Customer Reviews for

Rising Tides (Chesapeake Bay Saga Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Series

For me, this is the best book of the series. Ethan is a man that I feel like I've known my entire life. Reading this when I was single, I dreamed of being with a man like Ethan. He's so respectful and gentle while having a mild danger streak to him. Now, since I've ...
For me, this is the best book of the series. Ethan is a man that I feel like I've known my entire life. Reading this when I was single, I dreamed of being with a man like Ethan. He's so respectful and gentle while having a mild danger streak to him. Now, since I've been married, I can see bits and pieces of Ethan in my husband and that makes it all more real to me. Granted, it can be annoying that the over thinks things, but that's his persona and you can't help but adore him for it. I love the thought of having him linger in his love for Grace for ten years. To me, that's adorable and so romantic! And Grace was a great woman. She's strong but hopeful, stubborn but romantic, hard and sexy but soft and beautiful. The main reason I deem this the best book of the series is because Ethan and Grace are two people that I feel I could see on the street. These are the two most realistic characters for me because they are battling their demons in a realistic way, whereas the other ones just kind of put things out there and get over it. These two take the time to consider what it is they're trying to get over before moving on. That being said, the only thing I really see wrong with this story is Grace's relationship with her father. The way they settled things was great (and realistic), don't get me wrong. But I would have loved to see more about it rather than just a few cold words and one hard, denying stare here and there. If this was something that was really troubling both Grace and her father alike, we should have seen it through the entire story. Instead, it's like it was thrown in there as a way to give Grace a flaw that Ethan could cling to. That was it. But other than that, this is the best one and definitely worth several good reads!!!

posted by Stevie_Jo on December 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Jaywing

Watches.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best of the Series

    For me, this is the best book of the series. Ethan is a man that I feel like I've known my entire life. Reading this when I was single, I dreamed of being with a man like Ethan. He's so respectful and gentle while having a mild danger streak to him. Now, since I've been married, I can see bits and pieces of Ethan in my husband and that makes it all more real to me. Granted, it can be annoying that the over thinks things, but that's his persona and you can't help but adore him for it. I love the thought of having him linger in his love for Grace for ten years. To me, that's adorable and so romantic! And Grace was a great woman. She's strong but hopeful, stubborn but romantic, hard and sexy but soft and beautiful. The main reason I deem this the best book of the series is because Ethan and Grace are two people that I feel I could see on the street. These are the two most realistic characters for me because they are battling their demons in a realistic way, whereas the other ones just kind of put things out there and get over it. These two take the time to consider what it is they're trying to get over before moving on. That being said, the only thing I really see wrong with this story is Grace's relationship with her father. The way they settled things was great (and realistic), don't get me wrong. But I would have loved to see more about it rather than just a few cold words and one hard, denying stare here and there. If this was something that was really troubling both Grace and her father alike, we should have seen it through the entire story. Instead, it's like it was thrown in there as a way to give Grace a flaw that Ethan could cling to. That was it. But other than that, this is the best one and definitely worth several good reads!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    This was a wonderful book - In order to really appreciate this t

    This was a wonderful book - In order to really appreciate this trilogy I would suggest you start at the beginning. Sea Swept, Rising Tide and then Inner Harbor. It is all about one loving family with problems that they solve together. The three brothers bring a different view to the complicated story line. The characters are warm and loving with just a small amount of anger mixed in. Nora Roberts is one of the best, if not the very best author of romance with mystery wrapped around it. I would definitely recommend this trilogy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding read

    This is so wonderful. I loved every page. This made me want to be right there.
    I love all of these books. Very talented lady.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Nursery

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second volume in the Chesapeake Bay quartet. The sto

    This is the second volume in the Chesapeake Bay quartet. The story is told from the point of view of four brothers and their romantic interests. Each novel focuses on one brother and his love interest, while keeping the rest of the cast involved. The Quinns are a family of sailboat builders with troubled pasts, but winning personalities, sexiness, and charm. All fans of Nora’s will enjoy this romantic family saga. Highly recommended as always.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Hi

    Poophead. I hate you to hell and back. You are so ugly, you look like an ALIEN!!!! Your a FREAK SHOW!!!!!!! Your a FAIL BLOG!!! IDIOT!!!!!! ~The nicest person on Earth~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Great book

    Is it or not?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    The council

    A woman with long red hair and a black cloak waits for the new commors arivals."hello. My ne is rabecca. I am the council women. Leader of this facility. This is a place were the members of the horoscope can live without fear of being judged by others and use there powers freely. This place is were these people will live, learn, and be exepted. We also exept people who are not of the horoscope. We are in need of teachers as well. The teacers we need are the basic claswes. P.e., L.a., math, sience, global studies, family consumer science. Those classes but we also need classes were the students can practice there power. So if you are interested in being a teacher please say so. Now for students you will have dorms. A room in a seprate results. Other students are aloud to visit you. There will be a few rooms f classes. It depends on how many teachers we get. Then there will be a place in the third res were all of the students can communicate with eachother. Bios will be res two. Pease include in your bio which result is your room. Thank you for joining us and have a good time!" She smiled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    A voice in the wind......

    "The winds of gold will be blown away by their cousin. The cousin is within you....look out for the treachorous winds will soak up the waves. Prevent the termination by calling upon the rare jewel to extinguish the winds and bring back the tide." The voice whispered.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Silverflight

    Do I tell them or..let them eventually figure me out.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Slasher

    Slashes

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    To sapphirewing

    What the frick? Ur in 2 or more clans!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Sapphirewing

    Tidestar and me and dewkit were being attacked by the cck. I got here before you obvisouly so im deputy i guess he forgot but until he comes back im deputy ok? Ok.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Dewkit

    Her eyes had already opened. They were bright and aquamarine. "Im here!"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Tidestar

    ???

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Verse two

    Oh you were supposed to be my one and only bestie but we wee left alone in the cold dark wotld. Just me alone you on your own. Why did you leave me behind or vwas it me that wasnt kind didnt like u for who you are. A one of a kind shooting star. Chorus. End

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Highly recommend the entire series, but this was my favorite

    This was a wonderful series and I fell in love with all the characters, it was well written and captivating. This book is about Ethan the middle brother. Ethan is a solid, strong, quiet man who, despite a horrible past, has a good heart but thinks he is unworthy of love or anything good. It's an emotional journey that will make you laugh and cry. This is my favorite of the series because I think I fell in love with Ethan when I met him in the first book. I highly recommend this series and most especially Ethan's story to all who enjoy immersing themselves in a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    The best book ever

    This is one of the first books in the "romance" category I ever read. I did read this series out of order, but still to this day - over a decade and probably 1000+ books later - I still compare almost every book against this one. Maybe because it was my first and we always have a soft spot for our first. But I loved the characters, the plot, the descriptions, etc. If it wasn't for this book and specifically Ethan, I may not have continued to read romantic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    My favorite of the series!

    I loved all 4 books in this series, but this one especially touched me. Roberts' characters are so real and likeable, they become like old friends. Grace and Ethan's love story is sweet and tender, and Seth's story really adds to family dynamic already in place. I also love the idea of Roberts' writing from a male perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6