Customer Reviews for

Rise of the Fire Tamer

Average Rating 3.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    What can get better? You are not only transported into a fantas

    What can get better? You are not only transported into a fantasy world, but you are learning vocabulary words while you're fighting trolls, ogres, and dragons. The females in this high fantasy are so smart and witty. This is a great series for anyone over 15!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Promising but didn't deliver. Did I enjoy this book: This book

    Promising but didn't deliver.


    Did I enjoy this book: This book was okay. The premise was good and sounded so promising. Unfortunately, Rise of the Fire Tamer did not meet my expectations. It just seemed underdeveloped and very predictable.




    For a game that, in order to win, the player must use "magic words," the words were not used or talked about all that often. I was expecting a lot more usage of these words. Shouldn't the players have used these special words more than they did? It just didn't make much sense to me. Words, and their definitions, should have been the focus of this book. 




    Also, there really weren't any characters that were all that sympathetic or worthy of rooting for. The characters were forgettable. In fact, writing this review, I cannot remember these characters all that well. I could not get behind any of them. A few times, I wanted to like Kat but she failed to deliver. Gemma seemed too pretentious. I wish we would have learned more about these characters...their backgrounds, feelings, hopes, etc. What did their parents think about all of this? Where were the parents? Who the winner was going to be was obvious from the beginning of the game.




    Furthermore, there were way too many typos and punctuation mistakes for me. A simple spell-check would have caught quite a few of the mistakes. It was distracting and took away from some of the pleasure of reading this book.








    Would I recommend it: I don't think that I would recommend this book.




    Will I read it again: I will not. 




    (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Wordwick Games is a popular game. Five of the biggest fans and p

    Wordwick Games is a popular game. Five of the biggest fans and players have now been invited to the home of the inventor of the game, Henry Word, to play the newest level of the game. It's an immersive experience, one which takes them into the world of Anachronia. Anachronia is a magical place full of ogres, dragons, and warring kingdoms. Words have power there, real power. If one of the players can prove to be the best, they will be crowned ruler. If they can survive what seems like a very real place.




    I loved the originality of this book. The concept is fairly unique. It's about a game, but it's also a learning experience. In Anachronia, words have very literal power. They enable you to do things. The purpose of this is to help readers learn new vocabulary. How cool is that? It's such an awesome way to learn things. It can really help people to remember the words in the context of how they were used and what abilities they allowed the players to have. There is also a glossary in the back with the words and definitions listed. I also enjoyed the fantasy aspect of the book. The story is full of adventure.




    This book is mostly told from the player Gem's point of view, although you do get bits of the other people's points of view at the end of each chapter. This was a fun way to get to know the kids. Some of the kids seemed like they were going to be stereotypes of typical teens, but I think the author managed to keep this from going too far. The end of the book managed to give closure to this chapter of the tale but also leave you hanging and wanting more. I think this is a fabulous way to get kids (and adults even) exposed to more words and help them remember the meanings. This book is proof that learning can be fun.




    Book provided for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The first book of The Wordwick Games is full of high adventure a

    The first book of The Wordwick Games is full of high adventure and SAT worthy words. Kailin Gow's probably most complex story takes readers to a world that goes from modern to fantastically medieval. Beware the dragons and ogres and evil wizards! Henry Word's famous Wordwick Game has a secretive Level 10 and only Gem, Sparks, Jack, Kat and Rio will be privy to the dangers and learning experiences that Anachronia poses. While only one can become the helpful ruler of Anachronia, the group will have to work together to bring peace to two warring tribes and see the game through to the end.

    Rise of the Fire Tamer brings forth all that one would expect in one of Kailin's fantasy novels. The challenges, the magic, and the unique base for the story's plot. What makes this story different and more complex is the fact that the story's main plot tells Gem's story, but follows multiple characters. Gem isn't even the first character readers will meet. Fortunately, Kailin keeps it all straight and makes introducing this big group of characters fun and entertaining. Though Kat was actually my favorite character, the underestimated, weird and outspoken rebel that she was really stuck out for me, I did appreciate how steady Gem was. I wasn't too crazy that all the guys in the story were just infatuated with her because of her beauty while thinking that she was just a dumb cheerleader, but her ability to think in stressful situations was awesome.

    The Wordwick Games seems like it will fall in the same category as Kailin's Alchemists Academy series. The dramatic endings will prove that whatever is next in the series will be tremendously surprising and unexpected. It's with these stories that Kailin really draws focus to the character's unknown pasts and great futures. Even with Rise of the Fire Tamer's revealing ending, I couldn't possibly say that I have any inkling of where this series is headed. Virtual gaming is a first for me, but Kailin's work surely isn't! I have every bit of faith that the next book, The Ascension, will hit all of Kailin's previous marks and go even further.
    *Ebook provided in exchange for an honest review*
    Also posted on Lovey Dovey Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Wordwick Games is one of the most popular video games around

    The Wordwick Games is one of the most popular video games around.  Five teenagers from different parts of the world are selected as winners of a huge contest sponsored by the Wordwick Games, each informed that they won by an omnious figure in a grey hooded cloak, who presents them with a black envelope.  When they arrive at Henry Word's castle, they are all quite taken aback by not only the castle itself, but also Henry Word himself.  After a tour and dinner, they find out that their prize not only includes a week at the castle, but they also get to be the first to test and play the newest level of the Wordwick Games.  They are shown to their rooms, which are quite grand, as is the castle that they are staying in.  One thing in each room that captures their attention is the gaming pod, a device that you actually get into, which is where they will play the game.  Being the curious teens that they are, they can't wait until the next day to begin, so each teen climbs into their pod that night to play.  




    The next thing they know they find themselves changing into more appropriate clothes for the medieval times that the game takes place in, and suddenly they are in the land of Anachronia.  A young wizard, whose name is Goolrick, elicits their help to stop a war that is going on between two oppossing factions.  They also find out the details of their quest and receive instructions for playing the game, which will take them through different obstacles, mysterious and dangerous woods.  They find themselves facing trolls, shadow creatures, zombies, and other magical beings on their way to the dragon's lair. They each have weapons, but their strongest weapons are "ruler words," which they soon learn are a key factor in playing the game.  As they play the game, friendships are formed, alliances are tested, battles are fought, and romance is kindled, while they progress towards the goal of winning the crown.  They are all impressed with how realistic the game is, and as the danger intensifies things seem to get a little too real, at least for a game, or is it?  




    I found the Rise of the Fire Tamer to be a fun fantasy and enjoyed journeying with these teens through the land of Anachronia.  The plot was fun and fast paced, and the setting was highly imaginative and entertaining.  The main characters were Gemma, the beautiful blonde girl who is English.  She is one of the main characters and plays a key role in the game.  She is a strong leader and a loyal friend, who is more concerned about the people she is with than winning the game.  Sparks is the handsome quarterback with sandy blonde hair who lives on a ranch in Texas.  He not only is hot, he is very strong and brave, and proves himself to be hero material.  Jack is sort of a nerd, and a very smart one, who is familiar with history, which proves helpful during the game.  He is shy, especially around Gemma, but there is more to Jack than meets the eye.  Rio is from east L.A.  He is dark, mysterious, totally hot, and has a dangerous quality about him.  He also is brave and proves himself to be quite the warrior in the game.  Then there is Kat, who is outspoken, kind of small, cute, but has the whole gothic type thing going on.  She doesn't want to be a conformist and this sometimes gets her into trouble, which she soon finds out as she plays the game.  All three of the guys have a thing for Gemma, as does the young wizard Goolrick, which adds a hint of romance to the story and proves to be quite interesting.  




    Rise of the Fire Tamer is a fun fantasy filled story with all kinds of mythical creatures, heroes and heroines, evil villans, battles, and a fire breathing dragon to boot.  If you enjoy fantasy and fairy tales, with a modern twist in a medieval setting, then The Fire Tamer is something you may want to check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A high fantasy within a game?  Ogres, trolls, zombies and not to

    A high fantasy within a game?  Ogres, trolls, zombies and not to mention a dragon.  What more could you ask for?

    Rise of the Fire Tamer is a novel about a group of five teens who win a chance to explore a game that their favorite game creator has made.  All of them make their way to castle - not knowing that their lives, particularly one life is about to change forever.  Each face challenges as they try to win the game that would make them the ruler of Anachronia.  But is the game really a game or is it something more?  I will leave you with that, instead of continuing to regurgitate the book description.

    There seemed to be five main characters in this book, however it appeared there were only possibly two, maybe three, that the story revolved around.  That was Gem and Sparks and a secondary character, Roolrick.  The other three main characters felt like they were there just to make up numbers.  That being said though, this is only the first book of a series so it could be that the others come into play more in those books. 

    I really enjoyed this story, mainly because I liked how it started as realistic fiction and then went off into high fantasy.  I loved the mythical creatures that came into play and how words were used as weapons.  And, I also enjoyed the interactions with the dragon and Gem.  There was also a subtle conspiracy in the book that made me want to kick a character for his stupidity  But, even then I couldn't hate him because I could understand his reasoning for the things he chose to do.

    The pace was enjoyable too.  I like books that don't bored me to death and this one didn't.  This one made me want to go on to read the next in the series.  The writing style of this book felt familiar to me as well.  I'm sure it was in the J K Rowling style.  It just had that vibe about it - especially at the beginning.

    I would recommend this to anyone who likes high adventure and a writing style that is somewhat different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    A Winner! Not only does this book have a great original story,

    A Winner! Not only does this book have a great original story, but it has fresh characters that you will grow to love. I was rooting for certain ones to win, especially Gem. Fun book that also has a great way of helping people pick up vocabulary. I'd recommend this book to any high school class and reader of fantasy and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1