Customer Reviews for

Rising Sun: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Intelligent

This book reflects Crighton's ability to research issues and place them in a believable and entertaining story. It's a bit obvious at points that he is preaching on an issue of American culture: how we are losing our country's business to Japan. It raises the brow, ma...
This book reflects Crighton's ability to research issues and place them in a believable and entertaining story. It's a bit obvious at points that he is preaching on an issue of American culture: how we are losing our country's business to Japan. It raises the brow, making the reader take a philisophical view on how our country chooses to strive. I recommend this book those who likes an intelligent, insightful read, as well as anyone who enjoys a clever suspense.

posted by Anonymous on November 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great book marred

Rising Sun is good. It could have been a lot better if Crichton had not written so many economic business plans. In parts, he almost turns paragraphs into essays detailing how the Japanese are better at business than America. The mystery plot is well done and complex...
Rising Sun is good. It could have been a lot better if Crichton had not written so many economic business plans. In parts, he almost turns paragraphs into essays detailing how the Japanese are better at business than America. The mystery plot is well done and complex, but at times takes a backseat to Crichton's explanations of why the Japanese were destroying us economically when the book was written. Michael Crichton has far better books than Rising Sun. The book's only saving grace (and it is a big one) is the complex and well written mystery. Crichton's skill at writing such things shines through, but the both anti and pro Japanese business explanations marrs it badly. In conclusion? He's got far better books.

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Very Intelligent

    This book reflects Crighton's ability to research issues and place them in a believable and entertaining story. It's a bit obvious at points that he is preaching on an issue of American culture: how we are losing our country's business to Japan. It raises the brow, making the reader take a philisophical view on how our country chooses to strive. I recommend this book those who likes an intelligent, insightful read, as well as anyone who enjoys a clever suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2001

    A great book marred

    Rising Sun is good. It could have been a lot better if Crichton had not written so many economic business plans. In parts, he almost turns paragraphs into essays detailing how the Japanese are better at business than America. The mystery plot is well done and complex, but at times takes a backseat to Crichton's explanations of why the Japanese were destroying us economically when the book was written. Michael Crichton has far better books than Rising Sun. The book's only saving grace (and it is a big one) is the complex and well written mystery. Crichton's skill at writing such things shines through, but the both anti and pro Japanese business explanations marrs it badly. In conclusion? He's got far better books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Lela

    Is in res 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Hey dawn star got your msg

    At bluestars prophocy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Welcomd to Dawnclan

    Just ask the leader if you want join. And place your bio at res 1. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Jade

    Gtgtb bbt baby?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Great one.

    I liked the part where Peter was trying to study Japanese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Good

    It was a very good book with twists and turns to keep you reading until the very last page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Felt I knew the characters personally

    This was the first book I have read by crichton and it was amazing. Read it back in high school and when I was done I felt like the main character was someone I could actually know and have a conversation with. Loved it. Highly recommend to anyone interested in crichton.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad, but he's written more exciting books

    I read this several years ago, finding it moderately interesting. For me it was a look inside modern Japanese culture. It was a bit too political for me. I've found many of Crichton's books to be very exciting, but this wasn't one of them. B&N asked for a review because I bought it as a gift for my son, who loves Japan, and will be going back there in summer.
    If you want to read an exciting Crichton book, read "Prey"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it! One of my favorites.

    I absolutely loved this book. I can honestly say that it is now one of my favorite books and I will be keeping it in my library for the rest of my life. The characters were really good, my favorite being Peter Smith. I also loved Connor, probably because he is fluent in Japanese and knows the Japanese culture really well. And, he is probably one of the more interesting characters in the book. He figured out things about the murder at Nakamoto that he only tells Smith later in the book, which helps build it's suspense in my opinion. Also, great thriller. If you want to read this book, you want to read it on a weekend or days off like I did because it's a real page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    A great book.

    This is one of the few books of fiction that I enjoyed. I'm more interested in non-fiction, but this book is the ONLY fiction book that I've read more than once. It was highly immersive and kept me reading. I enjoyed it so much that I reread it a couple of years later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Has its moments...

    Crichton does seem to have a thing about protagonists who are single fathers, or who might as well be. With the exception of the main character in AIRFRAME, has he ever written a competent and caring young mother? Peter Smith, the protag of RISING SUN, is a divorced father whose ex-wife literally can't be trusted to change their two-year-old's diaper and do it right. He's also a police lieutenant who has switched from being a detective to the press division - and from there, to being the department's VIP liaison specializing in Japanese VIPs. It's his job to respond whenever a Japanese diplomat or executive gets in trouble with the local law, so that the incident will do as little public relations damage as possible. So one evening as he's studying Japanese (a requirement of his relatively new position), he's called in to smooth matters between an obnoxious detective and the owners of a new office building. Right at the start of their star-studded opening party, those owners have to deal with a murder in their boardroom. Competent writing (I'd expect nothing less from Crichton), a decent although not wonderfully inventive plot, and fairly interesting characters don't save this novel from bogging down whenever the author decides to give his readers a lesson in history, politics, and economics as those disciplines relate to U.S./Japanese relations - especially to the well-known 'buying up' of U.S. real estate and businesses by Japanese investors. I got the feeling that this book was written to sound a warning, not to tell an entertaining story. Yet it does have its moments of crackling suspense, and the relationship between old Japan expert Captain Connor and the much younger Lieutenant Smith comes across both believably and amusingly. Not a total miss, but not Crichton at his best, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    juggalo review

    its a great book. very compact with drama and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    WOW!

    This book is unbelievable. It has so much. It is a great read! The suspense and mystery are wonderful. It is one of Crichton's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2001

    suspense

    this book is for people who like suspense and exicetment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2001

    Rising Sun is OK

    This book is okay. It's not Crichton's best. Compared to some of his other ones, it's not good at all. I do usually enjoy this author's works, but I seriously did not like this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2001

    Crichton at his best!!

    This book has so many twists and turns. I wouldn't pick it up unless you plan on staying up all night at the edge of your bed! I'd tell anyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    This is a GREAT BOOK

    This is one great book! It has sooo many twist and turns, it amazing. I loved it. I recommend this book to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2001

    This is Crichton in good form.

    Michael Crichton has really written quite a book with Rising Sun. Though many have percieved this book as being racist against the Japanese, I hear it was quite accurate at the time. The mystery which unfolds is great. It really pulls you in and you never expect who the murderer is.... and when you think you know, youre wrong! An excellent mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3