Customer Reviews for

The Rising: Antichrist Is Born (Before They Were Left Behind Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Addition

I have read all 12 books of the LB Series. I saw this book in a store just browsing! Picked it up and didn't put it down for 2 days! I think there were definitely some slow parts, but they are quickly made up for with other more informative and exciting parts. I am d...
I have read all 12 books of the LB Series. I saw this book in a store just browsing! Picked it up and didn't put it down for 2 days! I think there were definitely some slow parts, but they are quickly made up for with other more informative and exciting parts. I am definitely counting down the days until I can get the next book in November. Wonderful job guys! :0)

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as Good

I have read the entire Left Behind series, and always was very impresse with the level of writing and the details in the stories, but in this book I found many things unbelievable. such as high speed internet as Carpathia as a child, I dont believe it to be accurate. ...
I have read the entire Left Behind series, and always was very impresse with the level of writing and the details in the stories, but in this book I found many things unbelievable. such as high speed internet as Carpathia as a child, I dont believe it to be accurate. Overall a good story but not up the same quality as the others.

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Wonderful Addition

    I have read all 12 books of the LB Series. I saw this book in a store just browsing! Picked it up and didn't put it down for 2 days! I think there were definitely some slow parts, but they are quickly made up for with other more informative and exciting parts. I am definitely counting down the days until I can get the next book in November. Wonderful job guys! :0)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    Amazing

    I absolutely loved this book. I could not put it down. The continual spiritual battle kept me on the edge of my seat. It definitely had a crazy twist at the end. If you want to know, you'll have to read it yourself. You should definitely read this book. It makes you think twice about the decisions you make and who you trust because it could change your life and maybe even the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!

    I have been wanting to read this series for a long time. Decided to when I purchased my Nook Color. Now I can't put it down. I'm in book #2 now. Good read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    good prequel

    After reading most of the left behind novels, i figured I give The Rising a try and it is a good read that goes into detail why and how the characters were molded before the rapture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    Not as Good

    I have read the entire Left Behind series, and always was very impresse with the level of writing and the details in the stories, but in this book I found many things unbelievable. such as high speed internet as Carpathia as a child, I dont believe it to be accurate. Overall a good story but not up the same quality as the others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    I recently read ¿The Rising¿. Written by author¿s Tim Lahaye and

    I recently read “The Rising”. Written by author’s Tim Lahaye and Jerry b. Jenkins. Tim Lahaye, conceived the idea of fictionalizing an account of the rapture and tribulation. He is also a noted author, minister, and a nationally recognized speaker on bible prophecy. Jerry B. Jenkins, is the writer of the left behind series. He is former vice president of publishing for the moody bible institute of Chicago.
    In this book Marilena a professor prays for the day she gets impregnated. As Soring, her homosexual husband refuses to ger her pregnant she starts going to these Tuesday night meetings that tell her something that’ll changer her life, and answer her prayer but not from jesus Christ himself. 
    In my opinion I thought the point of the book was to tell the reader to be careful what you wish for, because what you wish for might not be what you want. You may get the complete opposite of what you ask for, but at the end I realized it was to put all your trust in god and let himi determine your future. 
    From my perspective of the book I did not enjoy it, because its based on Lucifer himself and all the powers he is capable of doing and how he can ruin your life without even knowing it, and it also implies that he is a better god than god himself. The authors could improve the book by maintaining a steady setting and not jump from one set of a conversation to another. 
    I would recommend this book to readers who find amuzement to the opposing side of god. They need to know that his is a very critical book that you need to really pay attention to, because it can get very confusing at times. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I was really intrigued by this book. There was a lot of jumping

    I was really intrigued by this book. There was a lot of jumping around which almost always drives me crazy. the stories were both very interesting, I just didn't really like reading them simultaneously. But that's just me.  I tend to get interested in one story and want to skip ahead to see whats next instead of reading the in between. I try to fight it, I really do, but sometimes I don't win lol. So there was some going back to pieces I missed from time to time. But other than that, I really enjoyed this book.




    This book is about a woman that has always been a seeker of knowledge. She has always been fulfilled by her life as a teacher and scholar until now, and now, her motherly instincts have kicked in full force. 




    Marilena and her husband  have never wanted children together. He has children from his previous marriage and she has always been happy learning what she could from him. A child never even entered her mind. They didn't have room for a child in their lives. But now, a baby was all she could think about. She is desperate to find something to get her mind off of her longing to be a mother when she comes across a flier advertising a group for people who are looking for more in their life. How much more, Marilena could have never guessed.




    After several meetings with this group with predictions of a child in her future, she decides to approach her husband about it. Instead of getting the answers she was hoping for, he takes their conversation in a totally different direction and it seems that she will soon find herself single. But it doesn't lessen her need for a child any more. She is still determined to be a mother and as it turns out, the leader from the group that she has joined wants to help her. How can she say no, when it seems her dreams of being a mother are  within her reach? But will motherhood be all she has ever hoped it would be? This seems a little too good to be true.








    Also in this book is a story about the life of a young boy named Ray Steele. Ray's family is a middle class family. His parents are older than the other kids and his father is a small business owner. He has always envied the kids with money. What he would give to have the things they have and live the lives they did. That will be his life someday he thinks. Somehow, he will make it happen. Ray has always gone to church with his family, but he has never really gotten it. In his church they don't teach salvation, everyone is just trying to live the best they can and hope that it is enough. But when his friend asks him if he is saved, he becomes a little consumed by it, but his parents don't want to talk about it with him. That stuff is for the holy rollers, not for them. They are just supposed to do the best they can to live like they should. But is that really enough?




    As Ray grows, he goes through many different stages in his life. At first he is popular and a star athlete, then he went through his awkward stage. By the end of school, he was the star athlete again. All he has ever wanted is to be a pilot or a professional athlete. With his fathers help, he has been taking flying lessons and will be a licensed pilot before he graduates high school. But it seems that it may be too late for catch the eyes of any college scouts to make it as a pro athlete.  




    With college in his future and ROTC his college years are shaping up to be very interesting. Will his life turn out to be all he has ever hoped for? I guess you will have to read and find out. 




    There are many twists and turns in this book that you won't want to miss. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Awesome! Highly Recommended!

    The Left Behind series is incredibly good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    very interesting

    This should have been the 1st book in the left behind series. I read the first series of Left Behind and then read the "prequels". Great job LaHaye and Jenkins. Brought me back to the Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Read before Left Behind I

    Not as spellbinding as the Left Behind Series, but still thought-provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining Fiction with Some Dangerous Beliefs

    This book is the first of a series of prequels to the huge Left Behind Series. Because I have read all of the others, I wanted to read the remaining volumes as well. I enjoyed this book for the most part, as I believe any fan of the original series will. It simply delves in more detail into the early lives of two of the Left Behind series main characters, one of whom is the anti-Christ. I have mixed feelings about these novels. One the one hand I find them entertaining (I wouldn’t have read over a dozen volumes, if I didn’t.), on the other hand, I don’t agree with all of the dogma or specific religious beliefs of the very opinionated authors. So while there are some important ideas, and even some truths put forth in these stories, the fact remains that they are fiction and should be read as such.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel, “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Loved it

    Had read the first 9 books in the series about 2 1/2 years ago.. decided to go back to the beginning and see how it all started so I can finally finish the series...and glad I did! Read it in 3 days and on to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    great. book.

    very easy to read. loved the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I loved this book and couldn't put it down once I started reading it. Great plot. Easy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Good book, reader not so great

    The book and the storyline are very good, but the man reading the book is a little boring. It is easy to loose concentration with this reader. It might be better to read the book for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Left me wanting more

    The story was well written it took me sometime to get into the it but I enjoyed it overall. I just was left wanting more with how it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting Series

    I really enjoyed the original series starting with Left Behind. This really helped explain how Nicholai came into being. Although fiction, it really makes you take inventory of your beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    wonderful for children

    I consider these books on par with the Harry Potter series. It is important to have a escape from reality into fantasy in today's world. And unlike JK Rowling, Tim LaHaye really taps into that child-like vein of innocent cruelty that few adults can muster. Read it out loud to your friends, a real hoot!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Diffrent...

    I have read all #12 Left Behind books and all #40 kids books and i must say that they did a fantastic job with this book. Although you didn't see much of Rayford till the end of the novel, i liked how they showed the history of Nichole and his mother and how his father didn't want to be involved. I can only imagine that the next book will be about Buck and his family....and i can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Trying to get blood from a turnip.

    When I heard that there was a prequel and epilogue I thought that the story would be pretty good. Yet the whole story from the get go was pretty lame. I mean Carpathia as a child was a real brat, already knowing that he had power and acting like so. Yet at the beginning of the whole series, Carpathia is a real nice guy. Even behind the scenes. Rayford is made to look even worse as dumb jock. It seems that Lahaye & Jenkins are just writing anything, because they are under contract on the Left Behind series. The series it self was made longer than needed be. When the epilouge comes out I hope it's a little better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4