Customer Reviews for

Rise of the Fallen

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

INCREDIBLE NEW FIND! Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Al

INCREDIBLE NEW FIND!

Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

Generally I don't like to do the comparison thing, but I feel like I sort of have to here so people get a bit of a feel of what they'll be jumping into. ALL THE KINGS MEN is sort ...
INCREDIBLE NEW FIND!

Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

Generally I don't like to do the comparison thing, but I feel like I sort of have to here so people get a bit of a feel of what they'll be jumping into. ALL THE KINGS MEN is sort of like a subset of The Black Dagger Brotherhood, meets Alpha Pack, meets Brotherhood of Blood.

All the Kings Men is a group of warriors trained to fight rogue shapeshifters and other problematic preternaturals.

Micah is one of the strongest on the team, but he's had a rough run with his mates and is in a VERY bad place as the story begins. He's a complex, tortured, bad boy and if you like alpha males, you can't help but love him and feel for the guy.

Sam is one of those bad a** heroines that you love to love. She holds her own, looks out for others, is sexy, savvy and smart.

Her and Micah together are absolute dynamite! The sexual chemistry of these two literally jumps off of the page and you can't help but re-read sections because they are really...just...that...good!

The supporting cast was phenomenal as well. I personally cannot wait to find out more about Trace, the myserious self appointed guardian of Micah and best friend of the couple. There is so much more than meets the eye with him and I am so excited to find out what's up.

The bad guys in this tale were nasty. Diabolical in their scheming, ruthless in their pursuit, and utterly enjoyable to read.

If you haven't gotten the hint, I loved the book. I thought it was fantastic. My one problem was the ending because I am not a fan of the cliff-hanger and Donya was a dirty tease at the end of this book. The bonus is that I don't have to wait long for book #2 to find out what the heck happens. :)

LITERAL ADDICTION gives Rise of the Fallen 4 1/2 Skulls and would recommend it to Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance and all Alpha Male Vampire lovers. Definitely a great new find and I want to thank Jowanna at Pimpin' Reads for telling me I had to read it! :)


posted by LITERALADDICTION_MLO on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Two and a half to three stars. Editing was good and the storyli

Two and a half to three stars. Editing was good and the storyline was excellent. What caused my lower reviews was that the m/f sex scenes were not as explicit as I like and the gay scene was more information than I wanted. Most authors will make a notation if there are...
Two and a half to three stars. Editing was good and the storyline was excellent. What caused my lower reviews was that the m/f sex scenes were not as explicit as I like and the gay scene was more information than I wanted. Most authors will make a notation if there are gay situations present in the story to not merely warn persons who don't want books with those scenes but to also highlight them for persons who might enjoy them. In this book, it can be difficult to figure out who's straight, who's bi and who's gay. That makes it difficult to root for which characters should hook up in later books since even they can't even figure out what they are.

posted by JohnWhite on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A GraveTells Review: Alluring and compelling, I couldn't put it

    A GraveTells Review: Alluring and compelling, I couldn't put it down!

    Hot. Lethal. Vampire. That's Micah, our sexy, brooding, complicated hero. Not only is he powerful, one of the oldest of his kind, he's got a good heart and his needs run deep. His character is beautifully crafted by Ms. Lynne; where as he could easily have come across as selfish and violently overindulgent, a turn-off to be sure, each chapter brings surprises and I loved watching his personality bloom.

    His mate, Samantha, is on the run from an abusive husband and working as a very successful stripper at a local joint. She's ex-army, so she knows her way around the business end of a weapon, and she's kind and sharp-witted. Sometimes it's hard to like the heroines paired with our favorite (usually damaged) heroes, but I was Team Samantha all the way. The connection between Micah and Sam is quick and dirty, and they have some smoking hot sex! I love that Ms. Lynne doesn't shy away from putting several open-door love scenes back to back... there's no wondering what happens "after" as the door is slammed shut on the reader. I can honestly say I don't think I've ever enjoyed knife foreplay before, but yowza! Well done!

    There are also hints of BDSM and some m/m in the coming books and I found myself both not wanting to finish reading, I enjoyed the story so much, AND wanting to race to the next book in the series to get my fix....

    Which brings me to the mysterious, endearingly vulnerable yet lethal vampire warrior called Trace. Is there anything sexier than a gorgeous, powerful man submitting to another strong male? Needing to be confined and feel the bite of pain? If you're a fan of Vishous from the BDB, Traceon is going to be just your style. He's the self-appointed guardian to one of the most lethal of the AKM enforcers and protects Micah as if he already serves him. Drool much?

    Speaking of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, the vampires in All the King's Men are pretty similar: they can't abide sunlight, they must drink blood to survive, some of them have special abilities (like teleportation), they bond strongly with their mates, and they're practically walking arsenals with lethal fighting skills. Micah is one of the older vamps, so he's a pro with both his knives and his guns, and meeting a woman who knows how to handle his weapons (ah, no pun intended! :p) is a real turn on.

    The secondary characters all stand out and practically beg for their own books. Its been a long time since a series has snagged my attention as thoroughly as the Black Dagger Brotherhood did, but All the King's Men has that distractingly addictive potential and this first story in the series holds nothing back.

    Alluring and compelling, Rise of the Fallen is rich in story depth and likeable, flawed characters... men you can seriously get addicted to reading more about. Read at your own risk, because you just might find yourself wanting your very own Micah (and Trace)!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    I absolutely fell in love with this book. Micah's character dra

    I absolutely fell in love with this book. Micah's character draws you in from the beginning and never lets you go. A real page turner. Looking forward to all the other characters in the series books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    I have to say, I loved this book and the books that have followe

    I have to say, I loved this book and the books that have followed thus far.  You should have an open mind going into it though.  I have noticed some people are complaining about the gay scene.  Well I hate to burst your bubble boys and girls but the next book has more.  I have recommended this book to many people I know and they have loved it as well.  If it makes you uncomfortable to read about gays/bi then maybe this isn't the book for you but the love that's carried in the words really touch my heart and make the girl in me looking for mister right sigh in bliss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved reminded me of BDB.jas

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Fabulous

    A wonderful addition to the paranormal genre. Micah and Sam are wonderfully meant for each other but must pass through their own versions of hell to get to the point where they belong to each other. All the kings men deserve their own book as they are all fascinating characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Rise of the Fallen was my introduction to the work of Donya Lynn

    Rise of the Fallen was my introduction to the work of Donya Lynne and I am so glad I found her. I was drawn in immediately by the suffering of Micah and knew I couldn't stop reading until I knew where things led for him. When Sam comes into the story with her kick ass, offer no apologies personality, I was drawn in even further and held on for the ride. Micah and Sam's story is filled with action and passion and the way Donya includes the other characters is fantastic. Can't wait to have more of the All The King's Men series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    BLOWN AWAY!

    This story grabbed me from the beginning and didnt want to let me go even at the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    TERRITORY MARKER

    PRIDE OF THE FALLEN LAND

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    Love this series! I can't wait for Trace's story to come out!

    Love this series! I can't wait for Trace's story to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    love this series

    I got this because it was free and I love vampire books. Loved it and ended up buying the rest of the series. Can't wait for the next one to come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Love it !!!! Love them all!!!!

    I have read all Donya's AKM series books that are currently out and am waiting impatiently for the next one to come out in 4 days. Wonderful series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    AMAZING - Truely breath- Taking

    Sorry everyone.....I misspelled the author's name. Her name is Donya Lynne, and she is an AMAZING story teller!!!!!!

    I definately am a fan after reading this. I plan on reading the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Have to read

    You will love this book it was truely great! (~^_^)~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    So good!

    Get this book now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    interesting storyline, couldn't put down

    interesting storyline, couldn't put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    great story

    Fast paced great read. Micah and Sam are hot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Mmmmmmmmm. Good!

    Not the same o same o vamp and damsel! Enjoyed this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great read

    This was a free book when i got it and i loved it, was steamy with good story line. I cant wait to read the next books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Wow

    Awesome read so hot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    M

    ?.
    F

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4