Customer Reviews for

Rising Moon (A Nightcreature Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Paranormal Romance Readers!

This book is actually quite a ways through the series, but I enjoyed it just as much as all of Handeland's other books. For me, a romance doesn't feel like such a waste of time if the author carries an overall plot through many different books. It gives you the chance t...
This book is actually quite a ways through the series, but I enjoyed it just as much as all of Handeland's other books. For me, a romance doesn't feel like such a waste of time if the author carries an overall plot through many different books. It gives you the chance to become emotionally attached to the characters, and makes it much more than a simple romance novel.
Although each novel is able to stand alone, the characters and events have so much more meaning to them when the reader knows the histories behind them. Start with the first novel, "Blue Moon", and hopefully you will enjoy this author as much as I have!

posted by BluHawk on November 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Put this on Nook!!!

I started this series and the first five I could get on my Nook, now I am hooked and to read this I need to get it in paperback? What is going on? I have the Nook program on my android phone also and I enjoy not having to haul books around, then if I would like to rea...
I started this series and the first five I could get on my Nook, now I am hooked and to read this I need to get it in paperback? What is going on? I have the Nook program on my android phone also and I enjoy not having to haul books around, then if I would like to read a little here and there I can. I can't seem to want to order this one in a paperback and I really don't want to continue the series until I finish this one.

posted by ImLuney on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Good read

    Good story. I enjoy the Nightcreature Series. Edward is great. I can reread these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Put this on Nook!!!

    I started this series and the first five I could get on my Nook, now I am hooked and to read this I need to get it in paperback? What is going on? I have the Nook program on my android phone also and I enjoy not having to haul books around, then if I would like to read a little here and there I can. I can't seem to want to order this one in a paperback and I really don't want to continue the series until I finish this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Paranormal Romance Readers!

    This book is actually quite a ways through the series, but I enjoyed it just as much as all of Handeland's other books. For me, a romance doesn't feel like such a waste of time if the author carries an overall plot through many different books. It gives you the chance to become emotionally attached to the characters, and makes it much more than a simple romance novel. <BR/>Although each novel is able to stand alone, the characters and events have so much more meaning to them when the reader knows the histories behind them. Start with the first novel, "Blue Moon", and hopefully you will enjoy this author as much as I have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    must read

    I really like this book it has a really cool twist almost to the end.I love how they meet and how lori makes his character mysterious.It just makes you wander at first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Her Best Yet!

    Anne Lockhart is a private investigator on a mission to find her sister Katie. Missing for three years, a photo in the mail of Katie spurs an impromptu trip to New Orleans, where Anne's pretty sure she can never fit in amongst the voodoo and Mardi Gras spirit. She heads straight for the Rising Moon, the club her sister appeared in front of, where she encounters an astounding man. His musical talents draw people like bees to honey and his blatant sex appeal doesn't hurt either. John Rodolfo, blind and loner by choice, is more moved by Anne than he'd like to be. Her voice calls to him, and before long, her pull is too strong to resist. Even as their attraction wins out, John condemns himself for he can bring her nothing good. As Anne unravels the mystery of the missing Katie, John's involvement becomes frighteningly clearer and the unexplained deaths in New Orleans for the past six months come to a boiling head. Voodoo alters, strange wolves and multiple missing persons make for a confounding stage, but Anne manages to hold her own admirably. With all its amazing twists, this one kept me guessing till the very end. What started as a series about her jager-sucher (German for 'hunter-searcher') characters hunting down supernatural baddies, has transpired now into the Nightcreature series (in the last three books, this one included). The focus is more on the werewolves, in various forms, and how their continued mayhem has affected the city of New Orleans. Dirty, raucous and yet still hopeful, New Orleans itself has a strong voice in this novel, with clear tributes made, celebrating its survival instincts and love of passionate life. There can be no better place for this series as Handeland draws it out and encourages its gritty and boisterous nature. Her characters thrive there and soon Anne is living the strange unreality the city so often portrays. Her drive to find her missing sister, while vital, does not define her. Her character still feels passion and sympathy for those around her. She's the perfect counterpart to John's determined aloofness and determinedly self-inflicted torment. If readers have followed the series, John will begin to ring eerily familiar and the surprising twist towards the end may have you gasping at his identity. Several previous characters make an appearance, the jager-suchers, Detective Sullivan and the gutsy voodoo priestess Cassandra, but this one can be read alone and still be moderately enjoyed. Would I personally advise it? No. To fully understand and appreciate John's plight, readers might want to have at least read 'Crescent Moon', the official start of the Nightcreature chapter in the series. The romance, I'm happy to say, picked up considerably in this installment. Their attraction is believable and heartwrenching. Handeland's signature tight, clean writing style might seem bare bones to some, but fits so well with her fast-paced and suspenceful storylines. Another five star winner from an amazing author. Her next Nightcreature novel, 'Hidden Moon', releases July 31, 2007.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Rising Moon

    Anne Lockhart has come to the Big Easy in search of her sister who vanished several years ago. Her one clue says that Katie visited a jazz club known as the Rising Moon, so Anne takes a job there. Soon, she learns that her sister was not the only person to vanish after visiting that place. There are other rumors too, of voodoo and werewolves. Despite suspiscions and risks, Anne also finds herself powerfully attracted to, perhaps even in love with the blind, enigmatic owner of the Rising Moon, John Rodolfo. When she can no longer deny the truth about what is going on around her, it will be too late to do the sensible thing and leave she will be in the middle of the deepest danger. ***** Of all the Night Creatures books, this one has the most poignant of endings. Rodolfo is a powerful hero with a haunted past and a secret that will surprise you. Rising Moon is suspenseful, passionate, and edgy, but it's also a true feel good read with a message of hope and redemption. *****

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    The best of all three books.

    Really good book! I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    So hot it burns.

    This book has an attachment to a previous book and is a great followup on an old character. The chracter seems very sad and melancholy but full of passion for the girl in the story. Their attraction is magnetic and inevitable. The story keeps you on the edge until the last minute. Great book for anyone who likes werewolves and romance. If this is the first book you have read of the series, I recommend you read them all from the first to the last. One of my all time favorite series of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Good read...

    This was a good book. I read it a few years ago when it first came out in paperback. Lori Handeland always delivers. The entire series is great. However, I now have a nook and would love to see this book offered so that I can complete my e-book collection. Hopefully soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fascinating paranormal romantic suspense thriller

    In New Orleans three years ago Katie vanished her sister, private investigator Anne Lockheart put her life on hold as she did all the right things involved with a missing person plus began her own fruitless search to find her missing sibling. Her efforts to find her sister remained futile until someone left a photo of Katie in Anne¿s mailbox. Her sis is standing in front of the French Quarter jazz club RISING MOON.------------ Anne goes undercover obtaining a job at the Rising Moon. However, though she remains obsessed she finds herself for the first time in three years distracted as she is attracted to the blind owner-musician John Rodolfo. She thinks he is the key to learn what happened to Katie though when confronted he denies knowing her. As Anne unravels his secrets especially his passion for vanishing at night, she realizes she has fallen in love, but finding Katie remains the top priority and only then can she consider what he really is besides her soulmate.------------- This is a fascinating paranormal romantic suspense thriller that grips readers from the onset when Anne sees the photo that invigorates her and never slows down as she begins to wonder whether her soulmate could be a vicious killing beast who includes her sister as part of his count. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action as Lori Handeland continues her dark moonlit entertaining New Orleans thrillers with another supernatural winner.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2