Customer Reviews for

Rise to Rebellion: A Novel of the American Revolution

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Rise to Rebellion

I am a high school teacher, and I can say that Rise to Rebellion is among the best and most thorough and captivating history novels I have read. It conveys the events leading up to 1776 through the eyes of the major historical figures of the time -- Franklin, Washingto...
I am a high school teacher, and I can say that Rise to Rebellion is among the best and most thorough and captivating history novels I have read. It conveys the events leading up to 1776 through the eyes of the major historical figures of the time -- Franklin, Washington, Gage, Howe, Adams (both of them), King George, and so on. It's historical accuracy is accutely maintaned as the author successfully transports the reader into the social and political dynamics of the period. It will enable students and non-students alike to truly get to know the key figures in American history. A quick read, despite the nearly 500 pages.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read as always.

I have to admit that I have thoroughly enjoyed all of Jeff's novels, including his most recent title "Rise to Rebellion", though it was a much slower read than his previous three. As a writer of historical fiction myself, I can empathize with the difficulty in staying t...
I have to admit that I have thoroughly enjoyed all of Jeff's novels, including his most recent title "Rise to Rebellion", though it was a much slower read than his previous three. As a writer of historical fiction myself, I can empathize with the difficulty in staying true to history in your novel, while trying to tie it all together into a coherent, entertaining book. Not an easy task. "Rise to Rebellion" may not be his best work, but I still feel better off for having taken the time to read it and as always, eagerly await his next installment.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    Rise to Rebellion

    I am a high school teacher, and I can say that Rise to Rebellion is among the best and most thorough and captivating history novels I have read. It conveys the events leading up to 1776 through the eyes of the major historical figures of the time -- Franklin, Washington, Gage, Howe, Adams (both of them), King George, and so on. It's historical accuracy is accutely maintaned as the author successfully transports the reader into the social and political dynamics of the period. It will enable students and non-students alike to truly get to know the key figures in American history. A quick read, despite the nearly 500 pages.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    History made exciting

    -This is an exciting and insightful look into history that reads like a thriller novel drawing the reader into the story. And despite knowing the outcome you will find yourself wondering at the climax at the close of each chapter.
    -A very unique perspective in that not just one side of the story is told. Instead, the reader is involved with most of the major players.
    -This is a great book and the first half of the story. The second book that completes the story is The Glorious Cause which is just as well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Very good

    Jeff Shaara knows his stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Must read if you like American History

    Very impressed with the amount of research that was required to put you in the minds of these characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    The Founding Fathers

    I didn't realize how little I knew about the founding of my country until I read this book. Shaara's ability to make a novel both informative and entertaining his second-to-none. Shaara makes you feel like you're with these men as they struggle to lead America to Independence. Unlike most of his novels, this one features little war and fighting, and deals more with the "rise to rebellion". I find the political intrigue and details behind what lead us to break away from Britain equally as fascinating as the war itself. But, if you want fighting, you may be a little disappointed. Told through the eyes of Benjamin Franklin, John Adams and George Washington, you gain a new appreciation for each of these men. I also found Samuel Adams and Joseph Warren to be fascinating men as well. Read about how these men had to battle and persuade their own countrymen that independence was the only course of action before they could truly battle Britain. This book will give you a new appreciation for the men who founded this country. It's hard for me to rank Shaara's books, but I'm doubtful that I'll read a series of books on any other war/conflict that will be as good as these two book on the revolution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Great read.

    Shaara writes an excellent story around factual history. I have checked many of the episodes in his book against actual history and he is very faithful to the facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend - A must read.

    If you enjoy reading about our histroy, you will enjoy this book. It is written from the view of the participants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    book

    It is an okay book it does not go very fast and not much action

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Brilliant

    I love this novel because you get to look at the revolution in a totally new view than most history novels, which only follow the battles. Witnessing the political and social aspects of the revolution was interesting and entertaining. It was a unique experiance becoming intimate with the characters that helped shape our nation. A fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Shaara

    This book is required reading for tenth grade history AP in my school. The size and small font were discouraging at first but when I started reading it, I was hooked. It's one of those books that is so good you don't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Historically Awestruck!!

    Time and again I am overwhelmed by this authors style of taking me not only into history but into the lives of the characters in the most personal view points. I have been drawn to reading like never before in my 44 years. Thank You Mr. Shaara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    I pledge allegiance to...

    This book was fasinating. The events leading to the declaration of this nation's independence are formidable. The average family man who led this country from an abused country to a strong independent country, coupled with the God-given talents that surfaced when time called them forth, are extraordinary. The author brings this era to life again as he shows you the big picture and explains the smallest detail. I look forward to reading the sequel to this book, also written by Jeff Shaara, The Glorious Cause.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Awsome!

    I am 20 years old and feel truly inspired by this book. Shaara humanizes some of the greatest actors in our countries history (Adams, Washington, Franklin, Gage etc.) I highly reccomend this book for anyone with a desire to expand their understanding of America. Instead of mearly hearing about these great men and women secondhand, Shaara puts them there infront of you for you to be amazed. Highly dramatic and engaging this book keeps the pages turning. A side note: Even more interesting if you are familiar with the greater Boston area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    A Remarkable Accomplishment

    Being the first book of its kind that I have ever read, I was thorougly impressed. Jeff Shaara vividly recreates minds of the founding fathers and the events that started the American Revolution without ever straying from historical fact. Though it is a novel, it could very well be a text book. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Relive The American Revolution

    You ever wondered what it would have been like back during the American Revolution? Rise to Rebellion makes all of the key figures of history come to life, like: John Adams, General Gage, Benjamin Franklin, Paul Revere, Governor Hutchinson, Captain Hall of the Gaspee, General Pitcairn, Dr. John Warren, and General Washington. The following is a list of characters that also contribute to the story: Samuel Adams, John Dickinson, Governor William Franklin (Benjamin¿s son), Margaret Stevenson (B. Franklin¿s landlady), Richard Henry Lee (congress), Will Strahan (friend of B. Franklin), General Aretemas Ward (continental army), John Hancock (president of congress), William Pit Ward (Lord Chatham),Thomas Pain and even Paul Revere. The book is written well and easy to understand. This fictional-History account of the events from 1770 through 1776 are so well told that you feel like you are there. I would highly recommend that you read Rise to Rebellion by Jeff Shaara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    A Riviting Account

    Though this book is categorized as historical fiction, it is a must read for any enthusiast of American Revolutionary history. In the same cogent style as Michener's TEXAS, Shaara manages to successfully meld fiction with historical accuracy. Shaara does a fabulous job of giving life and character to the parties involved in the circumstances leading up to the American Revolution. The book begins with the events surrounding the Boston Massacre and takes the reader on a stimulating journey through the drafting and signing of the Declaration of Independence. Terrific insight is given to the personalities involved. If there is a flaw to this book, it is the authors' incessant love for the use of descriptive adjectives and punctuation. You will find hard to comprehend sentence structure on occasion. I recall sentences containing up to 10 commas and recall sentences that had to be reread to fully comprehend, but this book is definitely worth the effort. This is the type of historically accurate book that could be used to stimulate interest among students in American classrooms. If you want to know more about the events that led to the American Revolution, read this book. Shaara holds the readers' interest by giving personality to historical figures and you will find yourself riveted to this book. The featured characters of the book are Franklin, Adams, Washington and Gage, with strong emphasis on other characters such as Hutchinson, Sam Adams, Dickenson and Jefferson. Shaara won my admiration with this book and I will definitely be adding more of his works to my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    this is a great book

    I think that Rise To Rebellion is a very good book, and I liked it because of many reasons. First, this book teach the reader about the events that happened before the revolutionary war. Second, this book uses easy language to explain the story. Also, this book gives alot of information about its characters. Finaly, I like to recommend this book to the other readers because I think it is a great book that explains the events that led to a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Another GREAT book

    I was first introduced to the Shaara's writing style in The Killer Angels, and I loved it. It puts you right in the mind of the generals(and soldiers) that fought the wars. I find that I can read for hours and it keeps my attention the whole time, unlike other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    A truly wonderful book

    I am an avid reader of historical non-fiction and was initially hesitant to indulge in a fictional work that might misconstrue the facts of this most important time in the history of our country. I am, however, delighted to have picked up Shaara's book. He has done enough historical research to keep the facts from wandering far afield, and his characterizations are carefully drawn from known facts from the lives of each of these individuals. The main strength of this book is that it brings to our awareness the emotions underneath the challenges and dangers faced by these courageous individuals. It introduces us to the lives and families of each major player in the events leading up to the American Revolution. I recommend this for readers both young and old; it will renew your pride in this country and affirm your admiration for our founding fathers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    excellent narrative of american revolution

    mr Jeff shaara writes books that are a pleasure to read. I have read all of his books and each time I felt as I was right there with the characters and the historical famous people. I hope he continues to write the historical narratives he is wonderful at. For myself, being a first generation immigrant the 2 books about the American Revolution were very very interesting but also educational. His Civil War books relieve the battles so vividly that at times I felt I was in Fredericksburg or Antietam, right along with the shooting and the smoke and the cries of the wounded. Not to take anything away from the author, but his father's Killer Angels is such a classic that every trip I have made to Gettysburg, I use the book as a guide, not the tourist guide. The movie is just an added bonus to really 'see' the battle. My sincere hope is that he goes back at least once more to the American Revolution and continues through 1812 and the war of 1812. The historical characters are so engaging and alive that I would like to see what happened to all of them as the new century arrived. Another project should be the French Revolution as it is very closely related to the American. Good luck and good writing MR Shaara

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3