil prison that keeps all of the most powerful creatures that, dare they get released, would bring terror upon the world. But Grandpa and Grandma Sorenson knew what the Society was up to and hired three of the world's top adventurers, Tanu, Coulter, and Vanessa. These three people were to mentor Kendra and Seth, but, in the middle of the story, a traitor appears among the three and takes control of Fablehaven, until Seth defeats a certain creature, and he and Kendra gathers a small group. I like this book because I have an interest in fantasy-like stories and because it leaves me wanting more, making me excited to continue reading it. Again, I recommend it, give it five stars, because it is thrilling and may leave its reader needing more to quench their reading minds.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    whoa

    to me i find the book very intresting this was the first of the fable haven books that i read i picked up a radom book at the book store and bought it it is very amazing youll never get bored and with the slight chance that yo do it pulls you back in right when you least acpect it the characters were very easy to amgaine and with seth and kendra you see what they see feel what they feel

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    This Series is Great!

    This series is awesome. You get pulled into the story from the very first page. Anyone who loves fantasy and getting lost in a book should read these. No matter if you are 12 or 28 you will love it! I hope he continues to write books like fablehaven.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Claire

    I love this book!!!!!!!:D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved the first book! Thisbook awesome 2 but its not as great as the first.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Cool

    One of is best books!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Brandon Mull

    From book 1 until book 5, I could not put them down. When I first started reading them book 1 & 2 were already out and I couldn't wait for the next one to come out, then the next and then the next. You feel the characters. This is not a children's book but geared more to late teens and up. If you love dragons, fairy-tail animals, you will love these books. Their are a lot of deaths in these books but you will still love the book. My daughter got me started and we are both hooked. We had to get the hard back ones, because we couldn't wait for the paper backs to come out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    A good series.

    A good continuation of the story. The characters continue to be developed and it has a good plot although a little hard to follow in some places. But it is the kind of book that can be enjoyed by the entire family, especially when read together. It holds your attention and leaves you wanting for more. Seth continues to make poor choices and seems to not really be held accountable or learn much from his mistakes. But he is also brave and his heart is in the right place. There are some pretty intense experiences and Brandon Mull does a great job describing them. The reader almost becomes part of the story. So far, a good series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14