Customer Reviews for

The Rising Tide: A Novel of World War II

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

RISING TIDE BY A HIGH SCHOOLER

What I liked about this book is how it gives a insight into World War II. Rising tide by Jeff Shaara gives us the view of every body on each side. I do not think this would be a good read for the majority of high school students. You have to love history to like thi...
What I liked about this book is how it gives a insight into World War II. Rising tide by Jeff Shaara gives us the view of every body on each side. I do not think this would be a good read for the majority of high school students. You have to love history to like this book, you also have to have a sense of maturity to be able to handle this book, which most students do not have regarding this topic. I also believe that it won't be a good read for the high school body because most of us don't like to read historical-non-fiction. When we do read books rather for an assignment or for enjoyment we want action throughout the book not a lot of build up and then just half a chapter of fighting. I however rather enjoyed this book for its keen insight on a major war that changed history and so many things that came from this war. What I like is that the book taught me some historical facts that I didn't already know. The most significant one was that when we first started fighting in North Africa we were fighting the French. I think that it is interesting that we ended up liberating Paris even though they attacked us first. Finally, if you enjoy non-fiction war strategy, then Rising Tide is the book for you. If you want intense action of World War II then pick a different book.

posted by HIGH-SCHOOLER on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Be veryyyyy prepared for a vigorous history lesson.

I did enjoy this book; however it became very slow and textbook like. It is good in many places, but also becomes very docile and meticulous. In the end, reading The Rising Tide became a chore. The book was excellent when talking of the common soldier’s perspective and ...
I did enjoy this book; however it became very slow and textbook like. It is good in many places, but also becomes very docile and meticulous. In the end, reading The Rising Tide became a chore. The book was excellent when talking of the common soldier’s perspective and the madness and horror of the frontlines, but often the book would go far too much strategy and would often come out similar to a lecture. It was good at portraying the difficulty of being a leader and what it really means. Often the leaders in the book made mistakes or couldn’t account for something it made for he problems. By the way whenever Churchill is talked about or shows up he is very comedic and his stranger habits are often shown.
There are many people I would recommend this to. For people who are fans of World War Two and/or US Generals it is a must read. The book shows how difficult it was under Hitler for even his officers. So people who enjoy reading about the holocaust or Nazi would enjoy this.
For people in high school this is an excellent read… if you are a huge history buff. You must be prepared for the many aspects of history in the book and not expect it to be mainly action. Also, don’t be surprised by its length during certain points it goes by quickly.
So overall the book was good, but I think I expected to much of a novel and not enough pure history. Anyway I would give this book a two and a half star rating out of five. It definitely taught me much more than I had previously learned about the role of Africa in World War Two. I will probably read some of Jeff Shaara’s other works.

posted by kilik10 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    RISING TIDE BY A HIGH SCHOOLER

    What I liked about this book is how it gives a insight into World War II. Rising tide by Jeff Shaara gives us the view of every body on each side. I do not think this would be a good read for the majority of high school students. You have to love history to like this book, you also have to have a sense of maturity to be able to handle this book, which most students do not have regarding this topic. I also believe that it won't be a good read for the high school body because most of us don't like to read historical-non-fiction. When we do read books rather for an assignment or for enjoyment we want action throughout the book not a lot of build up and then just half a chapter of fighting. I however rather enjoyed this book for its keen insight on a major war that changed history and so many things that came from this war. What I like is that the book taught me some historical facts that I didn't already know. The most significant one was that when we first started fighting in North Africa we were fighting the French. I think that it is interesting that we ended up liberating Paris even though they attacked us first. Finally, if you enjoy non-fiction war strategy, then Rising Tide is the book for you. If you want intense action of World War II then pick a different book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Great book, looking forward to rest of series

    Great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I've read many books by Jeff and if you like war, history and wa

    I've read many books by Jeff and if you like war, history and want to read it in a way that makes it more interesting, I would highly recommend reading his books. This book starts off the WWII series. It was good to read about the friction that Patton and the other generals had with each other. It's also interesting to learn about the other theatres of the war besides Western Europe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    The First Book of An Excellent Trilogy of WW II

    What was it like to have been involved with WW II?
    Jeff Shaara gives you a good idea of the experience with just enough of the Movers and Shakers to keep you oriented with the Big Picture.
    This first book deals with the beginning of the American entry into the War and deals with the North African campaigns both Victories and embarrassments through the Sicilian invasion.
    I have read the trilogy several times and learn something new each time.

    DR5x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    OMG!!!!

    This is like one of the best books ever! It puts you right in the action! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Great book!

    His style of writing puts you there. He has the abilty to bring the characters alive for the reader. If you like military history, you will like all of his books. I will be reading the "Ther Steel Wave" next. Reading all of his booksd in historic order is great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    living the historical event

    I find Jeff's writing to be rich in detail and accurate historically. I love reading historical fiction. Jeff immerses you in the history of the period and makes it seem as if you are actually there. He makes history seem alive and very relevant. I patrolled the DMZ in Korea in 1969 and 1970. It is my earnest hope that he writes a novel about the Korean Conflict.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great book for history buffs

    If you want to know all of the details of what was going on behind the scenes at this time when giants walked the Earth then Jeff Shaara's books are a must read. This is all about the men who made it happen and all of their hopes and dreams. Not only are the maps a big help to re-create the sprawl of war, the characters are painted in vivid color.

    I have one to go and can't wait to get my hands on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The People Side of WWII--Fascinating

    Jeff Shaara's Rising Tide, part of his WWII trilogy, is a remarkable example of the strengths of historic fiction. 'Historic' because Shaara is painstakingly accurate about all knowable details of the war to end all wars, and 'fiction' because no one can really reproduce all of the personal conversations between generals and political leaders that drove that war. Shaara admirably lives up to--even surpasses--his father Michael Shaara's Killer Angels, the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel of the Civil War, pretty much required reading in most high schools. Not only do readers become intimate with the reasoning behind the Allies Africa campaign, the German Panzer tank battles in Africa, the first use of paratroopers as a weapon, but the story is so compelling, I doubt anyone will ever forget details that would have never been remembered in a textbook. For example, I'm sure I knew at some point in the past that Rommel was sick during his tank campaign in Africa, but it took this book to drive the importance of that point home.

    I happened to read this at the same time as 100 Days, Sandy Woodward's account of the Brit war for the Falklands Island and realized what a massive difference there is between the American and British battle mentality. Americans focus on the end result--how do we win the war with the least loss of life--and the Brits focus on details--approvals, press reaction, cross t's and dotting i's. I mean no disrespect to either side, just an observation.

    The only regret you'll have reading this book is, it's a trilogy. Now, you have to read two more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    This book is very good in its description of the minds of WWII's military leaders. I plan to read every book in this magnificent series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The hell that is war

    Jeff Shaara made an admirable attempt to complete his father's Civil War series, but his sequels, valuable though they are, could not hold a candle to The Killer Angel. Well, Jeff has done a lot of writing since then, and his WWII series, if The Rising Tide is a fair indication, matches the work of his father. What Michael Shaara did for the Civil War, his son is doing for the Second World War. One of the marks of good historical fiction, for me, is the way it prompts me to start researching stuff on the internet. And that's what I found myself doing in Tide. Another of telling sign happens when I find myself living what the characters are going through, and in Jeff's chapters on the tank battles between Rommel and the Allies, I felt the awe. To a lesser extent, only because this topic receives less coverage, is his portrayal of the training and daring of the paratroopers. There are many similar scenes in Tide - POW camps, stress disorders, command failures - that truly bring home the complexity of the topic to readers who have never experienced warfare at any level. The only other WWII series that does this so well is Herman Wouk's Winds of War, and War and Remembrance.

    The Rising Tide is a valuable addition to WWII fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    An oustanding read!!!

    This author has demonstrated time and again his abilty to lead us into the minds of great men. His current book is a page turner and should not be missed. I eagerly await his next book in this triology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    As I finished I was ready to start the next book where this one leaves off. The author uses a good mix of high level and down with the grunts view of the North African campaign in 1942-43 for the US and German command. The maps provided keep's one orientated as to who is where as the battle moves across Libya , Tunisia, Sicily and Italy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Loved the book but keep the facts straight

    I was eagerly awaiting this book and must say I loved it. However, I almost dumped it in the first chapter when the author said that Franklin Roosevelt 'declared war on Germany & Italy'. Most intelligent adults know that Hitler saved England by declaring war on the United States after the US Congress declared war on Japan. We weren't ready for a two-ocean war but Hitler forced our hand and in turn, sealed his ultimate defeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    Excellent!

    Just finished up the book, wow what a great read! From Rommel to Patton,to the regular soldiers of the 505th Airborne.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Wonderful Read

    As always, Jeff has captured the drama and tragedy of war. As with his other endeavors, he brings the war to life--one catches the smells, sounds and emotions of battle in a way that almost transports one back in time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    EXCEPTIONAL WWII NOVEL

    'the rising tide is an exceptional world war ii novel that blends history and imagination into an entertaining and enlightening read. All the major players are there-patton, eisenhower, rommel, etc.-as well as the common soldier. The book is well researched, the writing fast-paced, the story completely engrossing. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, wwii novels, or just an excellent read.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Mr. Shaara does it again.

    This was better then expected. It truly gets the reader involved with the ordeals our military leaders faced in the beginning of the Second World War. The story flows and is not hard to follow if put down for a time. This truly was a EXCELLENT first installment to the series. Look forward in the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3