Customer Reviews for

Rise to Rebellion: A Novel of the American Revolution

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Rise to Rebellion

I am a high school teacher, and I can say that Rise to Rebellion is among the best and most thorough and captivating history novels I have read. It conveys the events leading up to 1776 through the eyes of the major historical figures of the time -- Franklin, Washingto...
I am a high school teacher, and I can say that Rise to Rebellion is among the best and most thorough and captivating history novels I have read. It conveys the events leading up to 1776 through the eyes of the major historical figures of the time -- Franklin, Washington, Gage, Howe, Adams (both of them), King George, and so on. It's historical accuracy is accutely maintaned as the author successfully transports the reader into the social and political dynamics of the period. It will enable students and non-students alike to truly get to know the key figures in American history. A quick read, despite the nearly 500 pages.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read as always.

I have to admit that I have thoroughly enjoyed all of Jeff's novels, including his most recent title "Rise to Rebellion", though it was a much slower read than his previous three. As a writer of historical fiction myself, I can empathize with the difficulty in staying t...
I have to admit that I have thoroughly enjoyed all of Jeff's novels, including his most recent title "Rise to Rebellion", though it was a much slower read than his previous three. As a writer of historical fiction myself, I can empathize with the difficulty in staying true to history in your novel, while trying to tie it all together into a coherent, entertaining book. Not an easy task. "Rise to Rebellion" may not be his best work, but I still feel better off for having taken the time to read it and as always, eagerly await his next installment.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great read from the early days of the colonies defiance!

    In this book the author takes the reader from the early days of the colonies rejection to British rule through the signing of the Declaration of Independence. He covers numerous characters that were critical and some that played a supportive role in the founding of the USA, e.g., George Washington, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, and some of the British generals. The author is very detailed in giving his view as to the thinking and emotions of the cast of characters in the book. The book was easy to follow and it provided a number of insights in the many historical figures that were active during the Revolutionary War. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    Balanced to a Fault

    If you walked up to the average American standing on the street and asked them on what date The Declaration of Independence was signed the most likely answer you would get is ¿Everyone knows that, July 4th, 1776.¿ Or try asking him ¿Which hill was the Battle of Bunker Hill was fought on?¿ I¿ll give you a hint¿ it wasn¿t on Bunker Hill. The fact is that many Americans carry around these types of iconic myths regarding the era of the American Revolution. Jeff Shaara¿s fourth novel, ¿Rise to Rebellion,¿ the first of two books to cover the period of the American Revolution, dispels many of these myths. Spanning six and a half years, beginning with the Boston Massacre on March 5th, 1770 and ending with the signing of the Declaration of Independence on August 2nd, 1776, Mr. Shaara follows the lives such noted historical personalities as Benjamin Franklin, Samuel Adams, John and Abigail Adams, George Washington, Thomas Gage, Thomas Hutchinson, John Dickinson, Thomas Paine and John Hancock as they struggle to further their causes, both for and against, the independence of the American colonies from the rule of the British crown. Once again, using his father, Michael Shaara¿s, tried and true method of multiple view points we view events such as the Boston Tea Party, The Battles of Lexington & Concord, and the Battle of Bunker Hill through the eyes of the characters who participated in the actual historical events. The genius of the Shaara formula lies not only within the shifting viewpoints but in the balanced approach to the material, not only concentrating on the American point of view, but also that of the British. He also shows the military struggle between the two sides and the political and diplomatic struggles of both sides as well - most notably following Benjamin Franklin as he navigates the stormy political seas of the British Parliament and the royal court of King George III. To balance military, political, diplomatic and social history is a difficult task and yet Shaara has succeeded masterfully at it. However the one drawback of ¿Rise to Rebellion,¿ and one that I fear Jeff Shaara will never break free of, is that of the formulaic structure of the book itself. Alas it is the alternating, multiple viewpoint structure that he inherited from his father, Michael Shaara, author of the Pulitzer Prize winning, The Killer Angels. Though it works well to provide a well balanced view of the contrasting sides, it impedes the author from trying a more literary approach to his story telling. Mr. Shaara¿s novel is a sweeping, yet balanced, panorama of the people and events which gave birth to the United States of America and is worthy of its place on the bookshelf of American historical fiction

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    This is a great book for all history lovers. It gives an in dept

    This is a great book for all history lovers. It gives an in depth look at  the time leading up to the Revolutionary War through the eyes of some of its greatest leaders.
     It is historically accurate and engaging.  I have learned more from this than from any other book I've read on the subject. The characters are fantastic and portrayed
     in a way that makes you feel as if you knew them.  Shaara pulls you in and makes you feel like part of the story. I think this is a great read, and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Foundation comes at a high price

    After reading about the foundation of this great nation, one can comprehend the mindstate in which our founding fathers were in when they sacrificed their liberty and freedom to start a new beginning for all who pursue freedom of mind, body and soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    book review

    Rise to Rebellion by Jeff Shaara is a good book. It teaches the reader more about the revolutionary war. The book tells the story in order of the events happened in history. This book has a soap opera setup, which a different person tells a part of the story. This will keep you very interested in the book. What I liked the most about the book is that it taught the reader a lot about the process our country went through to get our independence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Good Book!

    This book was a really good history book. This book took place in the 1770s to about 1776. This is a war book.It talks about the boston masacre and the declaration of independence. If you like to read about history books or just want to learn a little more about history I would recomend this book for you. I like to read about history books and it really kept my interest going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    Quality, but not excellence

    This is a quality wtiting of the American Revolution that does an adequate job of telling the story through the eyes of those who were there. I particularly enjoyed reading about Ben Franklin. The author excells at bringing out the strange personality of Dr. Franklin and the book makes for a quick and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Shaara Shines

    While not on a par with his excellent Civil War works, "Rise to Rebellion" provides a marvelous look into the lives of those individuals who became our founding fathers. My personal knowledge of the American Revolution was limited to fifth grade history class, as I became more enamoured with the Civil War. It is because of this, I think, that I struggled through some portions of the story. In truth, this book provided me the opportunity to gain much needed knowledge of this most important period in American History, for without it there is no such thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2